We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian Fare”
Review of Happy Rajah

Happy Rajah
Ranked #7 of 160 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Operating since January 2006, Happy Rajah Indian Restaurants have rapidly established their credentials as traditional Indian cuisine specialists and are now among the best on the island overall. Happy Rajah is situated in the Super U complex in the heart of Grand Bay, and offers authentic Indian cuisine in a surprisingly cozy and warm venue. At the Happy Rajah, a team of North and South Indian professionals join their expertise to produce the authentic cuisine of the 17th century Moghul Emperors of India as well as sumptuous regional delicacies such as Chennai spicy vindaloos from the South. More than a mere outing for an Indian meal, the Happy Rajah experience has been likened to a voyage to magnificent India.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Indian Fare”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On the recommendation of acquaintances from Mauritius, my wife & I tried Happy Rajah, Grand Baie. The waiting staff were very pleasant & helpful. Prompt service. Quality of the meals - slightly above average for the meals that we tried (we have eaten at many Indian restaurants worldwide). Large variety of standard Indian dishes available on the menu. Portions - fair size - large enough to share a variety of dishes. Prices - good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gnanasagren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    445
    112
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panjim, India
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“nice indian restaurant”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was nice to find Decent Indian Restaurant with authentic Indian Decor and staff dressed in Indian Outfit.
The menu had a large variety of veg and non veg dishes which are reasonably priced.
We were surprised that they even give home / hotel delivery if the billing exceeds certain limit. We took the opportunity to give our dinner order and they delivered to our hotel Ocean Villa as promised.
the quality of food and drinks are nice and not too oily or spicy.
Would surely recommend this nice Indian Restaurant to other Indian Travellers

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Food is superb, though it is a bit overpriced. Service is good but I felt that quantity served does not match price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Attentive service”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Visited after reading reviews on trip advisor. The food was good but different from what we are used to eating at an Indian restaurant back home. Nice to try something new though. Service was very good but the restaurant wasn't very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millymolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super Food and Hospitality”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Happy Rajah is the best Indian Restaurant I've been in Mauritius. The food and special drinks are great. Definitely will go back again and again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nash s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Rajah also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Happy Rajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing