We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Grand Bay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Bay Suites
Ranked #5 of 45 Grand Baie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I am so fussy its ridiculous...and a control freak too! I cannot fault this place, it had absolutely EVERYTHING you would need, most self catering places are basic but this has an iron, a coffee maker, toaster...the LOT

BIG supermarket right downstairs, great finish in the rooms also....powerful shower....FREE WIFI!!

Lovely pool....amazing location....honestly BRILLIANT place to stay, i always thought if i went to Mauritius its would have to be in a luxury resort, we ended up doing 5 nights here and then 5 nights in the Lux but this was great!!

xx

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traisey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    71
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
50
115
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Baie
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

What a great place, clean, spacious and run by really helpful, friendly people. Nicholas was a darling, always ready with a smile. Ben sorted out all our trips and hire car. Rooms cleaned every day, fresh towels, even beach ones, and they even did our laundry for us. The only thing that would improve the facilities would be a mirror in the bedroom or attached to the wardrobe door. The only mirror is in the bathroom so impossible to do make up in the bedroom. Right next to supermarket and an easy walk to restaurants and bars. Beach over the road. For self catering this cannot be bettered

Room Tip: Choose a first or top floor, as a balcony is better than patio, but all are windy so a bit cold to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Service - This is an apartment complex so don´t expect any fancy/great service. Just basic reception service provided by very nice employees.

Room - The rooms are great. Very big with a nice kitchen and a great balcony.

Pool- Small but enough considering that they only have 24 or 25 rooms. The only problem is that you won´t have sun on the pool after 16h.

Cleaning - Now the big issue. I think they don´t wash the kitchen stuffs (glasses, plates...) well. In fact I think they only use water to wash this. We also found some rice on the floor but we never had rice during our stay. Near the corner it was full of dust. The ants are a big big issue.

For me cleaning is definitly the most important part of one hotel so it will be very difficult to return to this place. But If they solve this problem this is a perfect place to stay in Mauritius.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasonLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Have just come back from a weeks stay at Grand Bay Suites. As this was my first trip to Mauritius, I wanted to be in an area that was walking distance to a beach and also to shops, bars etc. This place was perfect. It's located next to a supermarket, or just a 10 minute walk along the beach to Super U (a h.u.g.e supermarket) and also near tons of bars and food places.

Room was lovely and bed was huge! We had a second floor room which had a lovely view of the pool. It was cleaned daily, as was all other areas of the hotel. My only comment would be that there needed to be more than one mirror.

Staff were lovely and Nicolas went out of his way to be very helpful. He is a credit to the company.

I'm already planning a return trip on my own to visit family, and this place makes you feel 100% safe.

Overall, a wonderful stay and I'm looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JR-LOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and 2 daughters (19 and 21 yrs) stayed for 6 nights at the Grand Bay Suites end of July/beginning of Aug 2012. We had 2 apartments ...ours was on the ground floor and our kids was on the 2nd floor. It didn't really bother us and the kids liked their independence. Just note that there are no elevators, so if you have any physical issues, you may want to request an apartment on the ground floor.

The kitchen is fully equipped with cooking utensils, pots, pans, crockery and cutlery, microwave, stove etc Everything was clean and spotless. The bedroom had a TV as well as a DVD player. There were no telephones but one can easily visit the Orange mobile store near the Super U hypermarket and get local pre-paid sim. They just require to see your passport. The bathroom was also spotless with a brilliant high pressure shower. There is also a laundry room open until 3pm on the premises. The internet was a bit patchy in our room but was good in the kids apartment closer to the main reception area.

Overall, I would highly recommend Grand Bay Suites and suggest that you also rent a car so that you can fully explore beautiful Mauritius. (check out maki-car-rental.com). And just walking distance from GBS is the Le Curvette beach hidden away between the Veranda Hotel and Royal Palm....its a small public beach but definitely worth visiting for its size and quality.

Room Tip: Apartments closer to the reception have better internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nba_zazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a really great stay in Grand Baie Suites during May 2012. The manager, Prema, was a breath of fresh air and very accommodating. I also have to mention Nicolas, who was so helpful with any questions and nothing was too much trouble for him.
The rooms are beautiful and modern, and so clean (it really looks like the pictures on Tripadvisor)! It is equipped with everything you might need if you want to self-cater. The rooms are cleaned daily, so you don't have to worry about that! We stayed in a ground floor unit. There is also a laundry service (free of charge) that you can use.
There is always someone around that you can ask for help. There is a barbeque that you can use should you want to (they even supply some wood). The pool is small, but really great to just lounge in the sun on the deck chairs for a while. The whole complex is small, so even if it is busy you will not really notice other tourists.
There is a great affordable supermarket (Store 2000) right next to the suites that has everything you might need. The bus stop is also very close, so you can just hop on a bus if you want to go anywhere. This is also a very affordable way to get around, and we found it to be very effective.
If you want to hit the night life in Grand Baie, the suites are also very well located. A short walk will get you to some of the night clubs in the area. The club Insomnia was awesome and just 3 blocks away!
I really can't find anything bad to say about this place, and would recommend it to anyone! It is rated 3 star, but in my opinion could have been 5 star if it had a restaurant and spa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed at Grand Bay Suites for 7 nights and we received nothing but excellent service. The apartment its self was modern, new, well maintained and very clean. The pool was amazing. A nice size and perfect for relaxing in the sun. The location was also perfect with a local supermarket around the corner and a few minutes walk to an amazing beach. We did hire a car to drive around to different beaches as the Mon Choisy beach we think was the best. Bigger and a lot less busier.

However, we would have to stay the best thing about GBS is the people running it. Right from arrival we had nothing but perfect treatment. Everyone was friendly and kind and made our holiday so much easier to plan. You only had to ask and they would have a list of diving centres you can use, where to hire your car,restaurants, where/how to spent a rainy day? Nicholas especially was very endearing and never failed to make us laugh.

Thank you GBS for an amazing holiday experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inthu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Baie hotels
0.4 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
1.0 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bay Suites

Property: Grand Bay Suites
Address: Coastal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30510
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With Grand Baie beach front nearby and within easy walking distance to the main attractions and venues of this famous coastal village, Grand Baie suites offers perfect convenience for a coastal holiday. Set in a beautifully landscaped garden, this luxury holiday complex of 25 suites offers the perfect fun and sun holiday with the beach and a magnificent swimming pool. Centrally located, Grand Baie suites is just few minutes from all the major attractions including shopping arcade, bars, a host of restaurants, night clubs and casino. A stay at this resort is an outstanding way to experience the sites and sounds of Grand Baie in luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Bay Hotel Grand Baie
Grand Bay Suites Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing