We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in grand baie!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monalysa Grand Bay Holidays Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stay here for 3 weeks and spent a lovely time. Eric and marylin were fantastic, always available and give good advices. It is very clean and safe. There is free wifi, it is very central in gran baie and the beanch is 200 meter far. The best choice in grand baie!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntHeredia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

This were my 2nd time(jan 2013) staying at these lovely ,clean apartments in Grand Baie.
Very close to the beach-3MINUTES WALK . I have stayed in the new Monalysa St Honoare apartments in jan 2013 ....Brand new building with a lovely private swimming pool behind high security walls .

The service of the owners is the best and the tours are well organised ,pickup at the office next to the apartments .
Airport pickup in a lovely aircon shuttle .

Super service always !

Thanks again .

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment in the new building ....away from the busy mainroad and a lovely swimmingpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I rented this apartment for almost 3weeks. I deceided to stay here because It's located good place to move(within 3min to go bus Bus stop, taxi stand, 1min Super market) and good value for money. The owner and other staffs, all of them were very warm and helpful. Security is also good. I never experienced any problems. I recommend this apartment for long stay traveler and the person who want to save money!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazuyo_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

we had a very good time in Mauritius and we stayed at this very comfortable and convenient place. we had some trouble with not getting on the flight and we phoned the owner Maryline and she was very accommodating and said no problem. she organised the shuttle for the next day and also welcomed us . i would recommend this place to anyone as it is clean and nice. also close to shops and markets. will definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 281markezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have been a guest of the Monalysa since 2005 when I first came to Mauritius. I have stayed a number of times at the apartments, booked cars, gone on trips etc - and all I can say is that I have never been disappointed. Eric and Maryline Jeanne have always done everything to make sure that my holidays have been a success. I return to Mauritius in October 2012 and will stay again at Monalysa - I recommend highly the location which is right in the middle of Grand Baie.

Room Tip: Look for a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomConlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We rented a studio apartment for about 10 days in may 2012 and arranged for pick up services from the airport. Everything was perfect and smooth. Our studio with kitchen was on the ground floor and was furnished quite well with everything one could need. There is also a safe provided that is very useful. The staff is good, especially Shalini at the front office is very competent and is a jewel! (don't let go of her Monalysa :)) She was always helpful and gave us good tips whenever we approached her. There was cleaning every 3 or 4 days. The location is excellent, for groceries, dining and the beach. We practically ate all our meals at the Cafe in super U! Bus stops are also conveniently close to get to other beaches. We did not do any day trips with them, but we rented a car with a driver for a day to see some sights (pre-agreed while booking) in the south. The driver Vinay spoke English, was friendly and was competent. But we felt a bit rushed by him even though we had the car for the whole day. So you have to be a bit firm to make sure that everything is at your own pace :)
There is wifi available. The reception is so so in the apartment itself (which was mentioned while booking) and is okay from the terrace. But the speeds are good enough for email but not Skype.
A tip for the management: Washing machine on premises would be great. The prices at the local nearby Cleaners are pretty high.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

we had a great stay for 3 nights in this apartment house. we booked short term via hostelbookers.com and paid 25 euros per night for a couple. this is a very good price for a nice clean fully equipped apartment with own bathroom, shower, small kitchen and balcony on the top 3rd floor, ac and wifi included.

the staff was very helpful and friendly. the hotel is located close to all amenities you need for a comfortable stay: restaurants, local bakeries, coffees, supermarkets, mall, local fruit and fish markets if you wanna cook. it was a very pleasant stay for us as a couple.

there should maybe be made a difference between the monalysa as a hotel and as a travel agency, even if situated in the same office.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abeg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Baie hotels
0 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
586 reviews
0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
0 mi away
Mo Residence
Mo Residence
#6 of 10 in Pereybere
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#2 of 5 in Pointe aux Canonniers
3,666 reviews
0 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Domaine des Alizees Club & Spa by Evaco Holiday Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monalysa Grand Bay Holidays Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monalysa Grand Bay Holidays Bungalows

Address: La Salette Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Grand Baie
Price Range: £24 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monalysa Grand Bay Holidays Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Monalysa Grand Bay Holidays Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monalysa Grand Bay Holidays Bungalows Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing