We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic”

La Rougaille Creole
Ranked #7 of 153 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just off sunset boulevard this little gem is hidden from mainstream places. I had two small lobsters which I chose from a bunch of very fresh just caught ones. Absolutely delicious.

Good value, good ambience, try the fruity rum. Yum yum

Helpful?
Thank travelhogguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    314
    72
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Boney Fish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Located in a quiet backstreet next to a local takeaway. Seating inside and on a covered verandah on the street. Pleasant staff, reasonable service but foot lacking in real flavour and seemed to have been cooked with the digestive tract in place. A very bony fish which defeated the couple next to us. Average value for Grand Baie.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CNP_13503822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We tried this restaurant on one night and ended up coming back 2 more times as we had really enjoyed it. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The rum arrangé was also very good. We can say it is one of the best restaurants we tried on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GandAL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty meals and lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Read about this place in the lonely planet travel guide and thought we'd give it a shot. Both people who served us were friendly and always had a smile on their face. We ordered the mussels and the fish and both meals were very delicious. Price was fair and the restaurant itself was quite nice. Try to get a table outside if possible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tashNjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“good fish tartare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Food here was nice but not memorable. Fish tartare was tasty but the red fish for main was a little over cooked and bland. As we were leaving we saw the crab stir fry come out, as well as the lobster and both looked impressive so maybe we chose wrong. Service was good and attentive.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rougaille Creole also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to La Rougaille Creole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing