We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fav Chinese Restaurant in Mauritius (and Sarkozy's too, so i hear!)”
Review of Palais De Chine

Palais De Chine
Ranked #58 of 159 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mauritius
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“My fav Chinese Restaurant in Mauritius (and Sarkozy's too, so i hear!)”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is probably my favorite Chinese Restaurant in Mauritius (on par with the Grand Canton in Port Louis!)....the service is great, the food is tasty, the Peking Duck is divine, and the value is great too.

I've also heard from locals that this is also the ex-French President (Nic Sarkozy's) fav place when he's in Mauritius too....i could see why!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank niknpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    49
    23
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Chinese cuisine”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Restaurant working at evening from 6:30 pm. Better to sit on a terrace on the second floor. The crabs and lobsters are fresh and they live in a special bath tubes. Service is ok but nothing special, everything was good. We came a bit earlier around 6:15 pm and the owner of the restaurant let us in and we sit on the second floor on the terrace, he was very friendly to us. And the owner is a really Chinese. We start from 2 starters Shrimp balls 150 rupies and stuffed Chinese mushrooms ( steamed) 150 rupies - both was good. Than we got a grilled lobsters 2 pieces for one kilo (they were not big) - they were delicious 980 rupies. And we ordered things like sweet and sour pineapple shrimps 340 rupies, ginger fish 320 rupies, sweet and sour calamari 300 rupies, calamari with black bean sauce 300 rupies, steamed rice 75 rupies to share. And sparkling water 75 rupies & local beer Phoenix 80rupores. Everything was tasty except for sweet and sour calamari - that dish had calamari. Total bill was 2770 rupies without a taxes and 416 rupies of VAT - total with taxes was 3186 and we left 120 rupies as a tips. I will recommend this restaurant for visiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaroslaw_Kerget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food at reasonable price”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Very nice restaraunt with good food. Prices are reasonable. We ve ordered Peking duck. Tasty and not expensive. Definitly will come back again

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Tip Top!”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Go through the ground floor 'shop' and on the first floor you'll find a promising restaurant. We had a great and amusing Mauritian waiter, who helped to make this a fun evening. The food was very tasty, though be warned, if you have a number of dishes the helpings are pretty big, and you may want to consider getting a doggy bag! Standard, but well-cooked Chinese fare, though why, on Mauritius, do the Chinese restaurants carve the Peking Duck, rather than shred it? Still, it tasted the same! Try and get a table overlooking the busy Royal Road and enjoy people-watching as well!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PestfromBuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shark fin soup on the menu!”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

The food here, especially the dimsum and the Peking duck was outstanding. The service excellent, however, I wont be back until they take shark fin soup off the menu. Don't these people watch DSTV?

Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palais De Chine also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Palais De Chine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing