We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Grill Mauritius

Gourmet Grill Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 153 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This is a nice & Festive restaurant with lots of character located in the famous BANANA BEACH CLUB, this is also the 1st restaurant in the north est in 1970. The Gourmet Grill is much more than a grill, we feature great local seafood and weekly specials. Our menu includes Seafood Risotto, Camarons (Giant fresh water shrimps), Lobster, fresh Foie Gras, and tasty vegetarian dishes. For lovers of beef our Steaks and Burgers are legendary. The deserts are home made and very good. The musical decor in the restaurant displays the owners passion for music with a collection of memorabilia. A little warning for the light hearted, being part of the Banana it can be a bit noisy and festive later in the evening with live music and an active bar scene. However we feature some of the best entertainment and have one of the most lively scenes on the island after dinner so plan to stay on for a memorable night out. Bon Appetite!
MILTON KEYNES
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I had an amazing meal and evening here, as a result we took our friends here after their wedding in Mauritius 2 days later.

The menu offers something for all tastes and the food is outstanding, coupled with this the atmosphere was wonderful..

We felt it offered excellent value for money, the fillet steak and duck breast was exceptional in taste and presentation,costing around £13 a dish.

As we have been staying in a bungalow and not an all inclusive hotel, we have eaten out every day, this has been our favourite restaurant.

Put this one at the top of list !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JASON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
How can i thank you for such a great review it is every restauranteurs dream? So sorry its taken me so long to thank you but words cant describe how great it is to read your review. The staff and I sincerely thank you and hope that you do return to our little paradise soon, all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    77
    25
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We tried here after a recommendation, it defiantly didn't disappoint, so good we we have been twice in our two week holiday. The Steak and Duck were both amazing and rival that I've had in Dubai and Italy. It has a great atmosphere and live music you couldn't ask for any more. A little more expensive that others but I would pay the extra and have a outstanding meal, that you enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
We are over the top to read your review! We are so appreciative and flattered that you have enjoyed the food at the gourmet grill and the live music, this is what motivates us to do better every day. We hope that you return to Mauritius one day soon, all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and food to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant. We sat outside under fairy lights. Service was very good and menu was varied. The food was delicious, I had goats cheese salad and Black Angus steak. Reasonable price and a must visit!

Helpful?
Thank JenniferLouiseMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we sincerely appreciate it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our food and atmosphere at the gourmet grill. We truly hope that you return to Mauritius soon and try us again! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome meal...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

..we loved it so much we went three times while we were in Mauritius! Tender, tender, GREAT steaks. Fresh, fresh salads. Great bar area under a massive Flamboyant tree. Don't order wine by glass though - you're better off just sucking it up and ordering the whole bottle.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Oh thank you for the great review! we are so happy that you enjoyed the ambiance and our cuisine at the Grill, and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us and look forward to your return one day soon. all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Everything was very tasty, from starters to desert...a special mention for the seared tuna...it was excellent and the wasabi flavored potato purée was succulent. Large choice in the menu, great atmosphere, good music and friendly efficient service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank constantinos1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greg g, Owner at Gourmet Grill Mauritius, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you so much for your terrific review, we are very greatful and do appreciate you taking your time to review us. we hope to see you again soon, all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Grill Mauritius also viewed

Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Pereybere, Grand Baie
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to Gourmet Grill Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing