We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went for lunch, weny back for Dinner”

20 Degres Sud Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 158 Restaurants in Grand Baie
Price range: US$23 - US$54
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Curepipe Mauritius
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“went for lunch, weny back for Dinner”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The food here is amazing with the finesse of flavours that one normally does not find in Mauritian hotels... presentation superb and service was tops

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“waw!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Food was excellent! Very fresh and delightfull! Fantastic desserts and perfect prisewise. In one word: perfect

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frederic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for a special occasion”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

One gets a feeling of superior quality when entering those large parisisn styled engraved antique doors. Met by the charming owner you immediately feel welcome and the interior is calming and luxurious. An aperitif in the bar is a must , and the snacks served are included. The restaurant is well designed and low lighting adds to the relaxation of the place. The food is beautifully executed and quite delicious. Only criticism is that the menu should change more frequently. However it is a world class venue and although I only went for dinner the hotel itself looks fantastic and it's just on a golden sand beach. Certainly worth a visit for a special occasion or a weeks sojourn.

Helpful?
Thank travelhogguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We stayed at this hotel & ate all our meals at the hotel”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

A beautiful setting on the beach. No complaints as is befitting a 5* hotel that is not shy to charge.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“20 Degrees Sud restaurant nearly ruined my birthday”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We were staying nearby to this hotel and I called on Monday to reserve a table for dinner on Friday, which was my birthday. When we arrived however we were told by the manager that we could not be seated as we were not wearing long trousers. The dress code had not been mentioned when we made the reservation and we were smartly turned out in white dress shirts and short-sleeved shirts. We had eaten already at most of the smart restaurants in the area, none of which had a dress-code of ourse, it being a holiday island and 25 degrees with 80% humidity at night!

The manager was polite and apologetic, mainly that the dress code had not been explained at the time of booking, but was adamant that it could not be waived. Fortunately we had eaten earlier in the week at a superb fish restaurant nearby, Le Pescatore, and we were able to get a table there again to celebrate my birthday. It is definitely one of the best places on the island and highly to be recommended.

20 Degrees Sud has a fantastic setting and I might well have thought about staying there on a future visit to Mauritius, but certainly not after this experience. For those considering it as a hotel option I would simply caution that you pack pairs of long trousers, which you absolutely will not need anywhere else on Mauritius!

Helpful?
5 Thank aristoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 20 Degres Sud Restaurant also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Been to 20 Degres Sud Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing