We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Merville Beach Review

The good and the not so good

The Good

The hotel is situated on a beautiful stretch of beach with calm waters ideal for children to swim in. The sunsets from the beach are pretty spectacular. The pool and bar area are also great. Most staff were friendly and helpful during the normal course of events but the minute there was an unusual request the attitude of some changed.

Wifi was flawless and available throughout the hotel and on the beach. This is a major plus!

We stayed in a Superior room which was comfortable and seemed to have recently been renovated. Our initial room was further back from the beach and the request to move to a room closer to the beach was handled professionally and in a friendly efficient manner.

The food was good. Breakfasts maybe a bit limited in choice. The lunch & dinner menus were also tasty and well prepared. Dessert left a lot to be desired though and in the time we were there most seemed stale and not fresh.

There were plenty of water sport options available included in the room fare. The snorkeling was great as there are plenty of fish to see along the reef.

The Not So Good

The loungers and beach towels need to be replaced. Cocktails at the bar are not up to standard with most being served in small glasses. The evening entertainment during dinner was seriously dated and made the dining experience less enjoyable. The buffet area is in need of an upgrade.

The hotel generally is in serious need of repair and maintenance. The internal garden where the superior rooms are located is neglected. Some water fountains are not working and the fish ponds need algae treatment. There is just one way to describe the hotel and that is "rundown" which is sad as it has huge potential. The state it's in detracts from the experience considerably.

This is unfortunately not a 3 Star that is aspiring to to be the best in its class or wanting to go to the next level! In fact I got the distinct feeling the establishment was moving in the opposite direction in standard and professionalism.

Would I stay here again? Unfortunately not, if these issues are not resolved and the downward trend reversed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank Peterdtza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Mr Pieter,

Thank you for staying at Merville Beach and for the time you have afforded to write about your impression on the hotel.

We are happy to see that you were amazed by the beach, the pool, the spectacular sunsets, the room, activities from the boathouse and the Wifi connection provided but feel sorry that the following points were not up to your expectations:

1. Our team members: I would like to thank you for your appreciation towards the team. However, please accept my apologies regarding their attitude regarding the unusual request. The team has been briefed and together we are looking into the matter in view of meeting all our guests' expectations.

2. Sun Loungers: I am pleased to inform you that we have already ordered new Sun Beds for the comfort of all our guests, which will be available by the end of April.

3. Evening Entertainment: We are currently reviewing with our bands to play different types of music for all ages and special songs requests are being played also upon guests’ demand.

4. Food and Dessert: I am happy to read your appreciation in regards to our lunch and dinner menus and on the other hand I am indeed very concerned about your disappointment about the quality of the dessert which has already been debated with the Pastry Chef and his team.

5. The Garden: Together with our gardeners we are actually reviewing the landscaping of the garden and in fact the water fountain is currently out of order due to a pump problem thus causing algae in the ponds. Do rest assured that the necessary will be done in order to embellish this area of the hotel.

We wish to thank you for your constructive feedback that can only help us to improve our services and facilities.

In the hope that you will give us a second chance to visit us again, do rest assured of my personal attention at all times.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed at Merville in 2 beach facing villas. It has been our most memorable International trip so far. We stayed for 7 days. The beach is a minute's walk and very clean. So many of the water sports like Kayak, Padddle Boat and Water Ski is free of cost!

The staff are very courteous and make your stay so comfortable. Especial mention of Kailash who ensured we got Indian food every day for my parents who are vegetarians. Grand Baie and Perrybere are within minutes of a scooter drive and the Supermarket probably less than a mile away!

Merville is totally worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaibhav1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you and your family for choosing Merville Beach during your stay at Merville Beach.

I am happy to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Kailash, the restaurant Manager, was so pleased to read your appreciation about your parents’ food preferences.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Mauritius and to Merville Beach.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We are booked to stay at Merville Beach in August 2014. This will be our fifth stay. You will be very hard pushed to find a better Hotel on the Island. Everything from arrival to departure is 100%. The staff cannot accommodate you enough. The rooms are very, very clean. The food is excellent. Water sports are first class. There is always someone to assist you in any requests you make. We took our 25 year old son with us in 2012 and he absolutely couldn't believe his experience. The Hotel is situated in walking distance from Grande Baie and is safe to do so. Plenty of shops & little cafes/bars to have a coffee/drink and chat with the locals. We can't wait to return in August.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you have a problem you only need to ask, and the Staff will assist wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Christina,

What a pleasure to read that you will be staying with us once again in August 2014. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage and fidelity towards Mauritius and Merville Beach.

Should you need assistance prior your arrival and during your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

We cannot wait to see you back for another enjoyable experience.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A nice hotel with excellent service by friendly staff. Not a luxury place more a homely feeling, So if you want movie star treatment go somewhere else. If you want genuine staff trying to make your stay pleasant then this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Alton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

It was a real pleasure having you with us here at Merville Beach.

I would like to thank you for your nice comment and appreciation towards our team members.

I hope to see you back in a not too far future.

In the meantime; do rest assured of our hospitalities at all times.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We went for a honeymoon trip and stayed at merville. The service was excellent, rooms were good, balcony sea view was excellent, watersports activities are the best...staff is very friendly and hospitable... Overall a fantastic stay that exceeded our expectations... Its a definite value For money..I was pleased by the 2nd day of my stay itself...it just kept on getting better till the 7th day...highly recommend to everyone

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alekh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Mr Alekh,

Thank you for choosing Merville Beach as a honeymoon destination in Mauritius.

I am so touched by your comments and shall without further delay passed on your kind remembrance to the team.

I am also happy to see that all the facilities and services offered exceeded your expectations.

With renewed thanks for highly recommending us and we all wait to see you back to our shores, why not on the special occasion of your first wedding anniversary?

Yours faithfully,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have stayed ad Mervile Beach hotel which provided us with a good value for money and excelent base for our island adventures. The staff was very helpfull and we have felt welcomed and enjoyed every bit of the experience there

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marty66_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Marty,

Thank you for staying at Merville Beach.

I am happy to see that you have enjoyed every moment spent here and thanked you for your nice comments.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius and Merville Beach.

Yours faithfully,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights on this beautiful and modern hotel. It has a very nice beach, even though its not real all the way (you can feel it cause its hard and you wont sink into on some places).

The rooms are modern and you almost feel like you are in a spa.

A lot of activities which are free! Had a blast with waterski, kayaking, snorkel-tour.
Took a speed boat-tour to Ile Gabriel, the captain (from the boathouse) was so helpful and kind and took really good care of us. All of the guys in the boat house are very funny and helpful!

The food is okay, nothing spectacular. If you planning to go to Grand Baie, skip the all inclusive, there is some extremely good restaurants in the area around it. Breakfast was outstanding though.

Now to the bad part, the service is bad. Really bad. 4 bartenders, 4 waiters and 10min to get 2 beers and 10 min to pay with 2 tables taken? I would buy it, if they were short of staff or if its was a "manjana-style restaurant" but its not.
It took 45 min from order to I get the plate of a club sandwich, at lunchtime and the restaurant was not even half-full.
The waiter stood and talked to other people for a long long time so I had to walk up to him to order, what is that about?
And half hour to check in - how is that even possible?

The nice rooms, views and activities might make me go back - but I will remember to order a beer 10 min before I want it.

Room Tip: I think the third floor rooms are renovated but not the one on first and second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielKarlstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Mr. Daniel,

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Merville Beach Hotel.

I am happy to see that you have enjoyed the beach, the room, the water sports activities and breakfast.

However, I feel sorry and apologise that you did not receive the service you were expecting at the bar and the restaurant. However, we wish to inform you that we have identified the team members that served you throughout your stay and we have launched for them a few motivational initiatives. These include appropriate training exercises, communication and refresher course in view of meeting all our guests’ expectations.

I sincerely hope to see you back for a more pleasurable stay and if I may be of any help to you please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
568 reviews
4.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,551 reviews
6.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: £76 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing