We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for Family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
antananarivo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel for Family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff starting from the general manager to the portier. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The hotel has such an originality and you feel special with the services. We were very much cared. The evening buffet is huge and very original. The beach is also quite exclusive and sea is so good and safe. The other advantage is that it is close to the shopping center and the clubs. It was great holidays there. I would like to recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr Manda,

I would like to thank you for staying at Merville Beach while being on holidays in Mauritius.

The whole team and I are so touched by your charming comments for which we are thankful.

I personally appreciate your high recommendations and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once at Merville Beach.

In the meantime do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    756
    148
    32
    25
See reviews for
556
1,327
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

went with my family place is really great with beach facing rooms and private accessible beach staff is friendly and helpful beach is great and basic water sports are free of charge for hotel guests. we were bit disappointed with in room dining rest everything is perfect we had a memorable holiday thanks to merville team

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Khosla2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Merville Beach while being on holidays to Mauritius.

I am delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

However, I feel really sorry if you were not totally satisfied with the room dining and shall you wish to discuss about the latter in order to help us improve this service; please do not hesitate to contact me.

In the meantime; do rest assured of our hospitalities and of my personal attention at all times.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from an idyllic week spent at Merville Beach. It is very difficult to say anything negative about the hotel. The service was outstanding and all employees seem dedicated to customer service, greeting guests with genuine warmth.
The food was varied and generally very good. The breakfasts were superb!!!!
Our rooms (546 and 547) were clean and spacious with a beautiful sea view.
The beach is spotlessly clean and the hawkers were not a problem at all. Water sports on offer were great and we utilized these activities on a daily basis.
My daughter celebrated her 18th birthday whilst we were there and she was presented with a delicious cake after dinner.
Thank you to the entire team - Tony Duval, Vikram Mutty, Vijay, Fazal, Siri and each and every employee - you all make Merville Beach the wonderful place that it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giseleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for the week spent at Merville Beach.

We all appreciate your comment for which we feel really touched and motivated to do even better.

We all take pride in the delivery of the experience we have offered to you to achieve our Vision and Purpose of making each moment matter through helping our guests celebrate life.

We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Merville beach.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for two weeks in June with my wife and two children (aged 23 and 20). Had a fantastic time. The staff couldn't do enough right from when we arrived at 7am on a Sunday morning (welcome drink and pastries). Everyone was very polite and were very helpful.

We thought we'd booked a beach front bungalow but the travel agent had actually booked a deluxe beach front room (529 and 530) which turned out better as these faced the ocean whereas the bungalows were set back with a obstructed view. Both our rooms had a welcome bottle of champagne and a bowl of fruit. The cleaners were excellent and changed linen and towels whenever you requested. The rooms had a safe, hairdryer, large bathroom with bath and shower and two sinks. Large double bed and our rooms had large balconies with 2 loungers and table/chairs.

We stayed half board. The meals were varied with a themed night most evenings (Italian, Indian, Chinese, Mauritian etc). These were varied from week to week - i.e. the Indian food you were offered on week 1 was different to week 2. They also offered an alternative meal which you could book the day before or would cook you something different if nothing appealed (we didn't take up the offer). Also, there were lobster meals on the beach which looked popular. Some reviews have criticised the food which we don't understand - there was a good selection every night of probably 12 different types of hot food. We usually tried a small bit of most on offer and it was very good. Breakfast too was very comprehensive with plenty on offer. The bar wasn't cheap although a 500ml carafe of house wine at dinner worked out around £10 with spirits/mixers around £5. we did go off season so no queues for food although this may change if you went peak time.

In terms of beach - 30 second walk and fantastic. Plenty of beach loungers etc. The pool was largely unused as beach so good. As there was a reef off the coast, very good for small children as no waves. Water sports included within price - kayaks, pedalos, glass bottom boat, snorkelling, water ski-ing. The boat house team were fantastic - always keen to
help and cheerful.

Spa was good although we rarely used although once a week used as an outdoor cinema - greta night.

The immediate area - Grand Baie has a number of shops and supermarkets as well as a good bazaar which we actually preferred to the one at Port Louis. About a 20 minute walk or £3 by cab. The BananaBeach bar was our favourite which had a live band playing rock covers - great atmosphere.

Don't buy from the hawkers on the beach - you'll get their stuff cheaper at the market or in the shops - a polite no thanks will deter them although they patrol the beach every morning.

Always barter - we got large discounts on most things we bought in shops as well as stalls and even the money exchange shop in the town will negotiate with you for a better rate,

There's a guy selling boat trips etc on the beach - we booked one through our transfer company (White sands) instead which was excellent We also got an "express" bus to Port Louis for about £1 each. It wasn't much of an express but did give you a chance to see local villages at first hand and PL is a good place to shop.

We walked with Lions at Casela park which we would recommend as well as Vanille Park which lets you wander through giant tortoises which we loved.

We hired a car for a week. driving is very similar to UK so easy to adjust (e.g. driving on same side of road). There's a new motorway just opened connecting the south of the island to the north which halved the travelling time (once we'd found it as it's not on any of the maps!)

If we went back to Mauritius we would definitely consider going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book room 529 or 530 - these were on the first floor giving great views from the balcony. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMorgan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was the ultimate in holiday luxury from the moment we arrived on 7th June 2014 to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday.
When we arrived we were greeted by Kevin. We were later befriended by Kailash the Restaurant Manager, Vijay in reception, Francoise who worked in the Restaurant and Bar and our favourite barman Krish.
We were agreed that this was the most relaxing holiday we have ever spent and all the staff will work at 100% to ensure your holiday is memorable.
Our advice is, if you like the staff, the hotel and the facilities tell ALL your friends back home but in the unlikely event you have ANY issues or problems with the Merville Beach Hotel tell the Manager - Mr Tony Duval he is your 'Mr Fix it' !!
Use reception for excursions and the Boathouse for water activities.
DON'T use the 'Captain' who sells boat trips on the beach - he has NO connection with the Hotel.
DO book with reception to go to Coco Island and meet Ravi for a brilliant day.
Excellent 5*

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 223 which was excellent but the same standard of service and cleanliness applies e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for choosing the Merville Beach on the special occasion of your wife’s 60th birthday.

The whole team and I are, indeed, very pleased to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, particularly Kevin, Kailash, Vijay, François and Krish.

Do rest assured that I shall pass on your kind remembrance to Ravi from “Ile des deux cocos”.

I can assure you that no stone will be left unturned at Le Merville Beach in our efforts to continuously help people celebrate life.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to Mauritius and Merville Beach.

Yours faithfully,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent a week at merville beach hotel on our honeymoon, and are super happy with everything. Good service, very good food, clean rooms, free activities all day long, you can never get bored at this resort. We recommend it to anyone who will be visiting mauritius and wants to stay in a hotel in the north area. We had our own car and is very easy to drive around , but for those who will not, private taxis are all the time available for those in need. Staff treat you like royalty, have never ever been so happy with such service before. Thanks guys you re super !

Room Tip: We had a room second floor with sea view, very clean with plenty of light and nice view. Bathrooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Mrs Ingrid,

It was a real pleasure having you and your partner at Merville Beach on the special occasion of your Honeymoon.

I am so touched by the pleasing comments that I shall without further delay communicate your kind words to the team.

Your comment remains for us an important element to maintain and improve in our quality of service.

Thank you for highly recommending us and in our endeavor to continuously Help People Celebrate Life, do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours Sincerely,
Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived at the Merville Beach after a journey of almost 24 hours exhausted. We was greeted by Kevin who immediately made us feel very special, we were given a welcome drink and cool towels. After he gave us a short tour of all the facilities he showed us to our room 217 it was clean and had everything that we would need. On the bed they had left us T.shirt and a sarong and also left us a bottle of Sparkling wine and a bowl of fresh fruit as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary during our stay. As others have mentioned in previous reviews the staff in all area's of the Merville were fantastic and if I had to give praise to one individual it would have to be to the Restaurant manager Kailaish he always made sure that we had everything that we needed and always went that extra mile to see that we were well catered for. We only went on a half board basis which actually suited our needs as we are not really heavy drinkers, The beach is lovely very clean and always lots of sunbeds. The food was very nice they had a different buffet every night but if you didn't want that you could always order something else as I have said nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone that asks me. This may only be a 3 star + hotel but all staff are 5 star +

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view, ours 217 was only a standard room but we did have a full view onto the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank controllerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Sir,

It was a great pleasure having you and your wife with a on the special occasion of your wedding anniversary.

The whole team and I are so touched by your charming comments and your praises can only motivate us to perform even better.

Thank you for recognizing particularly Kevin and Kailash. They both take pride in the delivery of the experience they offered to you in achieving our Vision and Purpose of Making Each Moment Matter through Helping our Guests Celebrate Life.

May I take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and for highly recommending us and I hope to see you back in a not to far future.

Sincerely Always,
Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.6 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
21.5 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Property: Merville Beach Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Destinology, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing