We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the BEST place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the BEST place ever”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is by far the most amaizing hotel ever, it may only be a 3star resort but we experienced nothing less than 5 star service!
We were greeted with smiles from the second we arrived, evan is probably the nicest person you will meet, the food far exceeded our expections and its very welcoming experiencing different cuisines and themed evenings each night!
The bar staff and seevice team wer so proffesional we did not once wait for drinks or any service!
The boathouse and their team were exceptional they even knew us by name and room number from the first day we met them!
This is one exceptional place and we will definately be returning for their 5 star hospitality! Could not imagine staying at any place in mauritius!
Merville beach see you again late next year/early 2016!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mr Luke,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Merville Beach.

I am delighted to learn about your appreciation towards our team members and the courtesy and respect they extended in serving you. I shall without further delay passed on your kind remembrance to all of them, particularly to Evan.

I can assure you that no stone will be left unturned at Le Merville Beach in our efforts to continuously help people celebrate life.

We cannot wait to see you back to Mauritius and Merville Beach for another enjoyable experience.

In the meantime; do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    768
    150
    32
    25
See reviews for
573
1,345
55
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is very well located in Grand Baie, having the advantages without the drawbacks of this popular resort. Very good architecture, design, located with a sandy beach. Wonderful gardens, spacious rooms and public spaces. The staff was very friendly and efficient, always smiling. Very good value for money.
Only two problems:
- rooms don't have sound isolation
- the drinks' prices are very high, not reasonable at all.

Room Tip: All rooms have a very nice view. Ask for a room with sound isolation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mr Marsot,

It was a real pleasure having you with us at Merville Beach.

I am delighted to see that you were amazed by the hotel location.

I would like to thank you for your appreciation towards our team members. I shall pass on your kind remembrance to all of them.

I feel sorry if you were disturbed by the noise in your room. However; we would have appreciated that you inform us accordingly and we would have moved you, with pleasure, to another room.

Regarding the beverages, we do our best to maintain a competitive price compared to other hotels. In Mauritius, the spirits are unfortunately heavily taxed, which affects the price displayed at the hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely,
Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From arrival (30th June 2014) to departure (11th July 2014), the hotel never failed to impress. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff, and immediately felt at home - a feeling which stayed with us throughout our holiday. The staff were amazing,the accommodation fabulous (we had a de-lux bungalow with the biggest bed ever), the food and service was fantastic, and lastly the views were stunning. Free water sports, managed by a friendly team, was a real plus, and helped us to cool down in what was described as 'winter weather'! We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and only wish we could have stayed a little longer. If you want a relaxing and stress free holiday in beautiful surroundings, Merville Beach is the place for you. Thank you to all the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Selina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mrs Selina,

It was a great pleasure having you with us recently at the Merville Beach.

I am delighted to see that our team members went out of their way to make you experience a great holiday.

Your charming comments can only motivate us to perform even better for the satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you for highly recommending us and in our endeavor to Continuously Help People Celebrate Life, do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Sincerely Always,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antananarivo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff starting from the general manager to the portier. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The hotel has such an originality and you feel special with the services. We were very much cared. The evening buffet is huge and very original. The beach is also quite exclusive and sea is so good and safe. The other advantage is that it is close to the shopping center and the clubs. It was great holidays there. I would like to recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr Manda,

I would like to thank you for staying at Merville Beach while being on holidays in Mauritius.

The whole team and I are so touched by your charming comments for which we are thankful.

I personally appreciate your high recommendations and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once at Merville Beach.

In the meantime do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

went with my family place is really great with beach facing rooms and private accessible beach staff is friendly and helpful beach is great and basic water sports are free of charge for hotel guests. we were bit disappointed with in room dining rest everything is perfect we had a memorable holiday thanks to merville team

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Khosla2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Merville Beach while being on holidays to Mauritius.

I am delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

However, I feel really sorry if you were not totally satisfied with the room dining and shall you wish to discuss about the latter in order to help us improve this service; please do not hesitate to contact me.

In the meantime; do rest assured of our hospitalities and of my personal attention at all times.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from an idyllic week spent at Merville Beach. It is very difficult to say anything negative about the hotel. The service was outstanding and all employees seem dedicated to customer service, greeting guests with genuine warmth.
The food was varied and generally very good. The breakfasts were superb!!!!
Our rooms (546 and 547) were clean and spacious with a beautiful sea view.
The beach is spotlessly clean and the hawkers were not a problem at all. Water sports on offer were great and we utilized these activities on a daily basis.
My daughter celebrated her 18th birthday whilst we were there and she was presented with a delicious cake after dinner.
Thank you to the entire team - Tony Duval, Vikram Mutty, Vijay, Fazal, Siri and each and every employee - you all make Merville Beach the wonderful place that it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giseleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for the week spent at Merville Beach.

We all appreciate your comment for which we feel really touched and motivated to do even better.

We all take pride in the delivery of the experience we have offered to you to achieve our Vision and Purpose of making each moment matter through helping our guests celebrate life.

We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Merville beach.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here for two weeks in June with my wife and two children (aged 23 and 20). Had a fantastic time. The staff couldn't do enough right from when we arrived at 7am on a Sunday morning (welcome drink and pastries). Everyone was very polite and were very helpful.

We thought we'd booked a beach front bungalow but the travel agent had actually booked a deluxe beach front room (529 and 530) which turned out better as these faced the ocean whereas the bungalows were set back with a obstructed view. Both our rooms had a welcome bottle of champagne and a bowl of fruit. The cleaners were excellent and changed linen and towels whenever you requested. The rooms had a safe, hairdryer, large bathroom with bath and shower and two sinks. Large double bed and our rooms had large balconies with 2 loungers and table/chairs.

We stayed half board. The meals were varied with a themed night most evenings (Italian, Indian, Chinese, Mauritian etc). These were varied from week to week - i.e. the Indian food you were offered on week 1 was different to week 2. They also offered an alternative meal which you could book the day before or would cook you something different if nothing appealed (we didn't take up the offer). Also, there were lobster meals on the beach which looked popular. Some reviews have criticised the food which we don't understand - there was a good selection every night of probably 12 different types of hot food. We usually tried a small bit of most on offer and it was very good. Breakfast too was very comprehensive with plenty on offer. The bar wasn't cheap although a 500ml carafe of house wine at dinner worked out around £10 with spirits/mixers around £5. we did go off season so no queues for food although this may change if you went peak time.

In terms of beach - 30 second walk and fantastic. Plenty of beach loungers etc. The pool was largely unused as beach so good. As there was a reef off the coast, very good for small children as no waves. Water sports included within price - kayaks, pedalos, glass bottom boat, snorkelling, water ski-ing. The boat house team were fantastic - always keen to
help and cheerful.

Spa was good although we rarely used although once a week used as an outdoor cinema - greta night.

The immediate area - Grand Baie has a number of shops and supermarkets as well as a good bazaar which we actually preferred to the one at Port Louis. About a 20 minute walk or £3 by cab. The BananaBeach bar was our favourite which had a live band playing rock covers - great atmosphere.

Don't buy from the hawkers on the beach - you'll get their stuff cheaper at the market or in the shops - a polite no thanks will deter them although they patrol the beach every morning.

Always barter - we got large discounts on most things we bought in shops as well as stalls and even the money exchange shop in the town will negotiate with you for a better rate,

There's a guy selling boat trips etc on the beach - we booked one through our transfer company (White sands) instead which was excellent We also got an "express" bus to Port Louis for about £1 each. It wasn't much of an express but did give you a chance to see local villages at first hand and PL is a good place to shop.

We walked with Lions at Casela park which we would recommend as well as Vanille Park which lets you wander through giant tortoises which we loved.

We hired a car for a week. driving is very similar to UK so easy to adjust (e.g. driving on same side of road). There's a new motorway just opened connecting the south of the island to the north which halved the travelling time (once we'd found it as it's not on any of the maps!)

If we went back to Mauritius we would definitely consider going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Book room 529 or 530 - these were on the first floor giving great views from the balcony. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptMorgan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,391 reviews
21.5 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Property: Merville Beach Hotel
Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#4 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing