We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experts in hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Merville Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not sure how Merville beach is only a 3 star hotel. During our stay we received nothing less than 5 star service which made our stay here one of the best we've experienced.The staff made the hotel, every morning and evening we were well looked after by the food and beverages team. Kailesh, to name one of the waiters, offered first class customer care, making sure my 5 year old sister had everything she wanted. The food was good and the menu changed everyday bringing in different flavours from all around the world.On the first day, the senior management team introduced themselves to us. Tony Duval, the production director, approached us with a smile and was very approachable throughout our stay. The child care team run by Brenda and Melody, kept my little sister busy during the day, with several activities, meaning she preferred the kids club to the beach on a few days! The location was number one, with a beach on its doorstep and Grand Baie 5 minutes away. The Boat House team offered an array of water sports for free which we took full advantage of, with Faz leading efficiently and being most helpful. My parents enjoyed the free Yoga classes run by Ashok and have inspired them to book lessons here in the UK. When we return we will definitely stay here again. See you soon!
Heer Family

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prav_Heer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr Heer and Family,

I would like to thank you and your family for staying with us at Merville Beach Hotel.

The whole team and I are so touched by your charming comments and your praises can only motivate us to perform even better.

Thank you for recognizing particularly Kailash, Brenda, Elodie, Fazal and Ashok. They all take pride in the delivery of the experience they offered to you and your family in achieving our Vision and Purpose of Making Each Moment Matter through Helping our Guests Celebrate Life.

We will be delighted to welcome back to our shores, hopefully, in a not too far future and should you require any further assistance; please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours faithfully,
Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is by far the most amaizing hotel ever, it may only be a 3star resort but we experienced nothing less than 5 star service!
We were greeted with smiles from the second we arrived, evan is probably the nicest person you will meet, the food far exceeded our expections and its very welcoming experiencing different cuisines and themed evenings each night!
The bar staff and seevice team wer so proffesional we did not once wait for drinks or any service!
The boathouse and their team were exceptional they even knew us by name and room number from the first day we met them!
This is one exceptional place and we will definately be returning for their 5 star hospitality! Could not imagine staying at any place in mauritius!
Merville beach see you again late next year/early 2016!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr Luke,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Merville Beach.

I am delighted to learn about your appreciation towards our team members and the courtesy and respect they extended in serving you. I shall without further delay passed on your kind remembrance to all of them, particularly to Evan.

I can assure you that no stone will be left unturned at Le Merville Beach in our efforts to continuously help people celebrate life.

We cannot wait to see you back to Mauritius and Merville Beach for another enjoyable experience.

In the meantime; do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours faithfully,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is very well located in Grand Baie, having the advantages without the drawbacks of this popular resort. Very good architecture, design, located with a sandy beach. Wonderful gardens, spacious rooms and public spaces. The staff was very friendly and efficient, always smiling. Very good value for money.
Only two problems:
- rooms don't have sound isolation
- the drinks' prices are very high, not reasonable at all.

Room Tip: All rooms have a very nice view. Ask for a room with sound isolation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mr Marsot,

It was a real pleasure having you with us at Merville Beach.

I am delighted to see that you were amazed by the hotel location.

I would like to thank you for your appreciation towards our team members. I shall pass on your kind remembrance to all of them.

I feel sorry if you were disturbed by the noise in your room. However; we would have appreciated that you inform us accordingly and we would have moved you, with pleasure, to another room.

Regarding the beverages, we do our best to maintain a competitive price compared to other hotels. In Mauritius, the spirits are unfortunately heavily taxed, which affects the price displayed at the hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to Mauritius.

Yours Sincerely,
Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From arrival (30th June 2014) to departure (11th July 2014), the hotel never failed to impress. We were greeted by friendly and helpful staff, and immediately felt at home - a feeling which stayed with us throughout our holiday. The staff were amazing,the accommodation fabulous (we had a de-lux bungalow with the biggest bed ever), the food and service was fantastic, and lastly the views were stunning. Free water sports, managed by a friendly team, was a real plus, and helped us to cool down in what was described as 'winter weather'! We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and only wish we could have stayed a little longer. If you want a relaxing and stress free holiday in beautiful surroundings, Merville Beach is the place for you. Thank you to all the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Selina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Mrs Selina,

It was a great pleasure having you with us recently at the Merville Beach.

I am delighted to see that our team members went out of their way to make you experience a great holiday.

Your charming comments can only motivate us to perform even better for the satisfaction of our guests.

Thank you for highly recommending us and in our endeavor to Continuously Help People Celebrate Life, do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Sincerely Always,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We was very impressed by the friendliness of the staff starting from the general manager to the portier. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The hotel has such an originality and you feel special with the services. We were very much cared. The evening buffet is huge and very original. The beach is also quite exclusive and sea is so good and safe. The other advantage is that it is close to the shopping center and the clubs. It was great holidays there. I would like to recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Spacious and comfortable bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Mr Manda,

I would like to thank you for staying at Merville Beach while being on holidays in Mauritius.

The whole team and I are so touched by your charming comments for which we are thankful.

I personally appreciate your high recommendations and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once at Merville Beach.

In the meantime do rest assured of our hospitality at all times.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

went with my family place is really great with beach facing rooms and private accessible beach staff is friendly and helpful beach is great and basic water sports are free of charge for hotel guests. we were bit disappointed with in room dining rest everything is perfect we had a memorable holiday thanks to merville team

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Khosla2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Merville Beach while being on holidays to Mauritius.

I am delighted to see that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

However, I feel really sorry if you were not totally satisfied with the room dining and shall you wish to discuss about the latter in order to help us improve this service; please do not hesitate to contact me.

In the meantime; do rest assured of our hospitalities and of my personal attention at all times.

Sincerely Yours,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from an idyllic week spent at Merville Beach. It is very difficult to say anything negative about the hotel. The service was outstanding and all employees seem dedicated to customer service, greeting guests with genuine warmth.
The food was varied and generally very good. The breakfasts were superb!!!!
Our rooms (546 and 547) were clean and spacious with a beautiful sea view.
The beach is spotlessly clean and the hawkers were not a problem at all. Water sports on offer were great and we utilized these activities on a daily basis.
My daughter celebrated her 18th birthday whilst we were there and she was presented with a delicious cake after dinner.
Thank you to the entire team - Tony Duval, Vikram Mutty, Vijay, Fazal, Siri and each and every employee - you all make Merville Beach the wonderful place that it is.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giseleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for the week spent at Merville Beach.

We all appreciate your comment for which we feel really touched and motivated to do even better.

We all take pride in the delivery of the experience we have offered to you to achieve our Vision and Purpose of making each moment matter through helping our guests celebrate life.

We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Merville beach.

Yours Sincerely,

Tony Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
616 reviews
4.2 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
6.4 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,231 reviews
6.9 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merville Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: £76 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing