We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional food and wine”
Review of Wine Connection - Brasserie - CLOSED

Wine Connection - Brasserie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and wine”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Went there for dinner with a couple living on the island and he rated the steak the best he had eaten on the island. My deer in honey sauce was delicious and the Glen Carlou Syrah was an excellent match. The place is very popular, partly as a convenient place to meet if shopping at La Croisette or going to the cinema and booking is advised. My only criticism was the service was a bit inconsistent. Will definitely go again though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cosiwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Saw this place on a visit and thought it may be linked to wine connection in Thailand.The staff were probably the worst trained and unprofessional I have ever encountered.The food we ordered was Luke warm and arrived within minutes of the order being placed which meant it was pre prepared,the prices would not suggest this.Unfriendly,uninterested,unwelcoming staff were the pits.Medium rare ribeye steak was basically raw,French fries limp,mushroom sauce with not a semblance of mushroom,the owners are either oblivious or rum induced to the state of their establishment,would not recommend this to anyone and will not ever return...there was one redeeming factor and that was the very stylish decor,ten out of ten

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank logan2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g.baie
1 review
“Best restaurant in Grand Bay”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Worth giving it a try for wine lovers!
Large variety on the menu.
Really enjoyed the food and atmosphere of this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bay
1 review
“Enjoyed 4 hours of eating and drinking excellent wine!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were 5 of us.
At start we were expecting to have a light meal before continuing our trip visiting the island.
My wife's English cousin was on holiday for a couple of days.
When we had a glance to the menu, it was hard for us to make a quick choice.
As first meal we had some fish and 'tartar de thon' accompanied with a very nice white wine. Following that, we could not help ourselves order some meat so that we could taste some red wine as well.
There are so much choices!
The lunch started at 1.00pm and we left there after 5 bottles of wine and an excellent meal!
It was really fun spending time there and just enjoying our meals.
The wide range of food and wines gives you the opportunity to find what you are looking for.
People are nice and attentive to you.
The chairs are comfortable and the place is welcoming.
It was a pleasure meeting you Francois!
Thank you very much for this excellent experience!
See you soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumeGrandBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie
1 review
“good place”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Rapid service, good price, big choice of wine at almost cost prices
If you want to go to the cinema, just cross the big place
Good ambiance

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Connection - Brasserie also viewed

Pereybere, Grand Baie
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing