We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and new accomodation in the heart of Grand Baie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Serenade Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 46 Grand Baie B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Affordable and new accomodation in the heart of Grand Baie”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lets be honest - hotels or B&B in Grand Baie are either very expensive or crappy/old. But this was a hidden gem in the heart of the north. Ran by a young couple who gave up their careers in Canada, its less than two years old and very well kept with a nice pool at the back for private suntanning. Rooms are new and clean and they serve a generous continental breakfast. Sal and Smitta are very knowledgeable on what to do in Mauritius, whether you are a typical tourist or looking for something more. Location is great, within walking distance to amenities and beach. Definitely worth the 4 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacklyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This B&B is completely deserving of it's 5 star rating. While the accommodation itself is perfect with touches such as comfy bedding, fluffy towels & power showers, what we took away most from the experience was the warmth, hospitality and helpfulness of the hosts. They were happy to provide both advice and assistance with everything we needed and we genuinely felt welcome.

On top of that I can only re-iterate the points already made by other reviewers. It's excellently located, within walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and bus stops. The pool is great and the breakfast was consistently fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place was great. Little property located in the heart of Grand Baie - moments away from amenities, food, beach etc. Room was clean with excellent balcony. Nice pool in the back. What REALLY sets this place over the rest were the owners. They were extremely helpful in all respects - recommendations for car rental, day trips, food, how to get the best deals, and transport. If you are looking to explore the island and have an amazing home base, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinjpmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Simple yet sweet...la serenade is a little cocoon in itself...and not to forget two lovely hosts smita and salvadore, always there for you and ready to help..had an amazing and quiet time..in a busy grand baie...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for these outstanding hosts. They even turn off the music to satisfy complainants! The cleanest and best kept place in which I have ever stayed.
Pool, spotless. Bed, comfortable. Bathroom, modern. Breakfast, scrumptious.In general, top notch.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvonmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

To begin with, we were a little daunted by the locality and the 5 minute walk to the beachfront, but once acquainted with the are, we quickly warmed to the cleanliness of the establishment and warm hospitality of our hosts.
Breakfasts also made this into a memorable experience. There are a wide variety of restaurants available within walking distance.
The young couple who own the establishment could not have done more to accomodate us and were a great source of local knowledge and travel information.
The establishment is quite young and the provision of tea and coffee facilities in rooms should be considered for the future

Room Tip: Having stayed there we felt the Comfort rooms were the best option though slightly more expensive th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken19540401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Smita and Salvador are by far the kindest and nicest people we met on our trip. They already made us feel welcome in maurice before we even arrived. Not only that their b&b is beautiful, the breakfast was very good as well. The rooms are very clean and airconditioned. We had a big balcony too. It is really close to the beach and they will help you plan you trip or book something without hesitation. We can really recommend a stay there and will definitly do it again when we come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Bay Beach Hotel
#18 of 28 in Grand Baie
5 reviews
2.9 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serenade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serenade Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Serenade Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lot. 14 Maharana Pratap Lane, Morcellement St. Honore, Grand Baie, Mauritius N/A
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mauritius, just a few minutes walk from beautiful Grand Baie beach, and shopping and dining, La Sérénade is a charming 10-bedroom bed and breakfast. We offer guests clean and comfortable rooms, complete with ensuite bathrooms and adjustable air conditioning, at affordable prices. Start your morning with our complimentary breakfast and a dip in our outdoor pool. Spend an afternoon relaxing on our rooftop patio or sipping drinks in our open-air lounge. Enjoy our unmatched level of service, locally-inspired modern décor, complimentary WiFi and access to the best shopping, nightclubs, restaurants, and adventure activities Mauritius has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Serenade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serenade Bed And Breakfast Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing