We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G' Baie's best kept secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Serenade Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 44 Grand Baie B&B and Inns
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“G' Baie's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We normally book self-catering accommodation when holidaying in MRU but this year we decided to try a B&B and came across ' La Serenade'.
We booked for a 15 nights stay on the strength of 'Tripadvisor' reviews we read. We fully endorsed the positive comments made about Sal and Smita's hospitality and helpfulness, the healthy breakfast and comfortable room.They made every effort to please us and, no doubt, other guests as well. A special mention for Ben, a friend of the couple, who was helping out. He was terrific, too!
It was a very pleasant experience, excellent value for money and, therefore, deserved our recommendation.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ton_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lets be honest - hotels or B&B in Grand Baie are either very expensive or crappy/old. But this was a hidden gem in the heart of the north. Ran by a young couple who gave up their careers in Canada, its less than two years old and very well kept with a nice pool at the back for private suntanning. Rooms are new and clean and they serve a generous continental breakfast. Sal and Smitta are very knowledgeable on what to do in Mauritius, whether you are a typical tourist or looking for something more. Location is great, within walking distance to amenities and beach. Definitely worth the 4 nights we stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacklyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This B&B is completely deserving of it's 5 star rating. While the accommodation itself is perfect with touches such as comfy bedding, fluffy towels & power showers, what we took away most from the experience was the warmth, hospitality and helpfulness of the hosts. They were happy to provide both advice and assistance with everything we needed and we genuinely felt welcome.

On top of that I can only re-iterate the points already made by other reviewers. It's excellently located, within walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and bus stops. The pool is great and the breakfast was consistently fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This place was great. Little property located in the heart of Grand Baie - moments away from amenities, food, beach etc. Room was clean with excellent balcony. Nice pool in the back. What REALLY sets this place over the rest were the owners. They were extremely helpful in all respects - recommendations for car rental, day trips, food, how to get the best deals, and transport. If you are looking to explore the island and have an amazing home base, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinjpmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Simple yet sweet...la serenade is a little cocoon in itself...and not to forget two lovely hosts smita and salvadore, always there for you and ready to help..had an amazing and quiet time..in a busy grand baie...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Nothing is too much trouble for these outstanding hosts. They even turn off the music to satisfy complainants! The cleanest and best kept place in which I have ever stayed.
Pool, spotless. Bed, comfortable. Bathroom, modern. Breakfast, scrumptious.In general, top notch.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvonmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

To begin with, we were a little daunted by the locality and the 5 minute walk to the beachfront, but once acquainted with the are, we quickly warmed to the cleanliness of the establishment and warm hospitality of our hosts.
Breakfasts also made this into a memorable experience. There are a wide variety of restaurants available within walking distance.
The young couple who own the establishment could not have done more to accomodate us and were a great source of local knowledge and travel information.
The establishment is quite young and the provision of tea and coffee facilities in rooms should be considered for the future

Room Tip: Having stayed there we felt the Comfort rooms were the best option though slightly more expensive th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken19540401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Baie hotels
1.1 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Auberge Miko
Auberge Miko
#8 of 44 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serenade Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serenade Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Serenade Bed and Breakfast
Address: Lot. 14 Maharana Pratap Lane, Morcellement St. Honore, Grand Baie, Mauritius N/A
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mauritius, just a few minutes walk from beautiful Grand Baie beach, and shopping and dining, La Sérénade is a charming 10-bedroom bed and breakfast. We offer guests clean and comfortable rooms, complete with ensuite bathrooms and adjustable air conditioning, at affordable prices. Start your morning with our complimentary breakfast and a dip in our outdoor pool. Spend an afternoon relaxing on our rooftop patio or sipping drinks in our open-air lounge. Enjoy our unmatched level of service, locally-inspired modern décor, complimentary WiFi and access to the best shopping, nightclubs, restaurants, and adventure activities Mauritius has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Serenade Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serenade Bed And Breakfast Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing