We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Spot and Close To Grand Bay Area”
Review of Ocean Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Villas
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Grand Baie
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I had the very good fortune to be able to have a short stay in Mauritius in July 14. It had been some 40 years since my first visit to the island and I was nicely surprised to see that the place has changed, but not for the worse. We stayed at the Ocean villas Hotel in Grand Bay. Whilst I can say that the package we chose was very reasonable for a 7 day B&B the charges the hotel makes for food and drink are quite over the top. This includes the on-site shop which, it has to be said, resembles a warehouse full of ‘Stuff’.
Our booking was for the Ocean Beach Villa & Spa but on arrival we were put in to a room at the Ocean Villas – they say it’s the same place.
It has a small beach with quite a few sun beds and loungers. Just a little further up the beach the ’other’ part of the hotel has a swimming pool. Both are quite nice but in July the sea was a little too cold for my liking. All is clean and well tended. Although we didn’t partake there are free snorkeling trips and water sports three times a week.
The room we had was more than a little quirky. Twin beds, small balcony with furniture, fridge, wardrobe, desk (no chair) and a fridge. There is a kettle but no tea or coffee or water. Small flat screen TV with, predominantly, French channels.
Now………….. It would seem that the bathrooms have recently been renovated as it looked as though it was another guest room, previously. However, although the bathrooms are large (larger than the room itself) they are open plan with no door on, either, the shower or the bathroom! All in all the hotel is fine. Clean and the staff are, generally, quite friendly – food and drinks a bit pricey, though. . We spoke to a number of visitors to the area and I think that there are other, similar, options but I think, on reflection, we got an OK deal.
The breakfast was limited but adequate with a live ‘Egg Station’. The evening buffet was less than what we expected and quite pricey. However, there are a number of eateries within walking distance of the hotel and numerous restaurants in Grand Bay which is a short (cheap) bus ride away. Buses are about every 20 minutes and are really cheap.
We found a real gem of a place about a 15 minute walk up the road where we watched the World Cup Matches, ate good food, drank some refreshing beers and met some great people. The Hidden Reef is a bar cum Restaurant. Great food. You must try the Dorado which is fantastic!

Room Tip: Garden View rooms Are OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Manwithplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I visited Mauritius toward the end of May 14. It was for the third time that my wife and myself chose Mauritius as a holiday destination and we did not regret the decision.
If one chooses to stay in the Grand Baie area - Mauritius is a fairly big island - i recommend this property for a variety of reasons the main being the solitude and privacy one enjoys while being close to a town.
Spread over a large acreage and with its own private beach, the resort is close to the main Grand Baie town. We took a garden bungalow which was a very spacious duplex with 3 bedrooms for a promo price of 80Euro - a steal as buffet breakfast for 2 was thrown in. But we were there off season. Maid service is daily. There is a convenio. store but find out the timings when they open.
They have very nice sea-facing chalets which cost more.
Lunch and dinner is advised out unless your tired and want to order from the rather spartan ala carte menu.The food is average. At the bar always smiling Narine is ready to oblige with your fav. cocktail.
Service is good, staff always helpful, just wish the check-in would take less time as after a long flight one wants to settle in quickly. Ask for Sangeeta at the front desk as she is quick to help.
Mauritius conjurs images of blue seas, green surroundings, peace and solitude and Ocean Villas embodies it all.
Only hitch - the small distance from the hotel to town center is connected by bus during the day but you need a taxi if you are out for dinner- its 200 Mau Rupees for a oneway ride home(not too much) :) from the restaurants and malls.
We hope to go again if life permits!

Room Tip: If money is not a consideration go for the sea facing chalets, otherwise the garden villas are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank joethepro_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Located ring on the premium beach of grand bay, in a silent area. The garden villas are lovely and very spacious. Reception staff are very polite and provides assistance and information.
The breakfast is buffet style with fresh tropical fruits, live hot counter for egg omelette, dosa, etc. restaurant staff are very courteous.
We being pure vegetarian, did not face problem, as chef prepared special veg dishes for us, which was pleasant surprise.
Live local cultural programme over dinner is highlight of hotel.
Free water sports including boat rides (coral) are provided by the hotel for its guests.
Only problem was 250mbp free wifi during each stay given, over it you need to pay heavy charges
Local bus stop is just outside the lobby, so moving around grand bay, port Louis, etc was very convenient and cheap..

Room Tip: Book garden villa and enjoy your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lalith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here in the first week of february 2014, in a Contemporary Beachfront Room on the ground floor. The room was spacious, and nicely furnished. A fabulous view over the Bay of Grand Bay from our roomterrace. The room had a big bathroom with shower and a bath on the back terrace. The new part of the Ocean Villas could be reached from the main part of the hotel by a small walk (+/- 30m) over a narrow sandy beach, or, during high tide, by a 100m walk over a quiet road. Correct breakfast, not luxurious. Same for dinner-buffet. It wasn't the big buffet as we know them from previous holidays in the Caribbean, but it was correct : price/quality. Very friendly staff. No complaints. If we go back to Mauritius, I think we will probably book this accommodation again.

Room Tip: Supplement for Contemporary Beach Rooms is worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inge0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

the hotel is situated in a perfect location. The staff are friendly and helpful . breakfast was lovely. The rooms are abit small thou. The beach was stunning, had a lovely time. The snorkeling and banana rides that the hotel provided was awesome. This was a memorable holiday

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krupa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I went there for our engagement anniversary. We booked a room in the newly built area. It was a nice contemporary room. Quiet and peaceful. This place is just the place to be if you want to take time for you/your couple.

Breakfast: Buffet - Really nice for a 3 star hotel with some basics like breads, toast, fruits, cakes jam, butter, cheese, yogurt, cereales,eggs, bacon, juice, coffee, tea.

Dinner: European and local Cuisine / BBQ as from 19h30. It was good but a bit limited.

Entertainment; It was nice.

Others: The beach is small but quiet and clean. There can be a nice bath and the view on Grand bay is awesome. Staff is nice and discreet. 2 Pools available for the contemporary area and no kids authorised here so very peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroZue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Thank you all hotel stuff for making first stay in Mauritius wonderful experience.
Special thanks to:
front desk - Jennifer and Joelle (support before departure / car rental arrangements)
breakfast - two ladies - one for extra good eggs / other for everlasting smile
bar - Gian - sorry if misspelled - for smiling all the time and extra ordinary help
owner - for being good source of Mauritian history (post stamps / railway etc.)

Hotel well located:
private beach - more than you expect
restaurants - within walking distance (La Captaine / Koolan / Italian etc)
shopping mall - 20 mins walk or 5€ by taxi
public beach - within reach / by bus 5mins at 20 Mur

Room Tip: I would recommend to take either room in the Spa location or garden location. All rooms are equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Baie hotels
0.8 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa Florida Hotel
Casa Florida Hotel
#2 of 5 in Pereybere
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#7 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,589 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Beauty
Ocean Beauty
#5 of 5 in Pereybere
134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Domaine des Alizees Club & Spa by Evaco Holiday Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Villas

Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#13 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: £70 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Villas Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Hotel Grand Baie
Ocean Villas Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing