We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$169
eDreamsUS$168
CheapTicketsUS$168
TravelocityUS$168
Orbitz.comUS$168
Agoda.comUS$168
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
91
149
94
52
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
149
94
52
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach garden room baie kettle waiters supermarket
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 433 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2017

We have just got home from a two night stay with 3 course meal on first night and breakfast. Staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. When we arrived we were given a voucher for a tea/coffee and big slab of cake. The meal was really nice and lovely presentation and piping hot.
Would thoroughly recommend.
We walked into town no problem.
The weather was also fab.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are newly refurbished and were spotless
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shithotel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The good:
We stayed in the contemporary rooms, which I would definitely recommend; they were new and the pools were very private. Air conditioning was wonderful and the pools were immaculate. The other rooms in the main bit of the hotel seemed a little drab from the outside.

The food was varied and fresh. Drinks are very expensive, but there is a shop down the road that sells anything you might need.

Location is great and the public buses (which go from just outside the hotel) are easy to use.

Airport transfer was reliable and prompt with a very clean, spacious car.

The waiters and the cleaning staff were very friendly and attentive.

The bad:
Service at the reception was poor. The receptionists were quite rude and unhelpful. For example, we had organised a trip that left early in the morning and asked if we could have sone bread and fruit. They flat out refused.

Little touches were missing like no drinking water in the rooms and no more coffee after you had run out.

The ugly:
Some uncomfortable moments when we were told that we were late for our airport transfer (we weren't) and had to pay extra. When we checked out, we asked for the receipts for the drinks they'd billed us for and it took over an hour! Very poor organisation.

There was also confusion about the currency to pay and, rather than explain, the receptionist was very patronising and didn't give us any information about the exchange rate.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel (as long as you stay in the contemporary wing) but it is currently being let down by those on reception and those who organise the billing.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kellynina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2017

On the web page, this looked like a good but slightly cheaper alternative than what we have stayed at before. But sadley it was a dissapointing experience. First of, the "infinity pool" that is shown on the pictures, is just available if you book a beach villa. Second, if you order a one room appartment, there is no door to the bathroom(!!!!). we complained about this, and got bumped up to a family appartment (two bedrooms). This was actually well handled by the staff.
Now the new room had some issues as well. Ther was alot of ants, so we had to by in a bug spray to handle the problem. we are not talking about one ant now ant then. by night time two of the walls were crawlling with them.
The aircondition in the bedroom was also faulty, which led to some warm nights.
Now to the outdoor enviroment. Over the walkways in the garden they had not cut down the coconuts, which is very dangerouse. if one were to fall in your head from 15 meters pluss, you would be finished.

The breakfast was also dissapointing, with slim pickings and a some what diryt presentation. The hotel also has a lot of stray dogs visiting, and at breakfast the walked arround the tables, begging for food. They had even put up a sign that they might be dangerous, so it feelt kind of uncomfortable.

And if you fancy a romantic massage with your partner at the "spa", you cant.... Only one person at a time. we ended up not having one because of this.

The free wify also has it's limitations. works great in the pool area, but in my room i had to hold my phone in a certian position in one of the windows to get connection...

This is a 4 star hotel, but in my opinion, it should be maximum 3.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We booked at Ocean Villas for our stay in Grand Baie, Dealing with the staff from reservations right up until we left the resort was great.

All staff were friendly and always willing to help, Kiran the driver met us on time at the airport and gave us a brief explanation of the roads we would be taking all the way to Grand Baie. Along the route to the resort Kiran had answered many questions and advised us on general activities as well as some brief history of the Island, I must mention he is a fountain of knowledge and a very humble gentleman.

We arrived at the resort and were greeted by smiles from the staff, the check-in was easy and the lady by the name of Tanuja took us through the resort and showed us around, explaining house rules etc. Due to the fact that it was not yet check in time they had allowed us to store our luggage in a locked room, which allowed us to make our way and explore a bit before check in time. The local bus stop is literally 50m from the main entrance and only costs MUR12 to the town.

On return, our luggage was already moved to our room, and we were told to meet at the restaurant at 7pm for supper.

The rooms are clean, the aircons work, the linen and towels are fresh. I would suggest that should you book at this resort to get one of the rooms on the newer side of the resort. The first 2 days we stayed in the basic charm room which really isn't much to write home about, but again I will mention that it was clean. The shower is large and the water is hot so no faulting there. Unfortunately the only problem we really had in this room was that whether or not the shower had just been cleaned or been used the entire bathroom had a really terrible sewerage odor which was really overwhelming.

Fast forward three days later and we were moved to the pool view room, this was stunning, a large room with a King Sized bed, large bathroom with both a bath tub and shower and everything is in place, and is extremely clean. It has a private patio with outdoor furniture where you can relax while overlooking the pool.

The resort itself is really safe and never once did we feel uncomfortable. There are visible security guards who are around throughout the day and night who are friendly and wouldn't mind a chat every now and again.

The Food, the food is good, each night there is a different menu and a variety of meats and salads to choose from. There is always fruit available and there had always been live entertainment each evening which really gave us that Island Holiday vibe. Sadly though the breakfast daily is pretty much the same, and not much of a variety. The lady who makes the omelette's always strikes up a chat and is always smiling, we always enjoyed speaking to her, you'd think you know her forever by the 2nd day hahaha. The biggest issue we faced was that the drinks served at the restaurant are extremely expensive, especially if you are South African (80 Bucks for a glass of coke), however the tourists who use Euro's find it to be cheap.

As for the water sports, Cedric is awesome and we loved the watersports he took us for.

The beach is great, every hour there is some gentleman cleaning up the beach on the resorts grounds, We managed to get some good sleep feeling safe on the loungers and day beds that are there and it was just awesome.

I had spoken and met the owner who is around daily, and he takes the time to know his guests and does what he can to make your stay more pleasant.

Would we stay here again?

Despite the odd few bad reviews we read about the place, we checked it out, we loved it. There were a few things we weren't happy with which I mentioned here but the good out weighs the bad.

Thanks Clifford, Tanuja, Kiran, Cedric, Rizwan, Rajesh and all the other hotel staff who made this a great stay

Room tip: Choose the Pool View or Sea View Rooms
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Chavoos_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

I used to live in Mauritius with my husband and Ocean villa was our first resort stay . and it would be an understatement to say it was good.coz it was exceptionally beautiful and breathtaking. Beach facing balcony, tranquil ambience, Close proximity to grand baie. Our stay was really memorable.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Hazel6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews