We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Björn K

Terrible - go somewhere else!

Review of Ocean Villas
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2023
This is what you can expect;
- The complex is really old and rotten to the core. Nipped furniture, cracked windows, squeeking airconditions, moldy exteriors, outdated equipments.
- The rooms are not possible to close to the outside because of all bad doors and windows that leave openings. So you get insects inside and all sounds travel freely.
- We had an ant colony travelling by the thousands through our place. Different routes every knight. The staff tried to exterminate them but that did not help much.
- The restaurant serves food that is zero interesting although etible.
- Instant coffee
- A pool that is not cleaned often enough
- The exterior of the area is littered with storage material from renovations
- For this amount of money, what you get is very overpriced.

The good
- Excellent boat driver at the beach
- The gardeners do a nice job with the garden
- The cleaning staff do their best

Recommend everyone to avoid this place and go some place else for the same money
Date of stay: February 2023
Room Tip: I recommend everyone to go somewhere else instead
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £125
  • Booking.com
0.8 miles from Ocean Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    £373
  • Expedia.com
    £454
1.1 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £109
  • Expedia.com
    £131
1.7 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Grand Bay Suites
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £53
  • Booking.com
1.1 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £312
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £36
  • Booking.com
1.5 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £115
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Ocean Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £73
  • Hotels.com
2.1 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £134
  • Hotels.com
2.6 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grand Baie
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
99
157
96
53
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
157
96
53
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach free activities every evening ground floor clifford waiters housekeeper taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2022

First time to this hotel. It is not a popular hotel,but the service and welcome received is worth praising.
The room was so so artistically decorated. All the staffs were so kind,starting by Sangeeta at the reception,the waiters,the housekeepers and gardeners. The hotel provides free activities and glass bottom boat trip,which I really enjoyed.
The food was very tasty and lots of varieties.
Overall,i would say its a very cosy place to stay. To note that i booked the garden view room.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosy1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2022

The best hosts. Warm friendly team who always greet their customers with a welcoming smile. Rooms are well maintained and decorated at a great art for special occasions. Peaceful, tranquil internal gardens for relaxing. Their wide choice of buffet leaves your mouth watering with excitement for the traditional cuisine that will warm your pallet throughout their courses. Varieties between breakfast, lunch and under the beautiful lot restaurant for your evening meal. Cleanliness is definitely their priority. Their private beach and garden furnished with the exotic palm trees and coconut trees and also mixed with beautiful flowers. All this is well within your budget. Authentic appearance of Mauritius on your door step for your experience. Totally 100% .Océan Villa has and is will always be my preferential choice for a relaxing deserved holiday.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 915erwint
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2022 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the service at ocean villas. Would not recommend. Surprisingly such horrible staff attitude for a service industry. Tanuja at the reception was very accomodating and cos of her the stay was decent.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 540poonamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

So we had a one night stay in this so called villa. Check in time was supposed to be at 14hrs but had to wait till 15.15 to get the room, which was occupied by another tenant. If it was up to us as husband and wife it would be fine but having a baby who started to get irritated, that hit the bottomline. We got our room, which was very standard. Fast forward to dinnertime: it was a barbecue grilled dinner theme with limited variety of food/salad/dessert! And dinner was supposed to start at 19.30 but buffet only opened at 19.50 or so. Just imagine how much famished one would be! Next day, we expected it to be better but it was worse. Breakfast was tasteless, no added value and limited choice. As for lunch, it was a la carte which was supposed to be at 12.30. But guess what guys? Lunch was served at 13.10!!! My baby was famished, had to request several times before finally grabbing a portion of french fries. I would defo not
recommend this cheapo 'hotel'. Service is lamentable and not customer oriented.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shaziahh2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 June 2022

The location of our room was nice, very quiet. The food was very tasty, especially the lobster. The service is good and the place is very spacious. It offers a great view of the sea. The room was clean but needed some touch-ups. Special thanks to the spa for their relaxing Balinese massage. Overall, it was an amazing stay.

Hope to see you soon.

Room tip: The beach rooms are amazing, do try them
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruhsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews