We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£63
Breakfast included
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jensen_niki
London, United Kingdom

Manage your expectations

Review of Ocean Villas
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
You need to manage your expectations when you book a stay at Ocean Villas.

You might have watched their fancy YouTube video but it's not reality. You'll also see videos from past guests. And it's fair to say that these videos show the icing on the cake and core ingredients. If you saw a married couple from South Africa touring the hotel, be warned that they've shown the best parts.

It's a 3 star establishment. And that means you're going to have to put up with a property that was built circa 1980s. There were signs of wear and tear everywhere. As you walk through the front door, some parts of the villas needed a bit of filler and a lick of paint. Some of the furniture had seen better days and our shower door leaked every time we took a shower.

But the villa was clean. The beds were comfortable and our villa had amenities that you wouldn't expect. A safe, hair dryer and a microwave was available. A bottle of mineral water (Crystal) was also provided on arrival and parking outside the villas was convenient.

As for the grounds, the gardens are kept well. It's not going to blow you away but again it's 3 star. The swimming pool didn't look as clean as we'd like. We opted not to go for a dip. The cushions on the seats were covered in stains. Not great.

The beach was decent. The view out to the bay was great. You can swim but when we stayed, the sea was choppy but that's not the hotel's problem.

What's great about Oceans Villa is its location. You're only 5 minutes away in a car from the best public beaches. Namely Trou aux Biches, Mon Choisy, Pereybere and La Cuvette. So you're spoilt for choice.

We'd like to praise the service at the hotel. The kitchen staff and serving staff were accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment in the evening was particularly good, and you'll certainly be tapping your toes and most likely dancing.

Lastly the food. There's a good selection of food but too much MSG added to it. Every morning, we woke up to that awful salty taste on our tongues.

So as you can gather there's some good parts to Oceans Villas but you're going to have to put up with some bad parts. if you're on a budget and happy to stay in a 3 star establishment where you can experience the beaches in the North, it's a good place to stay.

Would we stay there again? I'd most likely opt for a self catering apartment. We felt for the money, we'd get better quality of facilities but then again we'd have to prepare our food.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: If your a budget traveller, perhaps a backpacker, Ocean Villa is right up your street.
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £215
  • Expedia.com
    £290
1.1 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Expedia.com
    £179
0.8 miles from Ocean Villas
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotel Website
    £136
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £516
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool at the Grand Bay Suites
Tripadvisor
£55
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Priceline
2.5 miles from Ocean Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Grand Baie
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
99
157
96
53
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
157
96
53
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach free activities every evening ground floor clifford waiters housekeeper taxis
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2023

Great place with caring staff
Warm welcome at the reception
Room was absolutely perfect with wonderful view as we have beach front
Lunch was delicious and very tasty
Spa as well made our stay more relaxed

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2023

Been there for the week end and i must say I was very impressed with the good food! Love the Bbq and chinese night theme!

Balinese massage excellent, highly recommended!

The room was very cleaned but pillows need some replacement, we could see that it was very old.

Just a little note:
The staffs in the restaurant need some training specially for customer service and professionalism.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank feliciacheong08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2023

We, a group of four couples, all about 70, stayed at this property from January 19-24, 2023 (Room# 301, 302, 303, 304). Our first experience of check-in, Reception was a little disappointing. In spite of registering in advance online and sending it by mail, the Receptionist, who appeared after sometime, struggled with her computer and located our details on our insistence.

Next disappointment was when we were told there were no bellboys and we have to lug our luggage ourselves to our rooms. This is a spread out property. She would show us our rooms when she would be free. Through cobbled stones we lugged our belongings to our rooms. Two rooms were on the ground floor, two on the first floor without lifts. One friend was taken through the stairs on the first floor, was asked to come down and go up again through the other staircase.

We had informed the hotel well in advance that we all 8 were Indian vegetarians, and any one cooked hot item in breakfast would be all right for us. They had told us that they had enough items in their menu. On the first day of breakfast one of us went there beforehand to survey what was available. Apart from cold, uncooked items, there was nothing for us. On our request they cooked something on the first day. Thereafter, there was no hot item for us, apart from usual toast etc.

Our conclusion:

Good property for vacation but not friendly to Indian (vegetarians) tourists and not friendly to senior citizens.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anilu2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2023

This is what you can expect;
- The complex is really old and rotten to the core. Nipped furniture, cracked windows, squeeking airconditions, moldy exteriors, outdated equipments.
- The rooms are not possible to close to the outside because of all bad doors and windows that leave openings. So you get insects inside and all sounds travel freely.
- We had an ant colony travelling by the thousands through our place. Different routes every knight. The staff tried to exterminate them but that did not help much.
- The restaurant serves food that is zero interesting although etible.
- Instant coffee
- A pool that is not cleaned often enough
- The exterior of the area is littered with storage material from renovations
- For this amount of money, what you get is very overpriced.

The good
- Excellent boat driver at the beach
- The gardeners do a nice job with the garden
- The cleaning staff do their best

Recommend everyone to avoid this place and go some place else for the same money

Room tip: I recommend everyone to go somewhere else instead
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bj_rnk474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2022

First time to this hotel. It is not a popular hotel,but the service and welcome received is worth praising.
The room was so so artistically decorated. All the staffs were so kind,starting by Sangeeta at the reception,the waiters,the housekeepers and gardeners. The hotel provides free activities and glass bottom boat trip,which I really enjoyed.
The food was very tasty and lots of varieties.
Overall,i would say its a very cosy place to stay. To note that i booked the garden view room.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rosy1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews