We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Just finishing a terrific stay in the Veranda hotel in Grand Baie Mauritius, would just like to say how much we have enjoyed our honeymoon. The facilities and food are top notch, the staff are very pleasant and everything is done with a smile on their face. Would like to give special thanks to Rai and Suffee for all their hard work behind the bar, Manav for making sure all our needs were met (nothing was ever a problem) and Jeff for his boat trips and making the thousands of fish surround the boat to snorkel in. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking at visiting Mauritius.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank craig t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your honeymoon and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Jeff, Rai, Manav and Suffee and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings

Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    441
    103
    41
    38
See reviews for
431
626
67
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We are coming to the end of our 11 day stay at the Veranda Grande Baie. We have had a great time, better than we could have ever imagined. The staff really do make the hotel, they are all so friendly and helpful. Special mentions to Rai, Manav and Suffee from the bar, thanks for making us feel welcome. Rai's cocktails were excellent! We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Mauritius.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your honeymoon and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to Rai, Manav and Suffee and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings

Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Treated to a amazing dinner experience on the beach front for my birthday. Hosted by a very hospitable and on the ball waiter, Yudish. Absolute magic. Thank you so much for your fantastic service and unforgettable memories. Just so friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,

We are very glad that you spent a good time in our Veranda Grand Baie. It will be a pleasure to receive you again and make you relive memorable moments.

Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I happened to be accommodated during a recent business trip at Veranda Grand Baie. The friendliness of the staff upon arrival was superb. We arrived late at night and the floor manager quickly helped us get a bite to eat in the restaurant before we went to our rooms. The accommodation is very basic but well appointed. I found the rooms reminiscent of some of the hotels I have stayed in on the Costa Del Sol. No frills, no fuss and comfortable. There is no WiFi in the room and the front desk quickly installed a router! The pool area and bar is superb and compares favourably with any 5-star establishment, however the hotel buildings and interior areas throughout require refurbishing as it is old and dated. To be honest this is not my type of hotel but it obviously caters for a 3-star market very successfully as it operates at 80% capacity throughout the year. The on-site boutique offers a small range of reading material, sun tanning products and a limited range of typical beach clothing, which is adequate. As with many hotels on the island a meal buffet is the norm. The buffet offering and selection is also tired and needs a culinary injection! All in all it's a 3-star vacation, which is obviously popular to a specific market.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor suite well away from the pool area. It can be very noisy if there is entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It seems that we have fulfill our promises and everything went fine, Thank you hence for this rating.

Kind Regards

Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We arrived late and were met by Stephanie at reception with a smile and a refreshing drink. Her friendliness and efficiency were wonderful and we were soon booked in. Kelly welcomed us at the restaurant with his great sense of humour for a late dinner and once again we were overwhelmed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We had a wonderful stay. The food was wonderful, the rooms were comfortable and clean and everyone was so accommodating. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be back. Ray, Cally, Gary and Viv

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie, especially for your wedding. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

What a beautiful experience we had with our 11 day stay at Veranda Grand Bay. We must admit that none of the negative reviews we found were validated - at least not while we stayed there. The place is extremely tranquil and caters for guest from all ages. We went with our 2 daughters aged; 4 & 14 years. They were treated like royalty and cannot wait to go back. We mixed with guests from all over the world and with the place being so intimate and having a family culture, you get the opportunity to engage and have loads of fun.

We were welcomed on arrival and the hostess has managed our check-in whilst we could relax after our tiring travels. The room was a bit small for our family of 4 however this was due to us booking last minute and not being able to get a family room. From here, every single experience from the different buffet themes for dinner to live entertainment in the evening was exceptional. Clive and Stephan ensured that we were kept entertained during the day with aqua gym, drums, card games, pool games, tennis etc. There were loads to keep the kids entertained without breaking the bank as the hotel offers activities at no extra cost such as the kids club, pedaling, kayaking, games room, glass bottom boat and snorkeling and the guys at the boat house were all too eager to assist us. The staff were exceptionally friendly which made one feel right at home. A HUGE thank you to Manav, Sophi and Avii for being such special people and going over and beyond our expectations in terms of service, treating our kids like family and taking personal accountability to ensuring we are safe on our shopping trips  All the staff were constantly ensuring that we were satisfied with our stay and eager to rectify anything unpleasant (not that there was anything). Even the GM, Vikash ensured that we were happy with our stay by chatting with us daily and as the sweetest gesture, even packed our kids MASSIVE picnic baskets upon our departure – the whole family was a bit emotional when we had to say our goodbyes – My 4 year old cannot wait to return to her “other home” and started saving 50c a week (ha ha ha) to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanine_Brink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie. The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Sunny Greetings
Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great time we had. The staff is just AMAZING. always helpfull and do everything in their power to make your stay comfortable. Great hotel good location and value for money. Pool and cocktail bar just great.

Room Tip: Poolview room excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VLH-Maurice, Manager at Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you again for choosing Veranda Grand Baie.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you immensely for sharing your impressions with the Trip Advisor community. We have passed your compliments to the team and they were happy to hear that they contributed in making your stay enjoyable.We look forward to welcome you again.

Sunny Greetings

Vikash Dawoo
Hotel Manager
Veranda Grand Baie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
Veranda Pointe aux Biches Hotel
#3 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
5.8 mi away
Veranda Paul & Virginie Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa

Property: Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 00230
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN OASIS IN THE HEART OF BUZZY GRAND-BAIE Veranda Grand Baie Hotel and Spa nestles in a beautiful bay at the heart of the lively village of Grand Baie - with its restaurants, bars, nightclubs and shops at your door step. This is the ideal place to immerse yourself in local life or yacht out to the beautiful islands of the north. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Destinology, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel Grand Baie
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel And Spa
Veranda Hotel Grand Baie
Grand Baie Veranda Hotel
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing