We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoy Mauritius also in July and August ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
20 Degres Sud Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

the nice thing of July and August that it is low season in Mauritius so you can stay in more resorts and do not have to book in advance. great wind for kitesurfing and good temperature for golf . 20 c is a wonderful boutique hotel with nice small spa with good masseuses .de austral suites are mAgnificent. in Mauritius winter it can get windy at 20c so you have to go to a beach around the corner. nice to combine with prince the Maurice.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

An exquisite Boutique Hotel, originally a family home so it's very small & after a week or so it may feel too enclosed. The pool area is gorgeous but very compact. Beautiful large rooms in Colonial Style.

A fantastic stay spoiled only by the horrible bourgeois French Eurotrash who destroyed the ambience of this gorgeous tiny gem. That is exactly the only problem with this lovely hotel, it is so small that if you have horrible, badly behaving guests they spoil it for every body because there is nowhere else to go on this tiny property, as the whole hotel centers around the central pool area.

Once they left the hotel had the quiet class that you expect of a hotel that charges these exhorbitant prices. We met the owners and they were wonderful, and mixed freely with guests. The lady especially was very gracious & hospitable.

Situated on the beach on the far end of Grande Baie Harbour. Walking Distance to Grande Baie if you like a very long walk, & taxi's are cheap if you are too tired to walk back.

Lovely if you like exclusive boutique hotels, like I do.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A small hotel, no room is more than a few steps from the beach. A premium is charged on the beachfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Everyone looking for a rpivate retreat, away from huge beach hotels in Mauritius should head to the 20° sud. Everything is lovely: rooms, pools, bar... not to mention the food which is so fresh and tasty!

We enjoyed the complementary cake and tea everyday in the library where we could borrow board games and books.

The owner are great people, very close to their clients.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent 6 days in an austral suite with jacuzzi overlooking the bay. Very romantic!
We were there for the 2nd time.
It's a lovely hotel, with a beach, a beautiful garden with swimmingpool and another swimmingpool in a separate and calm place. Furhtermore it's not too big.
The rooms are superb, with everything you need.
Food is excellent and one can dine either on the terrace, in the diningroom or even on a boat.
The personnel is very friendly and helpfull. And on Christmas Eve all guests got a present from the owners Anne and Michel. So nice.
We can strongly recommend this hotel and we certainly will be back!
Marylse and Bé. Holland

Room Tip: The suites are overlooking the bay. The rooms in the garden and near the swimmingpool are smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spur of the minute booking for a short trip to Mauritius, the hotel was lovely, spacious and well appointed rooms, one on the beachfront and one standard room. We had been told that the rooms were not large enough to sleep three but the second room actually had three beds so it would have been fine, however half board rate reduced for single occupancy so it worked out very well.

The owner welcomed us to the hotel and the staff in general couldn't do enough to make the stay memorable, would recommend the catamaran trip out to the island if you get a chance as it was unforgettable. Food excellent, mix of classic french and local dishes. The small shop has most things a traveler might need if you have forgotten anything.

I would recommend and wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorgip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely 8 days here. Great boutique hotel, delivered on every promise ! Some highlights :
1. Great location on the far side of Grand Baie - allows you a panoramic 180' view from the Bay on your right to open sea on the left. Facing east so breeze blows into you. Enough activity in the bay to keep you entertained while you read your book ! Close to Mont Choisy beach by cycle and a pleasant boat ferry into Grand Baie if you need civilisation !
2. Right on the waterfront - you are no more than 10m from the sea, at any time. So you get a real seaside villa feeling.
3. Staff is really attentive - being a boutique hotel they remember your names and personal habits and preferences, and take care. Anne the owner is there personally most days, well supported by Marcel, Vic, Sanjeev and the team.
4. Food - this was a major surprise ! The food was really, really good -in our opinion Gastronomic levels. Salads were bright and tasty, seafood was carefully cooked not over cooked. Lobster degustation was fab, so was the lobster meal during the day excursion to Flat Island (really difficult to do on an island 20km away !). Even the humble croc monsieur was good ! Well done Sanjeev !

I recommend
1. Deluxe Waterfront Rooms - worth the premium over the Charm rooms to be close to the sea.
2. Excursion to Flat Island - again, worth the premium compared to other day excursions from Grand Baie.

Do note this is a premium priced hotel, nothing is cheap.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KhannuGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for a week in September, flying on from a Safari in South Africa and we had a truly wonderful time. We arrived quite late at night but were immediately blown away by the beautifully lit and furnished oasis that lay behind the huge wooden doors. Our four-poster room overlooked the bay and was simply but beautifully furnished. Service was attentive and friendly, although definitely not “in-your-face”, and we felt welcome – not anonymous – throughout our stay. We were particularly struck by the staff’s attention to detail, not least in the dining area where every breakfast and evening meal felt like a special occasion that we looked forward to. The shuttle across to Grand Baie was really useful and we also enjoyed kayaking ourselves around the bay and drinking cocktails in the pool! We didn’t take the hotel catamaran trip to flat island – although it looked lovely - as we wanted to explore further afield and booked a different catamaran excursion instead. Yes, the beach was small-ish but it met our needs and a short walk along the shoreline brought us to longer quiet stretches of sand. The iconic long white beaches are not far away and we felt that the many other attractions of this delightfully tranquil little place more than compensated. We are unlikely to return to Mauritius as there is much of the world to see but we will remember 20 Degres Sud for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.1 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Seapoint Boutique Hotel
Seapoint Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Pointe aux Canonniers
308 reviews
2.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 Degres Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range: £203 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 20 Degres Sud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20°SUD Relais & Chateaux is the first Boutique-hotel on the island to offer both the luxury and excellence of a property within the dimensions of an attractive, privately run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your 20 Degres Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Degres Sud Grand Baie
20 Degres Sud Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing