We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect honeymoon destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
20 Degres Sud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect honeymoon destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the 20 Degres Sud for our honeymoon and we couldn't have chosen a better place. This little boutique hotel is a real gem and offered everything we wished for. Staff are very attentive and helpful, the rooms are lovely and the food is wonderful. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    118
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
33
477
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I stayed in the 20° Sud last November and we couldn’t have chosen a better hotel.
Rather than staying in big resorts, we are fond of small romantic hotels.
Staff were always very kind and keen to help. The atmosphere is great, with cozy and well-decorated common premises. The two swimming pools are so inviting.
We booked a room with sea view and it was worth it – just exceptional! If you have a chance, do it!
Breakfast is good.
We were on half board so dinner was served at the hotel’s restaurant, which bears a great reputation. The food is truly delicious.
We managed to book a dinner aboard Lady Lisbeth and we had a wonderful time. My husband is allergic to shellfish and they took good note of it and catered for his needs. Do not miss it! Booking in advance is required.
We also made a day trip to Flat Island and had lunch at the Governor’s House. Couldn’t have had a better time.
I would only make two remarks:
- The beach in front of the hotel is very tiny;
- There’s no gym inside the hotel premises. You can use the gym of a nearby hotel and pay a fee for it, which is not very convenient.
Our overall experience was fantastic. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank f_biesdorf_bergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

the nice thing of July and August that it is low season in Mauritius so you can stay in more resorts and do not have to book in advance. great wind for kitesurfing and good temperature for golf . 20 c is a wonderful boutique hotel with nice small spa with good masseuses .de austral suites are mAgnificent. in Mauritius winter it can get windy at 20c so you have to go to a beach around the corner. nice to combine with prince the Maurice.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank funholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

An exquisite Boutique Hotel, originally a family home so it's very small & after a week or so it may feel too enclosed. The pool area is gorgeous but very compact. Beautiful large rooms in Colonial Style.

A fantastic stay spoiled only by the horrible bourgeois French Eurotrash who destroyed the ambience of this gorgeous tiny gem. That is exactly the only problem with this lovely hotel, it is so small that if you have horrible, badly behaving guests they spoil it for every body because there is nowhere else to go on this tiny property, as the whole hotel centers around the central pool area.

Once they left the hotel had the quiet class that you expect of a hotel that charges these exhorbitant prices. We met the owners and they were wonderful, and mixed freely with guests. The lady especially was very gracious & hospitable.

Situated on the beach on the far end of Grande Baie Harbour. Walking Distance to Grande Baie if you like a very long walk, & taxi's are cheap if you are too tired to walk back.

Lovely if you like exclusive boutique hotels, like I do.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A small hotel, no room is more than a few steps from the beach. A premium is charged on the beachfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHotelGuru10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Everyone looking for a rpivate retreat, away from huge beach hotels in Mauritius should head to the 20° sud. Everything is lovely: rooms, pools, bar... not to mention the food which is so fresh and tasty!

We enjoyed the complementary cake and tea everyday in the library where we could borrow board games and books.

The owner are great people, very close to their clients.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We spent 6 days in an austral suite with jacuzzi overlooking the bay. Very romantic!
We were there for the 2nd time.
It's a lovely hotel, with a beach, a beautiful garden with swimmingpool and another swimmingpool in a separate and calm place. Furhtermore it's not too big.
The rooms are superb, with everything you need.
Food is excellent and one can dine either on the terrace, in the diningroom or even on a boat.
The personnel is very friendly and helpfull. And on Christmas Eve all guests got a present from the owners Anne and Michel. So nice.
We can strongly recommend this hotel and we certainly will be back!
Marylse and Bé. Holland

Room Tip: The suites are overlooking the bay. The rooms in the garden and near the swimmingpool are smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spur of the minute booking for a short trip to Mauritius, the hotel was lovely, spacious and well appointed rooms, one on the beachfront and one standard room. We had been told that the rooms were not large enough to sleep three but the second room actually had three beds so it would have been fine, however half board rate reduced for single occupancy so it worked out very well.

The owner welcomed us to the hotel and the staff in general couldn't do enough to make the stay memorable, would recommend the catamaran trip out to the island if you get a chance as it was unforgettable. Food excellent, mix of classic french and local dishes. The small shop has most things a traveler might need if you have forgotten anything.

I would recommend and wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorgip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.1 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
4.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
2.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 Degres Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Property: 20 Degres Sud Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 20 Degres Sud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20°SUD Relais & Chateaux is the first Boutique-hotel on the island to offer both the luxury and excellence of a property within the dimensions of an attractive, privately run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your 20 Degres Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Degres Sud Grand Baie
20 Degres Sud Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing