We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best hotel we've stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
20 Degres Sud Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best hotel we've stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for 8 nights during our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. The whole set up is designed to make you feel as special as possible, and it totally works. Everything is very personal and friendly. The food is fantastic and generous. Other reviewers have mentioned the half board options at dinner are limited but there's also a daily special, which we had most nights, and it was always delicious. Breakfasts were great and afternoon tea and the free tea and coffee machine by the pool are nice touches.
Being a boutique hotel, each room is different and characterful. Ours was lovely, we had a basic suite and it was roomy, breezy and very clean. There was an outdoor shower (as well as an indoor one), a large bath and 4 different outside sitting/ sun bathing areas, all of which were private and secluded. The pool isn't huge but plenty big enough for our needs. The beach is small but there a large, quiet public beaches a 20min bike ride (or 5 min cab ride).
All of the staff were friendly, professional and seem to be well trained and happy. They made us feel at home and thoroughly spoilt. The owner came to see us off and had bothered to find out from the staff where we were heading etc so it felt personal. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Room 26 has a short flight of steep stairs but it's totally worth it for the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    118
    36
    15
    6
See reviews for
33
477
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would definitely recommend a stay at this small boutique hotel. Cannot fault anything. We had an amazing room with outdoor bathroom-great to lie in the bath in an evening with a cocktail and gaze up at the sky full of stars!
Staff couldn't do enough for us, were very friendly, polite, helpful and professional. If there is anything you want to know or any advice or assistance in arranging excursions staff will do their utmost to help. We stayed on half board basis. Food was great. Wine was a bit more pricey compared to what we would normally pay when going out for a meal in the UK. The hotel offered a free 'water taxi' into Grand Baie 4 times a day, free hour snorkeling trip each morning, use of hobie cat and kayaks. We went on a bike ride to a nearby beach and also cycled into Grand Baie. There is a lovely cafe called 'Coffee Garden' where we stopped for a drink and bite to eat on the way back from the beach. Trips can be arranged from the hotel. We chose to have a taxi for the day which cost approx £90. You can taylor make the day to suit yourselves. The tea plantation at Bois Cheri is great and well worth a visit. There is a guided tour around the factory and tea tasting to follow. Snorkeling is fantastic. There is a diving trip that goes from Grand Baie called 'Dive Tribe' and they were happy for us to join the group even though we were only snorkeling. We went walking in Black River Gorges National Park. Please be aware that signposting is very poor!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for our honeymoon and we couldn't have picked a better place.
The hotel is really pretty, quiet and relaxed and the personnel was always very professionel, discreet and friendly.
We had a beachfront room with a huge terrace, a bathtub, a shower inside and a shower outside. The design of the rooms is really beautiful, too.
Every evening the pool area turned into a candlelight dinner-location with a really nice atmosphere. There was also a changing live music program every night with great musicians.
The food is excellent and you can help yourself to tea and coffe for free all day.
What I also liked was that you could take a canoe or snorkeling equipment or bikes for free. Also, the hotel has a taxi that you can book.
And the nicest surprise was that every evening after dinner, we found some candys on our pillows and an amazing folded towel figure on the bed (thanks, Faizal!)
So, I can really recommend the hotel, especially for people who seek a quiet (children under 12 are not allowed in the hotel), relaxing holiday in a nice atmosphere. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwanBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Although the location of this hotel is on the windy side of Grand Baie it is beautiful. The rooms are excellent, the service immaculate albeit at African pace not European! Food is plentiful, well cooked and allows you time to enjoy and savour the atmosphere.
Go large and enjoy a meal on the Lady Lisbeth - we had a lovely meal inc. canapés on the bow with cocktails, prawns and seared tuna for starters, lobster and snapper for main, chocolate sweet and finished off with coffee in the stern as we cruised around the bay on a starlit night......romantic or what! Dennis was our host......he was lovely and my wife wanted to take him home!

We did not manage the day trip to the island for a lunch but all reports were good so it maybe worth indulging that treat as well!

We went in April so the weather was a little hit and miss with daytime rain at times but nevertheless we really enjoyed the stay and options available. If you go say
"Hello" to Dennis from us!

One slight disappointment was the snorkelling trips run each day to the Coral; the locations were great but our boatman was decidedly non-communicative ........unlike everyone else who were really friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Jacuzzi if you can, you will get a lounge area as well and it is nice to have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just returned from 20 Dgrees South in Mauritius. This hotel is intimate and friendly the staff are wonderful and the food is exceptional.We had a charm room that was small but functional, however the electricity issues need to be adressed.
The daily snorkelling trips were great and the trip to Flat island on the hotel catamaran was amazing. The food and qurikiness of eating in the ruins of the old governors house was delightful.
The dinner rtip on the Lady Lisbeth is a stunning experience the food sublime.
I would happliy retuen to thsi hotel to feed the fantastic brid life and to chill in this little haven in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianG322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My girlfriend and I had a lovely stay at 20 Degrees Sud in April of this year. The staff were great and very attentive, the food was delicious (varied and expertly created), the rooms delightful (we were in a Charm room and were very pleased), the snorkeling trip was great fun too. It's a nice, secluded spot in this bustling part of Mauritius.

If you're after a treat, definitely come here. The cocktails and music from 7pm were particularly appreciated.

The only problem we encountered was the head of the dive school - he was extremely unhelpful and very peculiar. We had both planned to do quite a few dives with the hotel, but were so put off by the attitude and the rather unsettling nature of the man that we took our business elsewhere (there are lots of excellent dive schools in the area who will pick you up from the hotel at no charge).

So definitely stay there, just avoid the director of the dive school (you can spot him by his strange haircut).

And make sure you have their steak tartare!

Room Tip: We were extremely happy in our Charm room number 32 - it is quite secluded and has two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rcmstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I and live in Mauritius and recently had planned a weekend away from our children. We wanted to go somewhere nice with a real 5 star boutique feel, but close to where we live in case of emergencies, we are well travelled and appreciate high standards, so 20 degrees sud seemed like a perfect fit... so we thought.

My wife went to the hotel several days before the date we wanted to check in, to make sure that we could check in to a particular room on the first floor overlooking the bay. The check in staff confirmed its availability but said if we wanted it, we had to pay a deposit in advance, which of course we did.

Upon arrival we were greeted nicely, but then as the check in process went on, a lady who was apparently the manager dismissed the person checking us in and told us that the room we had booked and paid for, had been given to a regular customer who had asked for it after we had already booked and paid, and she then went on to explain to us how she couldn't say no to a regular customer, because... they were a regular customer and they have priority over new customers apparently…

Have you ever heard of such a thing?

To say it was absolutely appalling and unprofessional is an understatement, and I would expect anyone who is accustomed to 5 star service would feel the same.

In the end mid conversation the 'manager' walked away, I can only assume because she didn't want to deal with the situation and pointed us to the check in counter again to take it up there, to be frank it was an absolute joke. The man at the check in counter was polite and apologised to us, but of course there was nothing he could do.

In any event we left, but we did ask for the name of the manager, and it turns out that the manager was in fact the owner's wife, so make of that what you will.

So to end our story, we went to another hotel which I can give an brilliant review to, who gave a true 5 star experience from beginning to end.

Whilst we do understand that 20 degrees sud is probably a fantastic hotel if you don't have the experience we had, the fact that we were treated like this left a disgusting and classless taste, very poor show.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank 981an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel-Bourgeois, Propriétaire at 20 Degres Sud Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your advise. We perfectly understand your frustration and we do apology for the inconveniences caused. But you have to know that it was impossible for us to give you the room that you wanted, because this room was already booked by another (repeater) guest ! Facing that double booking mistake, we had no other choice then to allocate the room to the guest who booked the room first. Everybody would have taken that decision, because it was simply justice. We hope to meet you again to have the chance to repair that mistake, which we would do with pleasure. Best regards. Michel Bourgeois, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.1 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
4.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
2.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 Degres Sud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 Degres Sud Hotel

Property: 20 Degres Sud Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Pointe Malartic, Grand Baie, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — 20 Degres Sud Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20°SUD Relais & Chateaux is the first Boutique-hotel on the island to offer both the luxury and excellence of a property within the dimensions of an attractive, privately run hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your 20 Degres Sud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
20 Degres Sud Grand Baie
20 Degres Sud Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing