We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Guests” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Grand Baie
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wedding Guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We didn't actually stay at this hotel, however as we stayed at their sister hotel we able to use their facilities. It is close to Grand Baie itself and is just a short 5 min walk from the shops.

We attended the wedding of close friends and it was an amazing day. The staff did an amazing job of setting up and decorating the beach 'venue' and they brought food out to us on the beach. They provided an 'aisle' for the bride to walk down and ensured the table was decorated with all the 'frou frou' that the happy couple brought with them.

This is the third wedding I've attended abroad and was by far the best one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyNameHasGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    685
    208
    47
    31
See reviews for
774
1,194
68
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visited this hotel in the winter (June) and enjoyed it for almost two weeks. The staff is friendly from the moment you exit the taxi on arrival until you enter it again on departure. The hotel is located 1 hour from the airport. On the hotel you can do waterskiing, glass-boat tour and snorkeling for free. They do also offer diving at the hotel. The breakfast was good with a good selection of food. I would however not recommend "all-inclusive" as the lunch and dinner is buffêt and you will get bored of it quickly. It´s also very expensive to dine here. 1100RS per person. There are a lot of good places to east near the hotel. Where you can eat good food for 300-400RS per person. The hotel bar is expensive (almost 500RS for a mojito). There are free WIFI at the public areas, but the internet sucks. When you finally get in, it let´s you stay for about 5 minutes and then it disappears. But all together, I do really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The highest floors (rooms 300-499) got the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlend H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

we were at this hotel 15 years ago, and then it was a fantastic place with good food. Now we stayed here again for 17 days, what a change it was, the rooms are exactly the same as before, everything so old!!The room we had was a superior room , in an other hotel you have a better room standard. It is not a clean hotel ,all these days we did not see anyone cleaning and the room was also dirty.
The food was bad, every day about the same, and very poor in meat!!No potatoes or vegetables in the evening and the soup was the same every day. Also some of the staff and also the director were unfriendly, the staff were very keen to receive money from the guests.Mostly all the guests come from Africa and France, all the other Europeens dont go there anymore. I can understand that because also for us it was the last time!Mauritius is a very expensive country for us, we better can go elsewhere, not so far and cheaper for better!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed there with my friends. The hotel is more a place of relaxation than having out fun with your friends. The location is good, since centrally located - in Grand bay and night life in Grand Bay is good.

Food was okay. Service was ok too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Wedding:
We chose this hotel with beachcomber for the excellent wedding packages and we were not disappointed. The hotel couldn't do enough to make it a very special day and there are several locations to choice on the hotel grounds for the back drop for the wedding.
All the extras flowers, cake Etc were beautiful and we had the most amazing wedding.
Would highly recommend Backlight photography (can be found on Facebook) what an excellent photographer and so accommodating! Best wedding photos ever!

Holiday:
We love the location of the hotel we are not into secluded places as we like to get out and see the local culture this hotel was perfectly situated in the local town to do that.
The food at the hotel was superb and so was the staff and service.
Beach was ok nice sand and clear water but not any sealife for snorkelling but the hotel has a free boat to take you out to the reef.
The only downside was the rooms they were clean and had everything you needed but I just expected something a bit more fancy for the star rating of the hotel.
Overall would definitely recommend

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellymebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Letter to the hotel:
We recently stayed at La Mauricia (19th May to 26th May). It was the most pleasurable stay that we have had with all our travels. I specifically would like to thank your staff for their attention to our son (10 months old) needs and not only that but their interest in him and playfulness with him.

We found the staff at the restaurant and bar to be exceptionally professional but also very friendly and it was clear that they enjoy their work immensely.

The facilities were all fantastic, with the maintenance of the grounds to be outstanding, the swimming pool and beach area’s to be very tidy and a level of cleanliness that I am sure takes many people to ensure.

Reception was always exceptionally helpful and the large aquarium was a daily attraction for our son and us. Well looked after.

I wish I had written down the names of everyone that really made our family holiday so special, I can only remember “Nikki” from Baywatch and a “manager” at the restaurant who I would like to single out, but can’t remember his name.

Please be sure that if we visit Mauritius again we will definitely stay at La Mauricia again.

Room Tip: Rooms near the restaurant are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arrived at hotel,to be greeted with cool lavender towels,and a beautiful cool drink,rooms have everything you need,with balconies overlooking the Indian Ocean,it was lovely yo go to sleep or wake up to the sea lapping onto the beach,we were on all inclusive,and the food was fabulous,something for everyone.
We had our daughters wedding there,and it was truly an amazing day,every member of staff pulled out all the stops to ensure the wedding went without a hitch,one of the best features of this hotel is their staff,always polite, courteous,and with a smile on there faces,they are the stars of this hotel.
If you are lucky to go here,you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
1.8 mi away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#2 of 6 in Pointe aux Canonniers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa

Property: Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Address: Royal Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30510 (Formerly Beachcomber Le Mauricia Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#6 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star resort in the heart of Grand Baie Located on the sun-drenched northern coast of Mauritius, Le Mauricia, a four-star Beachcomber hotel, is cosmopolitan and relaxed, simple yet cosy. Comfort and simplicity take centre stage. The hotel's architecture evokes the traditional Mediterranean style. All has been done to provide sweeping views of the bay from the public areas. The resort is within walking distance of the lively village of Grand Baie, one of Mauritius' main tourists' hubs, providing guests with a choice of restaurants, bars, discotheques and boutiques during their holiday in Mauritius. Le Mauricia also features a lovely wellness centre. Evoking a serene oasis, it has cabins designed to resemble nomadic tents, cleverly designed around a shaded pool. A range of land and water sports is on hand. Known as one of the most popular family resorts in Mauritius, Le Mauricia also provides an optional package called the "Beachcomber All-Inclusive Package" to allow families to relax in total peace of mind during their stay in Mauritius. Guests also have full access to the facilities of sister hotel Le Canonnier, another Beachcomber hotel located close to Le Mauricia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mauricia Grand Baie
Hotel Le Mauricia
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa Mauritius/Grand Baie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing