We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We were lucky enough to visit this hotel for the second time in October this year! We cannot praise the hotel staff enough for making our stay a delight from the moment we arrived until we left. We arrived after a long flight to be met by Ailsa - with a warm smile and cold drink. We were shown to our room which was ready, despite our very early morning arrival, and decorated with flower petals. The view from our balcony over the ocean was spectacular - we enjoyed many early evenings watching the sunset! Stunning!

The hotel is set in the most beautiful grounds with so many amazing plants and flowers - a credit to all the ground staff who work so hard.

The restaurants are lovely. We ate at Abalone several times and could not praise the food and staff highly enough. We have read that service was slow - we did not find this. Service was efficient and very professional. Thank you Ricardo and your staff for several lovely evenings!

But our favourite restaurant was The Beach. Where do we start! The food is just delicious and the setting is magical. Ramsamy, Rebecca and the lovely Stevie could not have done more to make every evening there a joy! However, Jean Phillippe is a true gentleman. He has a way of making every guest feel relaxed and The Beach would not be the same without him. Thank you Jean Phillippe for making our holiday so very special.

We had planned for a very relaxing holiday and made good use of the sunbeds on offer - particularly sunbeds 1 & 2. We were looked after with a constant supply of cold drinks and fresh towels from all the staff who worked on the beach. Particular thanks to Kumar. But the beach would not the same without Reedo (and the hat!) who was always there with a smile and an amusing story. Thank you Reedo for everything!

The entertainment provided in the evenings was mixed but the real joy was the relaxed atmosphere in the bar area. This is due to the hard work from all the staff here. Georgia was a star and one of the nicest people you could ever meet, Vijay was always there with a smile. There are too many staff to mention but thank you to all of you .

Our final thanks are to Sandren who runs the most fantastic bar with his amusing stories, winning smile and he pours a very good cocktail!

Would we return for a third holiday here - already booked and we can't wait!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 4,468 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We have just returned from an amazing stay. We went all inclusive with a small group of friends.
The welcome was wonderful and the rooms large, spacious and clean. Fresh flowers and stunning sea views helped give the impression of luxury.
We all loved this hotel, as the activities offered meant that there was something for everyone and plenty of quiet places to sit and just read if you are lazy like me!
Staff were so friendly and helpful and the food varied enough to keep us happy. We loved the ice-creams in the afternoon.
The sea is calm and inviting and I have to say we miss the sun greatly. We will be back.

Room Tip: Some rooms need a little attention but don't let this put you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Porcha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had the brilliant idea of celebrating our wedding anniversary at Lux Grand Gaube. We just had a fantastic and unforgettable week end there! One of the most convivial hotel I ever visited. The staff are great and always welcoming with a smile. We will certainly come back and highly recommend this outstanding hotel for those who are looking for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marisson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I have been there this November for our 17th wedding anniversary. Greetings and Service were surely a class above. We have been amazingly pampered like VIPs. The staff were naturally attentive and always replying with a smile. The full inclusive package is absolutely wonderful! We also enjoyed the treasure quest (message in a bottle) nice gift offered. A special thanks to David, Natasha, Annabelle, Hemkesh and Georgia.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dodin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Firstly, this is a practical place to visit from the UK because although it is far, the time difference is only 3 hours. The hotel is in an excellent location on the warmer/brighter north-east side of the island about 40 minutes from the airport. As all of the other reviews say, the staff are extremely friendly and seem genuinely happy to talk and assist you. Thank you especially to Reedo who went the extra mile to make our time there extra special, but the rest of the team could not be faulted. The Beach was by far the best restaurant for lunch and dinner, although the Island Kitchen was a close second for lunch. The Buffet was no where near as good, but still adequate. The facilities, including the gym, spa and sauna/steam room were excellent. I recommend taking as many boat trips as possible (organised by Reedo) as the coast is nothing like I've ever seen - the reef creates a massive lagoon that is very shallow at low tide. We stayed in the deluxe rooms which were excellent and definitely worth the extra cost. All inclusive package is a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I visited this wonderful hotel in October to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. What a superb choice it was.

Many hours looking at hotels around the world took place before we choose the Lux and we certainly made the right decision for this occasion. (Trip Advisor Reviews proved very helpful)

It is very hard to gauge what one person thinks is excellent to another persons expectations are of excellent , but having travelled quite extensively, as an all round experience we could not fault it.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful beyond comparison to any other hotel we have visited. Without going into details (I do not wish the hotel to have other guests trying to get freebies' after reading this review) after just mentioning one day that we felt something was probably 'not quite what we were expecting' they rectified the situation way beyond anything we would have even asked for, and we asked for nothing. This is where the hotel truly stands out with customer service

We would like to thank every member of staff from the gardeners to the hotel Manager for making us, and I hope all other visitors so very welcome. Everyone smiles and greets you when you pass by.

There are so many excellent reviews for this hotel and we could easily reiterate all the positive comments but that would make for an incredibly long review.

If you want a relaxing holiday, with good food, beautiful beach and water sport facilities, the opportunity to go out an explore an incredibly interesting island. BOOK NOW

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My hubs and I spent our first anniversary at LGG in Sept 2013 and had a room overlooking the lagoon which was an upgrade when we got there. room was fine, well maintained over the holiday and despite some confusion over room service charges, no other problems.
first impression of beach was PERFECT but could see limited no's of sunloungers and quickly noticed German (yes it was you Germans as we talked to you about it!) habit of booking individual loungers with towels and books from about 5am. this would have been a major issue for us but then we met Reedhoo, the best beach manager ever (and really deserves pay rise no matter what he earns) and his team who made sure from day 2 we got the beds we wanted and were looked after in every way. I have to highly recommend the beach vendors who are licensed and while can be a bit expensive compared to buying outside the hotel, were all the stars of our holiday - the loveliest people working very hard with good produce to sell and no hard sell. bought boat trips from Reedoo (highly recommend Gino's sunset cruise) and Big John (highly recommend round-island tour and swimming with dolphins in the ocean). Big thanks and love to Kumar, Don, Chris and all others from the beach, and Ranjeev from the Italian - your hospitality and lunchtime gazpacho was the best and thank you for our last meal in particular. miss you all guys, and will be back again one day. Jane and Emil x PS late September excellent for weather just hitting 30 and not too busy in resort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,084 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,404 reviews
2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
7.7 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range: £143 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing