We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
LUX* Grand Gaube
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zilwa Attitude(Calodyne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Calodyne Hotel(Calodyne)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,576)
Filter reviews
4,576 results
Traveller rating
3,780
604
129
46
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,780
604
129
46
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabalonemain beachbeach restaurantour honeymoona la carte restaurantsjean phillipeoutdoor cinemamessage in a bottlecoffee barbanyan restaurantjunior suiteall inclusive packagethe banyan treewater sportsbanyan poolherb gardenisland kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,131 - 2,136 of 4,576 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our experience in Lux Grand Gaube was out of the world and fantastic. Every thing about the resort and specifically the beach was great. The rooms,food and most of all the staff make your stay at LUX a great memory.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ansil Pappachan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Ansil,
Thank you very much for your very nice review, we are all absolutely delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Luc Grand Gaube.
Helping people celebrate life is our purpose, and I am glad you gave us this opportunity.
It would be a great privilege to welcome you again at LUX Grand Gaube, and once again, thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were In Lux* Grand Gaube in July 2013 for a week and it was the Best 5 star hotel experience till now. Very good properly, very friendly staff, Good food - Continental and also Indian, Great Facilities with Spa and complimentary water sports activities.

Only is one could point out something that It is a bit far away from the airport and Port Luis. But hotel cabs are readily available and you can negotiate the rates with them. The surrounding village is very quiet and not much night life, but the resort itself has lots of activities and evening programs to keep you busy n entertained.

Must mention again Food is awesome here specially breakfast and the desserts. Yes and the Mauritanian People, and the Coffee.

Over all Awesome experience. 9.8 out of 10. A must visit Resort in Mauritius.

Room Tip: Superior rooms also have a good Ocean view from the Back yard. so you could save a few bucks on that!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mangeshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Mageshb,
Thank you very much for your very kind review which outlines some aspect of your experience at Lux Grand Gaube. I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
Your comment on the food is very nice, and it will be my great pleasure to share it with Olivier our chef and his passionate team. Same for the coffee made by our Barrista Satish. Good coffee, exceptional knowledge and genuine passion are all ingredients needed to achieve this result.
It would be a great privilege to welcome you again at LUX Grand Gaube, and once again, thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everything was perfect: location, hotel, rooms, staff, service, entertainment, beach, pools and food. I would highly recommend to visit this paradise island for everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mantas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Mantas J,
Thank you very much for your passionate review !
We are all so pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at LUX Grand Gaube, your satisfaction is our greatest reward.
Thank you very much for recommending us, and we hope to have soon the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

(+) Very friendly staff, good condition in rooms, not crawded beach, a lot of entertaiment, delicious dinners in the MEDITERANIAN RESTAURANT , ....
(-) Too expensive wine in restaurants, a little poor breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jacek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Jacek,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am delighted to learn that you have really enjoyed your stay with us, and and thank you very very much for highlighting the service received by the people of the hotel.
We really appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience to our future guests. I have taken your recommendation with our chef.
We look forward to have another opportunity to welcome you in our fantastic Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The best thing about Grand Gaube is the atmosphere. You just feel well there with the gardens and space. We were informed that the hotel was fully booked - you could not noticed that at all. There was enough number of sunbeds. The main restaurant wasn't too busy as well.
Room smelled a bit musty, some mold around washbasin, but spacy and generaly ok.
Interent was good enough to pull down emails - there were some problems with video on skype.
Allinlcusive- I do recommend that option. I do not drink liquors but regarding prices there (lunch, water, etc.) it was worth it for sure. And you have number of sport activities included as well.
Now the drawbacks:
- I was disappointed by the fact that the sea has marshy bottom - you would expect turquoise sea, so...
- Taxi tricks - we ordered a taxi for a day trip at the reception, but they changed the price when it arrived - so we had to choose - pay more or give up. Also the driver instead of taking us directly to the place we wanted to go (Port Luise) took us to some shop 11km away from the city (probably his family business). Later also had problems: he was paid to wait for us in Port Luise, but he disappeared and was 1h late for return ride. I had to call him several times to make him take us back from Port Luise to the hotel. As reception ordered this chap, I complained about all these problems to hotel manager. He was very kind but did nothing. Couple days later we booked a taxi with GrandGaube once again and what a unpleasent surprice - the same chap came. He must have been hotel manager cousin or else...
I mention that because there is nothing interesting outside the hotel, so you may like to take some trips to some Mauritius attractions (Port Luise - waste of time)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Michal 32
Thank you very much for having take of your time to share your experience.
We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your experience at the resort. Thank you very much for having highlighted some aspects such as the ambiance and the all inclusive option.
I have well noted the others points which did not met your expectation, and I apologise for those. Rest assured that those have been taken into consideration with all the people having the proper influence to correct those.
I am however very concerned by the situation you have been through with the taxi called by the hotel. I have already taken the matter with the National Transport Authority, as such behaviour definitely contributes to tarnish the reputation of our island. Please accept my sincerest apologise for this situation.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in Mauritius.
Sincerely Yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews