We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAGA TRIP”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SAGA TRIP”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved this hotel, the lovely warm and friendly welcome, had a room overlooking the beach, its was my birthday when I arrived, I got a card a present and a special treat for dinner complete with a candle it made my day. The food was just terrific and loved the ice cream van and the little secluded areas. If I ever return to Mauritius would make a beeline to this hotel, it was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Karen,
It has been a great pleasure for all of us to read your review, thank you very much for making this moment matter!
Your satisfaction is our greatest reward, I am so delighted to learn that our passionate team has made the difference.
Thank you again for appreciating our service and features, I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,625
    590
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
785
3,021
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The new terminal and Club Lounge in Mauritius are excellent. Very efficient Passport Control and check in. The Lounge is comfortable with a good choice of food and beverage.

We do not usually return to the same hotel more than once as we like to explore new places. However this was our fifth visit to Lux Grand Gaube, formally Legends. Our previous visits have all been fantastic but this last visit was outstanding - we could not have been looked after better. We believe that this is due not only to such wonderful front line staff but also to the fact that the senior management were very visible during our stay.

The check-in process at the hotel was very welcoming and we were greeted like returning friends. The Junior Suite we were allocated was extremely nice with a wonderful view. We had a water leak from behind the toilet which was rectified within the hour. The room was always clean and tidy with a fresh display of floral decoration on the bed most days.

I will try to be brief with regards to the restaurants, but it is difficult when all the venues have their own particular nuances. The Kitchen’s themed buffets have really improved in the last twelve months. Diren and his team are as superb as ever. We also enjoyed the Indian food available at the Karma House on several nights during our stay. Pre-dinner drinks were always a pleasure at the bar as the staff always seemed to know what we wanted before we had even asked for it! Brilliant.

The Beach has always been our favourite venue for a la carte dining and still remains so. Jean Philippe and Giovanni have a very professional team. It was good to see the Banyan open again as this is a wonderful place to eat for lunch. Mark does a marvellous job of running the Banyan and is very ably assisted by all the other staff. We tended to locate ourselves in the day at the Banyan pool/beach area. It is nice to have the Banyan pool area as adults only especially in the afternoon when a siesta is in order. We were always very well looked after by Veer and the other beach staff
.
The ice cream is delicious! The varieties were endless. It was also very interesting to see the laboratory where it is produced - many thanks for the guided tour.

We would highly recommend the All Inclusive package option.

Many thanks to Brice, Olivier, Desiree, David and all the other great staff at the hotel for looking after us so well. Hope to see you all very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good But it is worth upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KenandJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear KenandJoanna,
Thank you so much for once again sharing your experience, and moreover for being such loyal and incredible guests!
Each of your stay with us is an occasion for celebration.
Thank you to mention the uniqueness of the team, I am indeed truly honoured to work with such beautiful individuals. I can only agree with you on all the people you have recommended, Diren, Jean-Philippe, Giovanni, Marc, Veer, Olivier Desire and David. They all can’t thank you enough for your kindness.
A huge thank you for having also commented on the food, It will be my great pleasure to congratulate Olivier, such a passionated young and humble chef.
Obviously, your Mauritian experience has again reached your expectation, and for us, it is the greatest reward.
All the team is thanking you for having shared those precious moments, and we are all looking forward to welcome you back at Lux Grand Gaube.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely, friendly, welcoming hotel. All the staff are exceptional, the rooms are comfortable and large and grounds fabulous and the beach great. Both the a la carte restaurants are excellent and actually, its a shame they don't have more of them. The buffet restaurant is very good though and has a different theme every night but more importantly, we know from experience that if there really isn't anything at the buffet that you like, the head chef will create something for you to your liking.

A few people will put their towels down at their favourite bed & umbrella by 08:30 but even by 10:30 there are a few available so it was never a problem finding a pitch. We were amazed at the amount of free water sports there was at this hotel - you can even try your hand at water skiing ! There is also a glass bottom boat that will take you to the reef twice a day.

The hotel is in quite a private area and if you just want to chill out and relax for a week or two, this hotel is absolutely perfect and you will have a wonderful time.

Truly wonderful holiday.. Super hotel, lovely food, beautiful location but most of all the staff are the real stars of this resort.. Never felt so welcome



Visited May room 1111

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Redimp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Redimp11,
Thank you very much for having shared your experience at the Resort through your very nice review.
I am glad you have enjoyed your time in Mauritius and particularly the service provided by our passionate team, your appreciation of the team is fantastic, the greatest reward we can expect.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our resort. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we very much hope that you continue to appreciate the Lux* Grand Gaube in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What can I say? We've been around a bit and stayed in some lovely places and some good hotels but this place is definitely the best. A beautiful location, a well laid out hotel, great food and fabulous service from friendly motivated staff made this one a real winner for us.

Location

Grand Gaube is right at the north so gets the better weather. The hotel's location surrounding 3 lagoons means most of it is well sheltered from the persistent easterly wind. The hotel covers a large area and despite being virtually full, never felt busy. We certainly never had any problem getting a sun bed where we wanted even as late as midday. The man-made beaches are beautifully clean and the sea is like a millpond. The reef far out to sea makes sure the currents are gentle and the swell virtually unnoticeable. You can walk out quite a way and still be well within your depth. The adults only area was blissfully peaceful and was our favourite spot when we were around the hotel. Sun beds on the beach and around the pool were always available.

Room

We had a junior suite which was very comfortable. Large comfy bed, plenty of space and a huge bathroom with Jacuzzi combined to make it all feel very relaxed and luxurious. Nightly soap service (have the soap of your choice made into an exfoliating pouch for the shower) and the fragrant pillow service really did make us feel pampered. The large room meant that our balcony was massive. A covered area with settee, 2 chairs and a table was complimented by an equally large open area with 2 sun beds backed by bifold doors opening onto the spa bath in the bathroom. Lounging in the bath with the doors open at sunset - glorious!

Food

The main area (The Kitchen) offered a very wide variety of food with most nights having a theme of some kind. Excellent choice of delicious food means you have to watch the pounds. Breakfast was particularly pleasant with a huge range of the usual stuff augmented by curries and rice and all serenaded by some very tasteful live acoustic guitar music. If you are into curries there is a "curry house" attached to the main restaurant which serves a selection of excellent curries every night.

The 3 other restaurants are all excellent. All 3 are available for lunch but only the Abalone (seafood) and the Beach (Mediterranean) offer the evening a la carte service, The red snapper at the Abalone was melt in the mouth gorgeous. The Island Kitchen in the Adults only area is really cool. Sophisticated outside dining is a great way to relax and the chicken noodles are to die for!

Enjoy the delicious ice cream from the stretch mini but beware the pineapple. It has a hidden kick!

Service

Simply outstanding in all respects. What a delightfully friendly team they all are. Everyone from the manger down to the guy who sweeps up the leaves is committed to making your holiday the best it can be. Somehow they managed to make the service attentive without being intrusive. At times it could be slow in the bar but when it was busy and most people were ordering cocktails, it was hardly surprising and criticising it seems churlish. I have to say that this was the first time I've been asked on the beach if I want my sunglasses cleaning!

A first for us was the free phone home service. Any landline number anywhere in the world. Excellent! (the included wifi was pretty good too)

All Inclusive?

Definitely yes. Most things are included but special beers or branded shorts are obviously extra. Some special meals in Abalone (eg lobster) incur a surcharge. We had a great time without stepping outside the all inclusive menus. If you are not all inclusive lunches are expensive £35 - £50 for 2. Drinks are pricey (£5 for a beer, £8-£10 for a cocktail) so it makes economic sense to go for the full package. It also takes away any stress - just sign the chit and enjoy! Eating outside the hotel did not look very inviting (although I'm sure it's inexpensive) because Grand Gaube is not a wealthy town.

Trips

We did 2 full day trips to the usual tourist hot spots. They are worth it. We also hired a car for 2 days at a very reasonable rate and did some touring of our own including walking with lions at Casela (fabulous). The roads can be very busy with overtaking on blind corners a thrill ride that most Mauritian drivers seem to relish. There are dog packs everywhere so beware, they have little or no traffic sense. Driving in the dark is certainly "interesting"!

In Summary

An excellent hotel offering delicious food and outstanding service in a beautiful, peaceful location. Is that a recipe for a good holiday or what!

Room Tip: Junior suites are excellent value, have a high postion and the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank N-gaugeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Dave,
Greetings from LUX grand Gaube.
I wish to thank you for having posted such a nice review on your experience. We are all delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, your satisfaction is our greatest reward.
It is very kind of you to have outlined the genuine friendliness of the team, they are all driven by their passion in making each moment matter.
It would be a great privilege to welcome you again at LUX Grand Gaube, and once again, thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Gaube
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Overall it was very nice and enjoyed a lot. only concern is travel to other places is too far from this place, other then this is very good place to stay, so clean and neat. Play area was good especially tennis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Saravanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Saravanan S,
Thank you very much for your comment on trip Advisor.
I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you in a very near future.
Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We returned home today after a 7 night stay for my 50th birthday. I read all the reviews and looked at all the pics and decided on the LUX Grande Gaube and we didn't regret it!!!
You have to go to experience it... We never go back to the same place twice ...but we would not hesitate to stay here again...
Thank you to everyone at the LUX for making our holiday one to remember ...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Buky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Greeting from sunny Mauritius,
Thank you for having take of your time to share your perception on your experience at Lux Grand Gaube. It has been a real pleasure to look after you, and I am glad that the team managed to make the difference for this very special anniversary.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing all those perceptions with us, your kindness is for all of us a great reward.
It has been a pleasure to welcome you for those holidays, and I sincerely hope that we will have this great opportunity again in the future.
Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

we stayed in this hotel in the first week of june'14... wonderful stay i must say.... beautiful property.. they have a lot of activity for kids..so my daughter enjoyed a lot there...even i liked the night sky watching through telescope ... watching corals fishes from glass bottom boat was another thing which i liked, was arranged by the hotel itself. Overall my experience is very nice. and I must say all the staffs were very good, always ready to serve.... mauritius n Lux both rocks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Srabani041104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Greeting from sunny Mauritius,
Thank you for having take of your time to share your perception on your experience at Lux Grand Gaube. It has been a real pleasure to look after you, and I am glad that the team managed to make the difference for this very special family trip, thank you for having recommended them.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing all those perceptions with us, your kindness is for all of us a great reward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing