We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second stay at this hotel and again we wern't disappointed. All the staff are friendly and are keen to help. Check~in was simple and hassle free. The grounds were very well kept. The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy.We stayed in the adault only area so we had a very quiet stay though it's a quiet hotel anyway. The food in the Beech restaurant was lovely and beautifully presented. The food in the main restaurant was buffet style. The Bar somewhere between the two. There are other restaurants there but we didn't try them. The Bar had evening entertainment which was a touch loud for making conversation and a bit similar. If you treat the staff a bit of respect you'll find them extra accommodating. We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Chris H,
Thank you for your short but very powerful review. I am delighted to note that you had a relaxed vacation with us. Such valuable comment from our guests fuels our motivation and commitment and just drives us forward.
We have taken good note of your feedback in regards to the level of music at the bar, our entertainment team has indeed reviewed this with the performers in the evening.
Once again, thank you for your kind words and looking forward to welcome you for the third time for yet another relaxed break,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,563
    582
    125
    46
    16
See reviews for
773
2,971
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

After a long flight and transfer we were welcomed with a cold towel, fresh coffee and a selection of snacks. After a short while we were taken straight to our room. We were told that the Thomson welcome meeting would be at 11:30 the same morning, I think that everyone just wanted to rest after such a long journey so maybe the timing of this should be rethought!

The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are clean and spacious with a wonderful view of the ocean. The bathroom is a little open but it was not a massive issue for us.

The restaurants were all good but The Beach was by far our favourite. The lunch and dinner menu had a good variety, from steak to fresh fish, pasta and pizza. Abalone (the one that is actually on the beach!) was ok but the menu did not have as much food that was to our taste. The buffet was good, however the one night that we didn't like much on offer, the waiter offered to have something cooked especially for us - I thought that this was excellent service as that night we were just going to go back and have room service. The Banyan restaurant was nice with a good selection of local dishes, there was sometimes a bit of a wait for a table but it was worth it!
The ice cream from the stretch mini was out of this world! So many different flavours to choose from every day and loads of different toppings - this was one of the highlights of the holiday!

The selection of drinks was great, premium brands were on offer but there were some at a supplement. The wine was lovely, something that we do not usually drink on holiday as it is usually quite poor. The cocktails were also lovely, the list of mojitos especially!

The water sport facilities were great, loads of free activities - waterskiing, kayaks, paddle boarding, glass bottom boat and sailing were all included. I also went up on a sea plane, and although this cost extra it was well worth it.
The tennis courts were good, you could just pick out a racket at anytime - but you need need to buy a new set of balls which we didn't see as an issue.

The beach is not the best beach we have been to, it is man made and due to the lagoon there are no waves so it is almost like sitting next to a lake. It is clean and there are plenty of sun beds all day even though the hotel was full. The only thing that I would change is that when people left their beds for the day they would leave their used towels on the bed so they still looked reserved. Maybe if there was a used towel box for people to leave their towels in, some of the beds in the prime positions could be used by other guests in the afternoon. We mainly chose to cool off in the pool, which was cold but after sitting in the sun for a few hours was really refreshing.

I have left the best until last! The staff at this hotel are some of the best that we have ever had on holiday. They made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Pillay and Selven at the main bar always greeted us with a smile, would stop and have a chat if they had time and always made sure we had a drink on the go. Ramsamy at the beach always gave us amazing service. Making sure that we had exactly what we wanted, even when it wasn't on the menu. He made our birthdays special and we always seemed to have a table by the edge of the water! Persand at Ableone bought us an extra chocolate fondant pudding when I jokingly said it was so good I could have eaten two! Reedoo on the beach always had time for a chat, made sure that our beds were tucked in and that our sunglasses were clean. He decorated the beach around our sunbeds on our birthdays and helped to organise a few surprises too! There were so many other staff that made our stay so special but I can't remember everyone's name! The staff really are a credit to this hotel and would make us return, which is something that we don't usually do.

On a side note we took a trip with Big John who walks up and down the beach booking tours. It was a good day out where we went fishing, snorkelling and stayed on an uninhibited island for a BBQ on the beach. It was good to see some different areas of Mauritius without having to travel too far.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank nicalver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear nicalver,
Thank you very much for your detailed review about Lux* Grand Gaube,
I have to admit that it was an absolute pleasure reading your review and Trip Advisor travelers would surely have a great insight to our property by reading your experience.
I am so happy to read that you had an amazing time with us. Along with the team at Lux* Grand Gaube, we try our best to help our guests celebrate life and reading that we did not fail in doing so for you is our greatest reward.
You would be happy to note that the timing for the briefing has been changed by Thompson and is now scheduled in the afternoon rather than late morning,
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to sample some more of these delicious ice creams that you liked so much,
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanya, Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is placed in north part of Mauritius. The location is nice with his own beach. the food is ok but not perfect. The staff of the hotel is very good especially the club car drivers are the top. The one who is studying mathematic and the one who is speaking italian many thanks to them specially. very good wifi,free water sports and free international calls are the posiive sides. Only the cleaning staff were not ok as they have not changed the bed sheets when we have asked they just turned over and hide the dirst!! that does not suits for a Lux Hotel standarts.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozertuncay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Ozertuncay,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience of Lux* Grand Gaube on this forum!
In the quest of always improving our services, your feedback have been taken with the highest consideration and thank you for having shared in further details your comments to Vishnu, our Housekeeping Manager over email,
I have also discussed your culinary feedback with our Chef and rest assure it will be worked upon as well,
Please receive my sincerest apology if those two mentioned points caused any inconveniences to you during your stay with us, and I hope they will not hinder a probable future at the Lux* Grand Gaube,
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are clean, spacious and the ocean view rooms are exotic.
There are 4 restaurants within the hotel and the food is amazing. I really enjoyed Mauritius and this hotel made it even better.
To sum it up " A perfect Honeymoon"

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kits007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Greetings from Mauritius,
Thank you very much for having shared your experience at the resort through your very nice review.
I am delighted to see that you had a really nice honeymoon at LUX Grand Gaube
I sincerely hope to have the great pleasure to welcome you in the future.
Sincerely Yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Yes this really is a wonderful hotel. The position, directly on the seashore, the pool. the room and the food were excellent. I really enjoyed Mauritius and this hotel made it as good as it could be.
The bar was great as it was always open for food. I would advise the all inclusive deals as this made for eating whenever suited me. Great value for this grade hotel.

Room Tip: all semmed good but the ground floor was super as easy to go in and out through the veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Susan,
Thank you very much for your beautiful comment.
The whole team is delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay at LUX Grand Gaube.
Look forward to have another opportunity to welcome you in Mauritius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We loved this hotel, the lovely warm and friendly welcome, had a room overlooking the beach, its was my birthday when I arrived, I got a card a present and a special treat for dinner complete with a candle it made my day. The food was just terrific and loved the ice cream van and the little secluded areas. If I ever return to Mauritius would make a beeline to this hotel, it was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Karen,
It has been a great pleasure for all of us to read your review, thank you very much for making this moment matter!
Your satisfaction is our greatest reward, I am so delighted to learn that our passionate team has made the difference.
Thank you again for appreciating our service and features, I hope we will have the occasion to welcome you again.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The new terminal and Club Lounge in Mauritius are excellent. Very efficient Passport Control and check in. The Lounge is comfortable with a good choice of food and beverage.

We do not usually return to the same hotel more than once as we like to explore new places. However this was our fifth visit to Lux Grand Gaube, formally Legends. Our previous visits have all been fantastic but this last visit was outstanding - we could not have been looked after better. We believe that this is due not only to such wonderful front line staff but also to the fact that the senior management were very visible during our stay.

The check-in process at the hotel was very welcoming and we were greeted like returning friends. The Junior Suite we were allocated was extremely nice with a wonderful view. We had a water leak from behind the toilet which was rectified within the hour. The room was always clean and tidy with a fresh display of floral decoration on the bed most days.

I will try to be brief with regards to the restaurants, but it is difficult when all the venues have their own particular nuances. The Kitchen’s themed buffets have really improved in the last twelve months. Diren and his team are as superb as ever. We also enjoyed the Indian food available at the Karma House on several nights during our stay. Pre-dinner drinks were always a pleasure at the bar as the staff always seemed to know what we wanted before we had even asked for it! Brilliant.

The Beach has always been our favourite venue for a la carte dining and still remains so. Jean Philippe and Giovanni have a very professional team. It was good to see the Banyan open again as this is a wonderful place to eat for lunch. Mark does a marvellous job of running the Banyan and is very ably assisted by all the other staff. We tended to locate ourselves in the day at the Banyan pool/beach area. It is nice to have the Banyan pool area as adults only especially in the afternoon when a siesta is in order. We were always very well looked after by Veer and the other beach staff
.
The ice cream is delicious! The varieties were endless. It was also very interesting to see the laboratory where it is produced - many thanks for the guided tour.

We would highly recommend the All Inclusive package option.

Many thanks to Brice, Olivier, Desiree, David and all the other great staff at the hotel for looking after us so well. Hope to see you all very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are good But it is worth upgrading
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KenandJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, General Manager at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear KenandJoanna,
Thank you so much for once again sharing your experience, and moreover for being such loyal and incredible guests!
Each of your stay with us is an occasion for celebration.
Thank you to mention the uniqueness of the team, I am indeed truly honoured to work with such beautiful individuals. I can only agree with you on all the people you have recommended, Diren, Jean-Philippe, Giovanni, Marc, Veer, Olivier Desire and David. They all can’t thank you enough for your kindness.
A huge thank you for having also commented on the food, It will be my great pleasure to congratulate Olivier, such a passionated young and humble chef.
Obviously, your Mauritian experience has again reached your expectation, and for us, it is the greatest reward.
All the team is thanking you for having shared those precious moments, and we are all looking forward to welcome you back at Lux Grand Gaube.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing