We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon in Paradise”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had booked into Tamassa, part of the Luxe group for our honeymoon. Since it was overbooked we got an upgrade to this paradise property. This, in my opinion could be the best place in Mauritius to get pampered and you have plenty to do at the resort itself. We stayed there for seven days and I must mention that every member, right from the time of welcome, the cafe shop, the employees at the restaurants, the boat house, the room cleaning staff were top notch. The people at the resort always went an extra mile to ensure that our requests were met with and helped us in planning and include additional trips to our itenary based on requests.

I would love to go back here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Ajay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Ajay I,

We loved your review – few words that said it all. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything you needed for a wonderful holiday.

Describing our hotel as paradise is the greatest reward that we could have hoped for and thank you for sharing same on this platform. I am sure other fellow travelers will get inspired by your review,

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,656
    593
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
793
3,044
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiderdorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We chose Lux Gran Gaube at Mauritius as our honeymoon destination. We had the time of our life. A wonderful island, a fantastic hotel in a very beautiful environment with lovely beach and very friendly service minded staff (thank you Ruby and Reedoo for your efforts to make this an unforgettable holiday!). We miss already the warm atmosphere of this hotel.

The hotel offers you everything you hope for. The whole resort is in feng shui style, Rooms are very nice and stylish furnished. Food is excellent and offers a lot of variety. There are several small restaurants at the resort. A lot of activities, services are included in the price (e.g. Kayak, Pedalo, Tennis, Petanque etc). The Spa experience is unbelievable, very professional. And we can go on and on. Indeed, a little paradise.

Tanja & Sander

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SanderLeslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Tanja & Sander,

Thank you for choosing LUX* Grand Gaube during your recent visit on the island!

I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us which you described as 'A Salutary Experience'.

I have conveyed your regards to both Reedoo- our star on the LUX* Grand Gaube beach and Ruby.

Thank you as well for complimenting our culinary team which is headed by Olivier, our Executive Chef. Their sole motivation comes through comments as yours,

I truly look forward to welcome you again to our resort,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Gaube
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked this hotel mainly for the sports activities in special sailing which I was interested. Wonderfull staff always smiling and ready to help making you feel a VIP. My only regret is that at this time of the year the sea water was cold ( that is my fault). Apart from that there is no complain about the hotel whatsoever......Try to book between october and december if you can....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Eduardo P,

We loved your review – few words that said it all. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything you needed for a wonderful holiday.

Rating your stay as a fantastic experience is the greatest reward that we could have hoped for and thank you for sharing same on this platform. I am sure other fellow travelers will get inspired by your review,

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at LUX* Grand Gaube, hopefully in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is just a perfect place to relax. The whole area of the resort is pretty extensive but at the same time very private. It offers a lot of activities which you can enjoy during your stay (e.g. golf, tennis, gym, water-ski, kayaking etc.). The staff makes you feel very special from the firt step into the LUX Grand Gaube. They really care about you and are very helpful in every matter. Serving lemonade, fruit, cucumber or wet towels while tanning was so amazing and caring! The food was excellent. From the wide variety of the breakfast, many options where to have lunch and also delicious dinner. Regarding rooms, they are very well-maintained, clean and spacious with their own balcony or terrace. No matter in which room are you staying you still see the sea or beautiful garden of the Hotel. I really recommend this Hotel, it is worth of your visit, excellent place to relax.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Martini K,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for highly recommending LUX* Grand Gaube!.

We take your comments at heart and your views are our barometer , in a bid to maintain and constantly revise our standards.

I am so glad to read that our team members put you at the center of their activities which ultimately made your stay even more enjoyable.

Our team members understood that we are in the business of helping people celebrate life and I am humbled to say that they work with much passion.

Thank you once again for choosing us and looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely, spotlessly clean and private resort with great all inclusive facilities and spa. The main appeal however, was the genuine warmth and attention to detail of the entire team of staff who bent over backwards to make us feel like we were the most important guests in the hotel. So many to mention but David the assistant front office manager, Satish in the coffee bar, Vijay in the bar, Vickram in the main restaurant and last but most definitely not least, Vickram in the driving range made us feel particularly special. I can't recall ever feeling as sad as I did to end a vacation or making as many friends as I did here. Our first visit to Mauritius but not out last.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lynn W,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comment on LUX* Grand Gaube!

I am so glad to read that our team members put you at the center of their activities which ultimately made your stay even more enjoyable.

Our team members understood that we are in the business of helping people celebrate life and I am humbled to say that they work with much passion.

People like Satish, David, Vijay and Vikram are some of the pillars that make LUX* Grand Gaube what it is and thank you for recognizing their services. Rest assure that I will convey your compliments to them personally.

I really hope to have the immense pleasure of welcoming you again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nice location, the staff is very friendly especial thanks to Michel at the reception who help us a lot, the Indian and Asian buffet was amassing at the "kitchen restaurant " thanks to kervin and vikram(hope I wrote the name correctly for vikram ) who makes us very comfortable during the dinner time, there was a huge selection for breakfast, the milk and fruit smoothie is delicious and not forgetting the Lux Cafe! Marc help me to choose the best one and it was wonderful,there were lots of watersport facilities and the boathouse team was very kind with us, we go for lunch at the "Beach Restaurant " it is an Italian restaurant ,you can admire the nice sea view while you are enjoying your meal as well you can also watch the chef preparing your food! Me and my familly wish to thank Ricardo for his great service and also the chef Giovani for the great and tasty food, A big thanks to all the team member who makes our stay memorable ,keep it up ,we will come back again :-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Vellee,

We are humbled by the title of your review,

I wish to thank you for your kinds words and for recognizing so many of our team members.

"People" is indeed one of our main pillars and I am delighted to read that they truely made the difference during your stay with us.

I look forward to welcome you back to LUX* Grand Gaube in a not too distant future,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Gaube
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a great place to visit and stay. very nice in just about every way and such great staff. a pretty good location to explore the island from, but it takes time to get down to the south and I suggest you avoid Port Louis if driving. There is so much to see and do or just relax in the resort facilities as they are great. its not as good for snorkelling as other places as its shallow, the reef is a long way off and the water can be a bit stirred up. that said its not bad. we would go back very happily no question.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear David L,

Thank you for posting a review on this platform,

We are so glad that you chose us to celebrate your 40th birthday and thank you for trusting us.

It is true that in period of low tides and with the water receding, it makes it slightly more inconvenient to snorkel, however our Boat House organizes two trips per day to the nearest scenic snorkeling spot which is around the Coin De Mire island and I hope you did make use of this complementary facility.

I wish to thank you for your highest ratings in all categories and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,566 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing