We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
Gauteng
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently stayed at Grand Gaube and the service was outstanding
I would like to thank Bryce and Michel for looking after us as well as Sylvan the bar manager
The hotel offered 3 restaurants plus water sports which my son used all the time especially skiing
The food was great in all restaurants
All the staff were very friendly

It was a stay we will never forget

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear dougmiller,

It has been a great pleasure for the team to be of service to you,

I am delighted to read that team members like Michel and Selven has put you at the center of their activities.

Your appreciation has given a sense of purpose to all those, whose duty were to look after you and I thank you for your excellent rating and high recommendations.

We are all looking forward to your next visit at LUX* Grand Gaube,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,659
    593
    126
    46
    16
See reviews for
793
3,047
50
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fife scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From the minute you arrive and have a very warm welcome from Elena(even at 7am), it is clear all staff have the same one purpose/goal - to make their guests happy, and they do not disappoint. Total chillaxing holiday and spoilt rotten, I cant remember everyone's names, they were all lovely. Special mention to Redoo, on the beach - its true, he cleans your sunglasses :) - jak and co in the bar - fab service and all so friendly. You can do a few activities..or not:) - choice is yours, we had no problems with meals, and the Indian buffet hidden at the back is always available.

We were getting picked up at 4am on our departure and our choice of breakfast was delivered at 3am - impressive

This was our silver wedding trip and we got lots of extra surprises - really wonderful experience.. A very clean and well kept location.
The spa has a lovely sanctuary garden, that just makes you relax and relax more

We chose to do or trips through summer time, who we had booked for airport transfers and again no issues, and great Service. We were there 27th June for 11 days and although they were in and "anticyclone" - we only had a couple of days that were cloudy, the rest was just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nessieFifeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear nessieFife,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on LUX* Grand Gaube.

We are so glad that you chose us to celebrate such a landmark anniversary and please receive our heartiest congratulations again.

Thank you to mention the uniqueness of the team, I am indeed truly honored to be leading such beautiful individuals and can only agree with you on the fact that Elena from the reception and Reedoo are true gems to LUX* Grand Gaube.

Indeed, we are aware that a 3:30 am departure can be quite 'harsh' for our guests and this is the reason we combined all ingredients to make this as well an experience to remember.

It would really be my greatest pleasure to welcome you again (may be for the 26th wedding anniversary) , and till, then, receive my sincerest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hello...I stayed in the hotel for 6 nights in July 2014...however, towards the end of the vacation period I so desperately wanted to extend my stay with the resort. It is so beautiful, with so many beaches, water all around and serene sky. You can do activities ranging from as simple as pedal boating to as amusing as a water-helicopter, skiing, etc. The hotel offers you wonderful food beautifully served by the best of the beaches of the resort and hosts cocktail parties, yoga sessions, golf sessions, swimming sessions, pocker tournaments, etc. You can opt for chilling out full day over the beach or choose to get into the clean water to play water-games. The kids are also well taken care of, by the resort staff. The USP of the resort was FRIENDLY AND CARING staff of the resort who go the extra mile to help you and feel comfortable. The rooms were beautiful. Arrangements like movie under the stars with unexpected baskets of popcorn arranged for us was a highlight. Such beautiful bands (jazz, indian, etc) are arranged at the bar as also DJ nights for the dancers. this resort is a MUST GO and STAY in mauritius. We love the choice we made and thank Make My Trip for the lovely suggestion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richash5690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Richash5690,

Thank you for this great review posted on LUX* Grand Gaube!

What a great marketing you just did for us and I wish to convey my sincere gratitude for being an ambassador of our hotel.

At LUX* Grand Gaube, we have tried to cater to different level of thrill seekers by offering an array of activities and you just summed it up so beautifully.

Thank you for the special mention about the team, they are indeed very friendly and caring. At LUX*, we put our 'people' first so that in turn, they put our guests at the center of all their activities.

I truely look forward to welcome you back soon,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Gaube
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is very quite, but you can find activities and sports during the day, and live music in the evenings. Rooms are big and clean. The food could be better, but you can eat eat nice food at Abalone restaurant. There are two small beaches, but enough to have some sun and swim. It is not as luxury as I expected, but it is fine to relax and enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Laura R,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on this platform.

The team and I are delighted to note that you had a nice time whilst at LUX* Grand Gaube,

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future,

Please receive my best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Lux Grand Gaube for our honeymoon in July and it was a fantastic experience! The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and professional and go out of their way to make sure that you get the most out of your stay. The resort itself is beautiful, very clean and tidy. The beaches have plenty of great spots to sit and enjoy the view.

We stayed in a Superior Double Room and it was great for what we needed. We also opted for the all-inclusive package, which is something we would highly recommend! The food is superb at Lux, particularly at the A La Carte restaurants. These restaurants provide amazing variety and exceptionally high-quality food - definitely one of the highlights of our trip! We also got plenty of fabulous honeymoon freebies and the staff were very willing to oblige special requests. The sommelier is very knowledgable and we had a delightful wine tasting evening, including a cheese platter to accompany it.

We would certainly recommend Lux Grand Gaube to anyone looking for a peaceful, idyllic break! :D

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marguerite-vdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Marguerite,

We should be the one thanking you for choosing LUX* Grand Gaube to spend the first few days of your married life and the entire team joins me in congratulating you both again.

We indeed try our level best to place our guests at the center of our activities and reading that they helped you get the most out of your stay is the greatest reward of all.

Thank you as well for recognizing our culinary team whose primary purpose is to ensure that each palate meet the taste they wish.

I have personally passed on your regards to Yash the Sommeller and he was glad to have met guests like you that shares the same passion,

I truely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

In a very simple words, Mauritius for me is Lux Grand gaube..... Excellent location, very good environment n ambiance (beaches, greenery, looks) , varaity of food (seafood, Italian, continental n specially Indain food) n most important friendliness of staff/ crew........

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Vipul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Vipul C,

Thank you for your beautiful and genuine comment. Couple of words that means a lot to myself and the team here at LUX* Grand Gaube.

Family is so important and we are delighted that you had the 'perfect family holiday' and I hope you will cherish these moments for a very, very long.

I so look forward to welcome you and your family again,

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed for three weeks from mid June. A lovely hotel full of lovely people. The fact that there were so many staff still there from when we last visited two years earlier shows that it's a happy place to be.

Wonderful personal treatment from first moment of arrival to getting a packed breakfast for our early departure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriceLunot, Directeur général at LUX* Grand Gaube, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear AncyDurant,

Thank you very much for your detailed review about LUX* Grand Gaube,

I have to admit that it was an absolute pleasure reading your review and Trip Advisor travelers would surely have a great insight to our property by reading your experience.

I am so happy to read that you had an amazing time with us. Along with the team at LUX* Grand Gaube, we try our best to help our guests celebrate life and reading that we did not fail in doing so for you is our greatest reward.

Rest assure that your regards will be passed on to each of the department that contributed in making this holiday into what you describe as being your 'favourite',

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in a not too distant future I hope,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.8 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,628 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,439 reviews
11.6 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,474 reviews
2.0 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
21.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing