We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LUX* Grand Gaube

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
LUX* Grand Gaube
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2006

We went to Legends in April/May 2005 for the first 8 days of our honey moon and then moved onto Dubai for a further 8 days. We are both in our late 20's and are from London and were looking for a resort which would blow our minds.

We too like most people did lots of research, and on several occasions looked on the reviews on this website. A few reviews had given us a few things to worry about and we even came to a point where we were thinking of changing resorts in Mauritius and both my husband and I were so glad we hadn't as we made the right choice.

Legends is an amazing hotel and in a great location. We pulled up to the hotel after a private transfer from the airport. The journey gave us doubts as we drove through towns which weren't impressive at all. The moment we arrived at Legends it was paradise from there onwards. We were greeted with Champagne and cold face towels upon arrival. The staff were ever so friendly and couldn't do enough for us throughout our eight days stay.

The food in all the restaurants were of high quality and high standard considering I am a fussy eater. There was great entertainment in the evenings with different theme nights each evening for dinner. The hotel itself is fantastic and the hospitality is simply 1st class.

Our room was amazing. We had a superior deluxe room, with a sea view balcony. Our room featured a water fountain and the entire room was based on the concept of feng shui. The enitre hotel was based around this idea.

We have travelled to many places and stayed at many 5 star hotels but this topped them all. We both were treated like royalties and I was in my element being treated like a "Princess". We too felt very emotional when we left.

We both would highly recommend Legends for a place to stay.. We would
definitely be going back in the near future... Enjoy...

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Princess_s1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,476
    572
    124
    46
    16
See reviews for
750
2,902
46
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2006

I went to Legends in May 2005 with my girlfriend, we are both 28 from the UK and looking for a relaxing week away.

I did lots of research looking for a hotel with low amounts of kids, high amount of luxury, spa, driving range and sailing. Legends hit all these and I booked.

I then came to this site late and from then until the holiday felt a bit uneasy. Some of the reviews gave me doubts and left me a bit worried if i had made the right choice. I came back over the moon and also annoyed with Trip advisor (!)

Let me be clear: this is a fantastic hotel. The food in the restaurants is of a high gourmet standard, the staff are impeccable, you are treated like a king, the spa is fabulous, the pool great, the room (ours was standard) beautiful and large with a fantastic view, the facilities fantastic and the atmosphere great.

The hotel is well designed into the bay and unobtrusive, and the atmosphere is very calm and quiet, although lively to some extent in the evenings.

The beach is man made I suspect but incredibly good. Most people hang out there in the day and we loved it. Beautiful bay, I swam in the water every day and loved it. The sea is slightly cloudy but no need to over do this point - again let me be clear, the beach is extremely good and we spent most of our holiday there (see pic). You can also sail off it etc and do a snorkelling trip 5 minutes out with the hotel which was great.

I am lucky enough to have travelled to many countries and to many great hotels but this shot the lights out. I have no complaints. We felt quite emotional when we left as we had had such an amazing time. True relaxation.

We went all inclusive which I do think works out extremely well.

Every couple we met was having the time of their lives. I thoroughly recommend legends and will probably go back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
29 Thank TravellingChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2006

I have never given a hotel 5 stars before, but in the case of Legends it is well deserved. Having read the other reviews on this site, particularly the 1 or 2 negative ones, we were a bit worried about what we were in for. We needn't have worried. The good reviews on here are right - this is a great hotel. We didn't take the all inclusive option. Our total food bill for the week was approx £500 (3 people) which was about half the price of all inclusive. We didn't stint on drinks or the use of the minibar each day. We went a la carte twice, and went to Grande Baie one night for a meal. If you think you are going to drink bucketloads or are big eaters, then maybe all inclusive is the way to go. To me it was a marginal decision. The only thing that we missed out on were 2 massages each and some golf/tennis/cooking lessons which we probably wouldn't have used in any case.

The food was great. The only time that I could understand the complaint about portion size was 1 night when we had a set 5 course meal. But it was a 5 course meal. We couldn't have eaten any more if we tried. If you want bulk go to the States or Benidorm. The standard of cooking was excellent. The other nights in the main restaurant consisted of buffets - seafood, asian, indian. Lots of variety and well prepared. The Karma restaurant is very good and we loved the Bastide restarant - great food, overlooking the sea. The only place we didn't try was the Abalone seafood restaurant. We normally had lunch at the Banyan Tree (Try the caramelized banana and coconut ice cream). The staff, as other reviewers have pointed out, really make this place. They were all very friendly, couteous and went out of their way to help.

The meal we had outside the hotel was at Le Capitain in Grande Baie (15 minute Taxi drive - approx 1000 rupees (£20) for the return journey and up to 3 hour wait. The standard of driving in Mauritius is universally atrocious). Le Capitain is in a great spot overlooking the harbour. The food was really good but no better than Legends and the service no where near as good. .

The facilities are fantastic. We used virtually everything - 4 great, floodlit tennis courts, waterskiing, sail boats, gym, golf driving range. This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at where everything is free, including motorised watersports. And they have lots of staff to assist (again very good). If you wanted lessons they were available at extra cost (I think they were included in the half board package). The spa is excellent. My wife had a one hour massage every second day (€57). Again, I think 2 of these were part of the all inclusive package. My son and I did an advanced dive course. I was a bit worried because everything is pretty laid back. The guys at the dive school were great though and actually, very professional.

If you didn't want to do activities the beaches were great - I don''t know where the rubbish about silt and weed came from, but this was not our experience. We stayed mainly on the Banyan Beach which is smaller and more exposed than the main beach, but which has it's own pool.

One of the best features of the resort were the other guests. Mostly honeymooners, families with older kids and elderly couples. There were a few families with younger children, but not a lot. I noticed that they did have a mini club though. Everyone was extremely pleasant and of the people we spoke to, without exception, everyone loved their time at the hotel and would return without hesitation. For us it was the facilities, staff and the other guests who made the holiday. If you're looking for a party venue, this isn't the place for you. . It's peaceful, relaxed and friendly - just what we were looking for.

Apparently, the hotel is to be given 5 stars in December. This is what it should be and is well deserved. I hope this doesn't alter the feel or value of the place though.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
44 Thank grantmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2006

We were very impressed by most aspects of Legends Hotel but the most outstsnding feature was the excellence of the staff. They were unfailingly friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Also impressive was the quality of food. Being half board we ate mainly in the Gingko retaurant and contrary to some of your previous reviews really enjoyed the high standard of the food, especially the seafood and vegetarian dishes. Our 13 year old son, being very fussy, was able to select what appealed to him from the buffet meals. We did not miss being all inclusive. The large premium could only be justified if you want to consume vast amounts of alcohol as the wine is quite expensive.
The setting is very beautiful and peaceful - the Banyan beach and pool especially so. The only drawback is that the beach is man made and the sea is not very clear. The range of watersports are excellent and virtually all free. To see something of the island hiring a car (cheap) is the best option, although the taxis are also cheap.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Cestrian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2006

Having just got back from this hotel and previously taken on board the mixed reviews (which in hindsight were extremely helpful and not to be ignored) we sit somewhat on the fence with our experiences.

Firstly there is no doubt that this is a high class luxury resort. Unless you've stayed in VERY expensive places then this is really on a par with the best.

But for us the reason for this was the staff. They are numerourous to say the least and ratio out at about one per couple and all trained to acknowledge - some even salute - the guests whenever encountered (even the gardeners). They really can't do enough for you even down to periodically offering to clean your sunglasses! Generally, the facilities, cleanliness and attention to detail were also inkeeping with a hotel of the this standard.

Where this hotel lets itself down is the food. It looks great but as per other reviews is not really hot enough and along with drinks is EXTREMELY overpriced outside of the halfboard restaurant (15 euros for a tiny green salad at Karma). We unfortunately caught a bug on the third day which involved a doctor and various medicines. However, I don't really feel at liberty to blame the hotel for this as there was a gastric virus which hit most of the north part of the island. Even so we'd recommend caution with fish and shellfish that isn't piping hot. Don't worry about asking the chefs to prepare 'safer' dishes that you may have in mind. We did and the staff - again - are only to happy to help. Another disapointment is the beach. The sand feels a little 'manufactured' and the water in very silty and weedy. Great water sports make up for it though with lots of free stuff (including waterskiing).

This is a very quiet hotel which I guess is in part due to the 'feng shui' philosopy wich permeates every inch of the place. As a consequence this is no party venue and sitting in the bar at night there is a distinct lack of atmosphere even with the quite varied and generally up tempo live music.

But then this perhaps isn't really the point and for most people - mainly honeymooners, older couples and families - the emphasise is to relax, which you can, very well.

On a final note, Mauritius has a 'micro-climate' weather system apparently, so what ever time of the year you go the weather won't be consistent not even in the summer, so we'd ignore anyone whinging on about it if we were you - you've just got to take the risk.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

We travelled to Mauritius to get married and honeymoon and after looking through brochures decided Legends it was. After reading a few bad reviews of the place on this site we were a little dubious, but we def needn’t have been! The resort is gorgeous.

From the landscaped gardens, to the quiet beaches and amazing restaurants, you really can’t fault the resort. The service is excellent, they go as far as spritzing your face with cold water and cleaning your glasses round the pool, to bringing food and drink to you on the beach as well as being offended if you pour your own drinks!

We booked a deluxe room but were upgraded to a suite which was lovely, pretty big with a big balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean which had two big sunbeds as well as a table to dine at and sofa’s. What with this, the all inclusive mini bar that was stocked everyday and the free room service- you needn’t leave your room!

The organisation of the wedding was made very easy for us, and they even organised the table decorations and nibbles for before our guests sat down to eat in the evening. If you are looking for a stress free way of getting married, then I would definitely recommend doing it abroad.

The Spa was very relaxing and we both had two treatments as part of our all inclusive package. There were five of us ladies who wanted our hair done on the big day and we were all easily fitted in, we had the salon to ourselves to drink champagne and relax before the ceremony and they were pretty swift with finishing the styles too.

Word of advice- you must go all inclusive, it is so worth the extra money as the only way I could fault this hotel is that the prices are extremely hefty if you are not AI! Plus the AI option means you can eat in all of the restaurants…..

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank sukira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Gaube
38.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
11.3 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Paradise Cove Boutique Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
27.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX* Grand Gaube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX* Grand Gaube

Property: LUX* Grand Gaube
Address: Pointe Rejane, Grand Gaube, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Gaube
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grand Gaube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX* Grand Gaube 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel in Grand Gaube, Mauritius, overlooks the triple-bay beaches, lagoon and spectacular north islets. It exuberates a romantic atmosphere and its rooms all enjoy incredible views of the ocean. Other highlights include its proximity to the vibrant seaside village of Grand Baie, three swimming pools and access to a world-class golf course nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelbag so you can book your LUX* Grand Gaube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Grand Gaube Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Grand Gaube
Legends Hotel Mauritius
Legends Grand Gaube
Hotel Legend Mauritius
LUX* Grand Gaube Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing