We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Mornea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mornea Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have stayed at the Mornea after several years staying at the Indian resort which unfortunately is closed for renovation.The hotel staff is very helpful and polite and the rooms are similar to the Indian albeit the decor is bit more basic. Food is good. Overall is good value for money but if we could have the choice the Indian resort would be our favourite due to its more sheltered location from the wind.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiacoM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

i have been there for 2 weeks on september 2012 to partecipate at the ksp world tour stop. that was my third time in mauritius, but my first at mornea hotel as i usually stay at indian resort. i found the place very good as i was used in indian resort, nice people work there, always kind and helpful, the buffet is rich on good food, and the location is perfect!. for who likes water sports is a paradise, wind , waves, a beautiful rife to dive and snorkeling! just inthe lagoon in front of the hotel allow any kind of sports and also is like a swimming pool for people who just want to relax in the water!
i'm planning to come back there next year with my son and my wife!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oteniel Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We received a very warm welcome with a very good description of the hotel and our package. The management were extremely visible, we saw the manager (David) and/or the assistant manager (Aminel) every day and really felt they went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. Our room was spacious, clean and furnished on a par with other more expensive hotels we have stayed in elsewhere in the world. When we reported our AC was not functioning properly at 11:20 pm maintenance staff were in attendance within 5 minutes and provided a very efficient fan when they were unable to fix it. (It was fixed the following morning). The bar was welcoming with comfortable seating and excellent service especially from Jean Paul. The beach and pool areas were rather windy but we were allowed to use the lovely pool in the spa of the sister hotel next door which was gorgeous.

I had a couple of treatments in the spa and I have to say they were on a par with the best I have had anywhere in the world - a real treat.

We really felt we were treated as VIPs from arriving to leaving. Many thanks to David Aminel and your fabulous team.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolmunroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just spent three days at le Mornea hotel. we enjoyed our stay.all the staff, managers were helpful, smiling and very kind..upon arrival, we were welcomed by the Assistant Manager, Mr Aminel who was very kind throughout our stay.. the room was very nice and we had hot water in both bath tub and shower..The food was delicious and the theme varied from day to day (Fisherman,Italian,chinese,etc)..It was quite windy,ideal for water sports especially for wind surfing..we therefore went to the spa where we had a warm greeting and enjoyed the sauna, the swimming pool which is equiped with massage water fountain, bubble bath with a quiet and peaceful atmosphere..i would highly recommend le Mornea hotel, food is great,relaxing atmosphere,nice people,value for your money,and beautiful lounge..

Room Tip: There were two "canapelits" in the living room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My girlfriend and I book for 3 days at the hotel in September 2012 as they claim they were running some specials. upon arrival we were greeted and all the formalities done we were directed to our room. As we opened the door we had that musty smell coming out. There were no airconditioning. i tried to filled the bath but the hot water does not work. Maintenance came and the water is only luke warm. faulty hot water. as my girlfriend is from an english speaking background, she checked for news in english and the TV only plays 3 channels of local channels in hindi and french. went to check for the sauna , spa etc, they are all out of service. i waited for 1 hour and the hot water never got fixed. i ask for a refund and the chief animator/a director clown retained 50% of the first night. i restrained myself from knocking him out being in a foreign country. I WILL NOT recommend this hotel at ALL. STAY AWAY

Room Tip: if you are in Mauritius please stay away from any hotel run by appavoo group. They are terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leckraz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

we enjoyed our weekends.
the room was fantastic.
the barman JEANPAUL was excellent.
but what really impressed my family was the ASSISTANT MANAGER AMINEL,he talked wiht all the
guests and he really care for everything.he is professionaland outstanding.i am planning for anothr weekends shortly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GreenwoodDhurmeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

When we arrived to Mornea we were surprised by kindnes of all people. Everyone was really friendly and nice. The staff helped with any problem.
We stayed there for tree days and every meal we had was delicious. I especially recommend fish.
The room was quite good, but there were some small problems. For example we didn´t have hot water first day and all the time there was problem with water pressure. Also the air condition was pretty noisy, even if it was turned off.
There is a beautiful view on the beach. Sea is perfect for windsurfers and kiters, because it is really windy there.
The Hotel Mornea is perfect for water sports.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Morne hotels
0 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,011 reviews
0 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
961 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornea Hotel

Address: Le Morne, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Price Range: £179 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mornea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornea Hotel Le Morne
Mornea Hotel Mauritius/Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing