We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect October Honeymoon”
Review of LUX Le Morne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
LUX Le Morne
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After much research we decided on Lux Le Morne for our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier...we had an absolutely perfect time. The hotel, location and weather were all fantastic - we had 15 mins of rain in the two weeks we were there, otherwise it was blue sky & sunshine! After 16 hours travelling and our luggage being left in Paris we were exhausted and fed up...but we arrived to a cold towel, warm smile and refreshing drink. Even though our lost luggage was nothing to do with the resort they were so apologetic and helpful in trying to chase it up, making several phone calls on our behalf to rectify the situation.

We stayed in room 93 - an ocean front suite. The room was well appointed and very comfortable - lovely big bed, and serviced twice a day. Even during our stay they were upgrading all the rooms and installing iPads, a nice little touch that enabled you to access wifi, reserve a table for dinner or request guest services. It was right next to the Oasis pool & a short stroll across the garden to get to the beach. It was definitely the quieter end of the resort which was appreciated as it was our honeymoon. We had a furnished terrace with comfy double lounger which was lovely to come & relax on & watch the sunsent after a hard day at the beach!

The beach was picture perfect, powder white sand and crystal clear sea. We never had trouble getting a lounger and the food and drinks service was great. We were booked on the all inclusive honeymoon package which included extras such as romantic dinner, couples massage and bottle of champagne in our room on arrival. I would definitely recommend all inclusive, it was great not to have to worry about the cost of things mounting up, especially drinks. The all inclusive wines were really good quality and although it didn't include premium spirits & champagne it did include sparkling wine and cocktails (love the mojitos and long island iced teas)!

We couldn't fault the food and enjoyed every meal - The Beach restaurant was definitely our favourite for both food & service and we also enjoyed our romantic honeymoon meal there. We found enough choice to keep us happy and trying something different every day. I have to say one of my favourite things was the thai chicken salad served on the beach. The Kitchen restaurant offered a different themed buffet every night and although we found some nights better than others (particularly enjoyed Mauritian night), we never had a bad meal. We didn't have a problem booking into any of the restaurants we wanted & either did it the day before or in the morning, although the hotel certainly wasn't at capacity so that may have made it easier.

The bar had a friendly atmosphere with a good selection of drinks & live entertainment - we were greeted by the lovely Joanne almost every night. I was lucky enough to enjoy two massages in the spa - you lie down to face beautiful views of Le Morne mountain. As my husband doesn't like massages they split our couples massage into two 45 min sessions for me which was greatly appreciated! The massage was as good as, if not better, than anything I've had at home. There's plenty to do & the all inclusive package includes loads of water activities, you really can do as much or as little as you want. We enjoyed a trip out on a glass bottom boat but the main purpose of our stay was pure rest & relaxation.

The majority of staff we came across were fantastic, friendly & hard working....Preetam, Arjoon, Veer, Aisha, Joanne & Annunto...to name but a few. And good luck to Ken who served us in Nipa, he was just starting out and was so friendly! They really did go the extra mile to make our stay memorable...including setting up a lovely table for me on my birthday at breakfast & bringing me a cake.

We loved our stay and couldn't have asked for a better honeymoon. We hope that we'll be able to go back one day and that this review will help you to decide on Lux Le Morne for yourself!

Room Tip: Rooms at the Oasis pool end of the resort seem to be quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JD2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,785)
There are newer reviews for LUX Le Morne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 4,785 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

A wonderfully warm and sincere resort where ALL the staff work and pull together to ensure the guests have the most brilliant vacation. The location offers its own micro-climate ensuring that the weather is always clear blue, with each day ending in a magnificent sunset. So relaxing, easy going, nothing ever seems rushed and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. A brilliantly managed team led by Rocco Bova, all pulling for each other. The meals were excellent and the theming ensured that variety was certainly the spice of life. Facilities both in the suite and on site all excellent and the close proximity of the sea an added bonus no walking miles to the beach - it is on your doorstep.
Simply the best holiday we have ever experienced - we will be back.

Room Tip: choose a suite if possible as they offer more privacy
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Best location in Le Morne, the beach is lovely, water sport options good.
Well protected by the wind. Staff were extremely accommodating and very friendly. Welcome drink on arrival is a nice touch. Room was cleaned every day by a very efficient and friendly lady, Soudevi who always arranged our things very nicely. Loved the beach and lunch service from the deck chairs, our waiter Sanju was always ready to serve with a huge smile! We stayed for one week for our honeymoon and ate extremely well with all inclusive option. It was worth it as we would not have been able to afford drinks on top of the fee. We travelled around the rest of Mauritius for another 2 months and ate at many restaurants and after sampling the general cuisine of Mauritius the food at the Lux was quite good in comparison.

We had a superior room and it was just right, we considered the outdoor shower room but as we went in August we wouldn't have used it anyway. The only thing that was a little disappointing was that the pools weren't heated and despite the weather being warm and fine for a winter in Mauritus, the pools were empty and too cold to enjoy.

Otherwise, we had a very relaxing and indulgent week at the Lux and would recommend it to future honeymooners.

Room Tip: We had a superior room, upstairs with a great view of the northern pool which was great
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt4donna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This must have been one of the best holidays we have ever had! The location is unbeatable with the Le Morne mountain sheltering the resort from the trade winds. At the same time a short bicycle ride gets you to kite surf paradise! The service was very good, food unbelievable and the facilities are awesome. This simply is a must-do holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay at the Lux Le Morne was outstanding from start to finish. Upon arrival we walked in to a calm, welcoming atmosphere. The check in process was handled with ease, and within 15 minutes of our arrival we were invited to sit down and enjoy lunch.

The room - a Junior Suite was well appointed with a huge, comfortable bed, sofa, and the usual coffee, tea, television, safe etc. In the bathroom there is a double basin unit, a large walk in shower and huge whirlpool bath for 2. The shower temperature was at times suddenly hot or cold, but a small inconvenience in an otherwise impressive room. The room was made up in the morning and the bed turned down every evening without fail.

And so to the beach! Glorious white sand, an ample supply of comfortable lounge chairs made up daily with fresh towels. Super service with drinks and food to the beach contributed to a truly relaxing holiday.

The food was, for the most part, simply outstanding. Fresh breakfast with fruit, pastries, cooked eggs and omelettes to order, pancakes, waffles and french toast to name but a few selections. The lunches and evening meals were also excellent, in particular "The Beach" restaurant. We also tried "Nipa" restaurant, and found it to be good, but not up to the standards of the other restaurants.

If you are thinking of going all inclusive, my advice would be DO IT! The lunches at "The Beach" were excellent, and there are some nice wines on offer within the all inclusive package.

A special thank you to Ananto and Natasha at The Beach restaurant. They made up our table with beautiful fresh flowers for our evening meals.
Top service award goes to Ludwig who tended to our every need on the beach each day.
THANK YOU!

Room Tip: We stayed at the end furthest from The Beach restaurant. It is quiet there, and tucked away from th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We are continuously asked about where to stay in Mauritius,as this is our chosen destination twice a year.
We have tried many different hotels over the last 10 years and one stands head and shoulders above the rest,
Lux Le Morne,is the jewel in the crown in Mauritius.
From the maids to the Excellent manager,Jean Pierre Auriol,no stone is left unturned to make your stay,everything you wish for.
Jean Pierre is not the sort of manager to sit in his office,he continually walks around checking that everything is just perfect for his guests and is very approachable and professional and sets just the right tone for your stay.
From the moment you arrive,to the minute you leave,you are subject to 5 Star treatment.
The staff cannot do enough to make your stay the best it can be,with just the right amount of attention and seem to instinctively know when to leave you in peace.
The setting is second to none,with wonderful beaches and magnificent gardens.
There is a terrific Kids club,where you can let them have their freedom to play,in the knowledge that they are safely and expertly looked after by caring and professional staff.
The main restaurant serves a magnificent buffet every evening supervised by the wonderfully helpful and friendly Vik chuttur.
Nothing is too much for Vik and his staff,if you want something cooked off the menu for a special occasion,the chef will concoct whatever you desire and Vik will set up a magnificent table on the beach just for you.
There is a separate beach restaurant and a Thai restaurant both serving delicious food.
When you consider a trip to Mauritius,look no further than Lux Le Morne,you will not be disappointed.
We will be back in April and we cant wait.
The Strong Family

Room Tip: The lay out of the hotel is so good there is not a bad room,though we prefer to be close to the rest...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thestrongfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at Lux Le Morne from 17 september till 28 september for our honeymoon.
We went AI for us it was worth it!Lux Le morne is heaven on earth.
We loved the rooms, the food , the view, the gardens, the beach,the staff, the ocean. Just everything was fabulous.
We were upgraded at arrival from a honeymoon suite to a junior suite prestige. Big thank you for this, the room is a dream with the private sunbed on our terrace en the outdoor shower.
We love going on restaurant with good service and high quality food, at Lux Le Morne you can have this, we ate almost every evening à la carte, both restaurants offer high quality food, wine and service. Restaurant the Nipa blow us away!
The hotel was very quiet. Not a lot of children during our stay and that was just perfect for us.
The beach and the ocean are stunning. I could just look at it for ours from my sunbed without getting tired of it. We loved the silence and the rest.
We left the resort once for swimming with the dolphins. We did this with Eric and his boat Philo. It was a once in a lifetime experience. Eric is a very nice guy who wants you to enjoy the trip on his beautiful boat. With Eric you have the boat for yourself and he guides you perfectly so you can swim very close near the dolphins. Eric even swims along with you. No need to search for him, he is on the beach everyday between 10 and noon.

We would like to give a special thank you to the following staff, without them it would never be the same:
Sabrina: for her professional and excellent service at the bar
Ismael: a very nice young guy who always made us a special drink everytime he saw us. It was always nice to see hem
Annunto: A small guy with a huge service and a big smile at the restaurant The Beach and in the morning at breakfast at the Kitchen
Ludovic and Akshay : for their good service at the beach, they took good care of us.
And last but not least our big friend Nicolas. He is a warm and kind man who served us liked kings at the beach. Nothing is too much for him. It was a joy for us when he was working and when he had his day off we missed his presence,his friendly smile and talks. Thank you Nicolas you made our holiday very special!
Lux Le Morne we miss you every day. And we are sorry we can’t visit you every year.
We look forward to come back, so we are saving up for it. The only sad thing is that no other hotel and destination seems good enough in comparation with Lux Le Morne!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanPierre A, General Manager at LUX Le Morne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Ellen T,

Thank you, thank your for your words.
Making each moment matter is our purpose; you make us proud of having achieved this big time with you both and it does trigger lots of positive emotion to us too knowing that our people, our resort are now very dear to you.
We love you for this, and I will share your words with all of them, trust me.
Don't worry we are out there thinking of you and no matter when you will return you will find them all waiting for you.

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
29.0 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,479 reviews
35.3 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
1.5 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LUX Le Morne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LUX Le Morne

Address: Coastal Road, Le Morne, Mauritius 227756
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#1 Business Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range: £296 - £839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LUX Le Morne 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the majestic Le Morne mountain in the South West corner of Mauritius is the tranquil beach hotel, LUX Le Morne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your LUX Le Morne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Le Morne Hotel Le Morne
Les Pavillons Le Morne
Hotel Les Pavillons
LUX Le Morne Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing