We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“manage your expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Le Morne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“manage your expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a good property (beautiful mountain, clear water, sandy beach) but, by all means, this is a 4 star hotel not 5 as advertised. It is just not the same level as Saint Geran, Royal Palm, Prince Maurice and perhaps a few others on the island. The layout of the hotel makes a crowded feeling, suites are very old and need at least a facelift, villas are in much better shape, though. We would rank it 4, if not for the terrible service in the restaurants and an unbelievable number of local merchants (all beaches in Mauritius are public) roaming the fairly narrow beach and often resting on the beach chair next to you.
At the same time, it is perhaps a good choice if you come with kids and not expecting a luxury setting.

Room Tip: go for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mindalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    236
    72
    16
    16
See reviews for
474
526
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have been to a number of resorts in Mauritius over the years, but this resort was absolutely the best we have been to... Rooms are good, service impeccable, beach is really nice.... food in the various restaurants were really awesome

Room Tip: choose rooms facing the beach!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosannaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent two weeks at Paradis resort in November. We had booked a beachfront junior suite and were slightly disappointed with its location - poorer section of beach with too many sun loungers and whilst it was beach front with a sea view we also had a view to the left of a wall of another beachfront suite which was set forward to ours. Sitting on one side of our balcony meant looking at this wall. However, before we arrived we had contacted the resort to see if they had a senior suite we could upgrade to and they did. They showed it to us on our second morning and the minute we walked in we knew we would upgrade. It was set on the ground floor with a huge terrace and only 5/6 steps from a beautiful beach where we had our own dedicated parasol and sun loungers which were made up for us each day. Beautiful large bedroom with flat screen tv, a huge very well laid out sitting room with another tv and a lovely big bathroom. It was well worth the upgrade and we spent many an hour sitting on our terrace reading or watching the sunset. We also had dinner in our room one night as my hudband wanted to watch England play rugby(!) and it was nice to have a lovely sitting room to sit and eat in. We got canapes every evening at 5pm in the room and fresh fruit presentations every day.

The whole resort is beautifully laid out and the beach is simply stunning. Personally we felt there were a lot of sun loungers on parts of the beach which made it feel crammed in areas and detracted slightly from the beauty of the beaches. However, we normally holiday in the Maldives so unless you are used to the space and isolation of the beaches there you would not notice this. There is no decent snorkelling form the beach however you can go out on a complimentary boat 4 times a day to the edge of the reef were the snorkelling is better – again, if like us you are used to Maldives snorkelling you may be disappointed however it is stunning to look back at the resort beach with Le Morne mountain in the background. There are hawkers who come around but they are polite and most leave you alone when they realise you are not interested. We often had the fresh salads that are made for you on the beach and for around £4/5 they are very good and tasty.

We played golf a couple of times and the course is very pretty and challenging and they run competitions twice a week. Normally I would use the spa a lot on holiday but I didn’t at Paradis as it was either a very long walk from the room or a buggy ride away and the spa itself was not as impressive looking as you would expect in a resort like Paradis. I did look at the spa at Dinarobin next door and it was lovely. We also visited Dinarobin for dinner twice (the French restaurant is excellent) and had drinks in the main bar which was very good. However we felt Dinarobin, whilst beautifully laid out, was a bit soulless compared to Paradis so felt we made the right choice whilst deciding between the two resorts – although Dinarobin is much more a “proper” 5 star resort than Paradis. In addition the beach at Dinarobin is not good and we say many Dinarobin guests using Paradis during the day.

The food at Paradis was good in all the restaurants and we were particularly impressed by the quality of the buffet food in Le Brabant – although the restaurant, being so large, could get very chaotic at times and you should choose your time to dine carefully as there were lots of young toddlers and babies when we were there if you went early. With this in mind we ate breakfast every morning in Blue Marlin which is much smaller and more relaxed with less/no kids and it has lovely sea views from the tables. The only negative in regards to food is that they do not serve fresh squeezed juices at breakfast – they must be made of juice concentrate – and one morning I asked specifically if they could squeeze me a fresh orange juice and what they brought me was clearly the same as they had on the buffet so I gave up and didn’t have juice for breakfast. This was very surprising in a 5 star hotel.

All in all we would recommend Paradis and we had a lovely holiday. The main public areas and service is excellent however we felt that the main buffet restaurant, despite the wonderful food, and some of the rooms including the junior suites is more 4 start than 5 star. Most rooms could do with being updated – especially the bathrooms – with the exceptions of the senior suites but overall the resort is one of the most beautiful we have visited and the ambiance and staff are second to none.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a senior suite. They are better decorated, more modern with dedicated sun lounger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Moirad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Paradis is a gorgeous hotel.

From the min you enter the gates of the property and drive to the reception you can not help but feel as though you have entered into paradise. On your right is the gorgeous Mauritian multi colour ocean and on the left the stunning golf course and view of Le Morne. the driveway winds through and brings you to the gorgeous tropical reception.

We spent a couple days at the hotel in the beginning of November, I love Le Morne area and really wanted my husband and kids to experience some time in the South of Mauritius as this was their first time visiting the island. The water is incredible here.

Paradise had very helpful staff and their restaurants were fantastic, We often ate in the buffet as we were travelling with a 9 month old and a 2 year old and this was the easiest option for us, there was a lot of variety in food and the quality was great. One night we did take the boat over to La ravane Mauritian restaurant, and enjoyed a SPECTACULAR meal. I am Mauritian by birth and have had my fair share of Mauritian food but have never experience high end Mauritian dining and I have to say it surprised me how elegant and refined all the food was as well as flavorful I believe this was my best dining experience in Mauritius on this trip. My kids really enjoyed the experience of taking the boat over to the restaurant, it made the meal even more special.

We took advantage of the kids club, my girls loved the park. We also appreciated the food especially for the kids there and all the crafts, activities and opportunity to play with the other child guests at the hotel.

The fitness area was first class, tennis courts were so professional and the gym had great equipment and classes.

We also enjoyed the spa, having a couples massage and enjoyed their hammam and sauna.

On our last day we ventured over to the Dinarobin, which you have full access of staying at Paradis, and we rented some stand up paddle boards and ventures to the southern tip of Le Morne. It was great to have this available.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Paradis and loved the hotel, Our only issue is that Paradis is an older hotel and their guest rooms need to be updated. The size of the room is huge and fantastic, but the furniture is a bit dated and the bathrooms need some renovations. Personally I did not like the lighting in the rooms, the hotel uses LED lights which give everything a blue glow and make the room look unappealing, The showers do not drain properly and the fixtures are all old. I did notice on the North side of the hotel there were a lot of renovated rooms with better furniture and nicer looking rooms, if you are to stay at this hotel perhaps request one of the newer rooms. I feel as though they will renovate all the rooms so hopefully in the next couple of years there wont be anymore outdated rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the north side of the property, they look more renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This hotel purports to be amongst the finest but it does not quite make it. It is a magnificent hotel, with great facilities. in a wonderful location. We have just returned from a week's vacation and whilst we had a good time, we were troubled by some unprofessional lapses in service, For example, dining in the main restaurant - where the food was excellent - the ambience was spoiled by servers noisily clearing tables in preparation for next day's breakfast, giving the feeling that they wanted us to leave! Having a quiet drink and conversation in one of the bars, we were interrupted repeatedly by the server clearing items off the table one by one, including finally the candle! It transpired that the particular bar closed at 11 pm. Telling us that - and mentioning that the main bar remained open much later - would have been way more professional. One other annoyance is that the hotel is inflicted with the European disease of towels reserving sunbeds. Most beds on the beach were 'booked' by 9am. Beach suite residents have reserved sunbeds. We were asked by one of them to move our sunbeds because he had 'paid a lot of money for an uninterrupted view of the ocean'!! Too funny.
Facilities and staff at the spa were excellent. The pool area is wonderful and the sunsets there are to die for. Overall a fine hotel, but with a training requirement!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank encal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The paradis is truly a remarkable hotel - we honeymooned at the Paradis for a week in November 2012 and had the most amazing time. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for that once in a life time holiday.

The staff were fantastic and the food was also incredible. Great to be able to escape the buffet and dine out in the excellent restaurants. The Italian restaurant down on the sand was a favourite.

Golf course in an amazing location, but course was a little dry when we played their due to drought conditions. The par 5 along the ocean is a great challenge.

We also stayed at the Shandrani Hotel in Mauritius and would definitely pick the Paradis as the best.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be quite far from the restaurants etc so I would suggest if possible to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife, our 8 years old kid and myself spent 7 nights in Paradis Hotel & Golf Club, from 13-21.10.2013, staying in Deluxe Room Beach Front number 127. it was my 2nd stay inside this hotel and I can say that it was a very good decision to come back ! This hotel, its location, its staff, all is very good and not much things to complain about, really !
We really enjoyed our walk all along the sandy beach, the possibility to enjoy the beautiful lagoon easily, by either renting a speed boat, a fisherman boat or a deep sea fishing boat as you can easily find them close to the beach.
Please note that you can also enjoy all facilities of Dinarobin Hotel, which has a less good beach, is very unpersonal and too big to our eyes. It was definitively the best decision to stay in Le Paradis and not in Dinarobin.
We made a lot of activites during our 7 days there, for example we fished 4 times inside the lagoon, thanks to our favorite fisherman, Captain Johnny. With him, you are sure to get many fishes. We also climbed on the famous rock lying on the lagoon, we went to Port-Louis for a shopping afternoon, we swam with dolphins and had a barbecue on Ile des Bénitiers (which actually became overcrowded by tourists and local sellers as everybody is going there now...), we tried snorkeling and went to Dinarobin to see the beach which is really not attractive and not nice to swim, due to stones and corals all along it...

So, to resume our stay, let's say that :

Positive points :
-------------------
1) Great quality of service.
2) Very large bathroom in Deluxe Room Beach Front.
3) Food was varied and very good.
4) Best location out of all hotels in Le Morne area.
5) Best Lagoon.

Points to be improved :
-----------------------------
1) More and more locals are coming to tourists to try to sell their things, which nobody wants ! It is really disturbing if you are looking for quiet, relaxation and peace. Hotel is not doing anything against it !
2) Restaurants were almost full or at least you had this feeling every night, but occupancy rate was only 49%...
3) Excursion on Ile aux Bénitiers is not that nice, too much tourists are there also and you don't get this privacy feeling of living something exceptional, and no toilets on the island...
4) Expect more clouds than in other parts of Mauritius Island, as cloud are gathering very fast around Le Morne mountain, particularly from the afternoon !

Well, that's it ! We really enjoyed fully our stay in Le Paradis and will definitively come back once more. Great place, great times. So, see you there one day maybe ;-).

I will soon add some photos and some videos of this hotel and of our stay, for you to clearly see what I'm talking about.

Room Tip: Beach Front room is a must to see sunset every evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Morne
1.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 12 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,292 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
34.0 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
9.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Le Morne Peninsula, Le Morne, Mauritius 91202 (Formerly Beachcomber Paradis Hotel & Golf Club)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Le Morne
#3 Family Hotel in Le Morne
#4 Business Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate leisure resort in Mauritius! If you are looking for outstanding luxury family holidays in Mauritius, look no further than Paradis Hotel & Golf Club. One of the finest luxury hotels in Mauritius, Paradis enjoys a superb location on the island's south-western tip. Situated on Le Morne peninsula, the resort is set against the backdrop of the iconic Le Morne mountain and edges onto one of the most scenic shorelines on the island.The greatest leisure resort in Mauritius, Paradis offers superb accommodation in rooms, suites or villas fringed by a pure white sand beach and the island's largest lagoon. Le Paradis is adjacent to Dinarobin, a neighbouring Beachcomber hotel of the same category. Both resorts share their facilities and create undeniably, one of the island's greatest attractions in terms of quality and variety. A stay at Paradis heralds a fantastic culinary journey as the resort has four restaurants to choose from. The hotel is not only perfect for leisure seekers, but also for families travelling with children. A true sporting paradise in Mauritius, Paradis offers an extensive choice of complimentary land and water sports plus the opportunity to play on three championship golf courses in the vicinity including its very own 18-hole international golf course. The hotel also has a golf academy welcoming beginners and seasoned golfers alike and a Spa which provides the perfect setting to soothe the body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradis Hotel And Golf Club
Paradis Hotel Le Morne
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius/Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing