We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible.... Requires Drastic Changes”
Review of Indian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indian Resort
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Le Morne
Reviewed 16 February 2014

And again the same, a Strict No for this hotel coz of following reasons:
1. Very poor hospitality and terrible communication skills of the staff
2. Food was tasteless, especially for Indians and Vegetarians. Even people were found complaining about the non-veg cuisines.
3. The key to the door kept on getting non-functional and every time you have to get irritated for it.
4. Room AC often breaks down. We had to change room thrice, once in the middle of the night.
5. Doctor at the hotel's dispensary does not want to be bothered, for anything even as little as a minor cut.
6. Most importantly, this hotel is to the extreme south and very far from any other local attractions. Travelling time seems like ages and is minimum 2 hours each one way.
7. There is nothing significant included in their so called "All-inclusive package". You have to carry everyday bottle of drinking water from restaurant to your room.
8. The management staff (one was Mr. Danny) at the hotel seems incompetent for managing this hotel, with "Oooh, I'm so sorry... " attitude.

All in all, this is a hotel which requires drastic changes, and should till then be strictly avoided. People reaching for leisure, honeymoon etc. should search for something in the North or West of Mauritius.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank warriorlords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad K, E-Commerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear warriorlords ,

Following your remarks concerning the negative points, We would like to inform you that, we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, and promise you that if you favour us with a further visit everything will be done for you to have a most enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Fond regards,
Indian Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
There are newer reviews for Indian Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

After a long flight (with a changeover at Charles de Galle) we arrived in Mauritius early in the morning, but straight away realised that it was different from any other place we had been to.
Quite a long transfer from the airport to hotel, but our driver was most Knowledgable and pointed out attractions/ places of interest along the way.
When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a woman dressed in traditional dress and a number of porters who gathered our luggage. We were led into the reception and given refreshments. We were then given a brief introduction to the hotel and it's amenities. It was at this point that the woman who first greeted us mentioned that it was our anniversary during our stay and made a note of the date.
There are a number of different restaurants in the resort, Indian, French, Italian and the main restaurant. The restaurants operated on a booking system, so that if you wished to book into the French restaurant you would do this the day before for example. The food is all of a very high standard and with lots of variety.
The resort is ideally situated on the beach as are most of the hotels and the beach is golden sand. The rooms are large,spacious, and comfortable.
During our stay we hired a car and travelled extensively around the island. The local people were friendly and always helpful. Port Louis (being the capital) is definitely worth a visit, the market was really busy and it was nice just to walk around the harbour area.
On the day of our anniversary the hotel put on various treats for us, but the highlight was in the evening when unexpectedly following our Italian meal a cake with candles was brought out and a trio came to the table and sang to us with a guitar playing in the background.
Couldn't fault the whole experience and had a wonderful time. Will have to go back someday if it's the last thing I do!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad K, E-Commerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments.

It is a great pleasure to read your encouraging words. Rest assured that we will pass on the comments to our staff. We sincerely believe that this will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the standards.

We are glad that you had a nice anniversary at the hotel and we do want our guests to feel special.

We look forward to welcoming you at Indian Resort & Spa in a near future.

Sincerely
Indian Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the hotel over Christmas 2013. The hotel staff went out of their way to assist us and were friendly and extremely helpful. The sea is not really for swimming, but if you are into Kite surfing this is ideal spot. On days that wind did not blow the sea current ok for swimming. The hotel has a wonderful swimming pool. On arrival Henry helped us with our luggage and he was friendly. Steve at reception was extremely helpful as well. We received good service at the pool with guys like JP and others bringing drinks and snacks. Overall a nice holiday. The food was not the best, but after some days we knew what to pick and eat. I can recommend this to others

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor close to the reception and it was perfect for me
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstruwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad K, E-Commerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear mstruwig,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for taking the time to share your comments.

We were delighted to read that our staff members met and exceeded your expectations and we will be very happy to convey your gratitude to them.

Looking forward to welcome you back!

Cheers,
Indian Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Even though we was a little sceptic in the beginning going to Indian Resort, we have to say we did not have to be a bit sceptic. We read some really bad reviews about the resort, but have to say they are not true anymore. The resorts standard apparently changed since those reviews!
The location of this resort is fantastic, you can choose to hangout at the pool all day or just walk directly to the beach area from the pool. The beach in front of the resort can be a little windy with small waves, but is a excellent place for Kitesurfers and Windsurfers. On the other hand the wind was only to strong one day out of our 14 day stay, to lie on the sun beds at the beach. The wind was actually okay, because then you did not feel that there was around 30 degrees celcius all day. If preferred you can walk around the corner in front of the St. Regis or Lux Resort to get calm water and no wind because of the direction of the wind.
There has been a lot of bad reviews of this place but i have to say that the staff was absolutely fantastic and friendly. They did all they could to make our stay pleasant, and was really helpful if we needed some assistance. The buffet was great and really tasteful, but do not expect gourmet food with expensive french wine. During the our stay, there was enough variation in the food to try something new every day. In the beginning of our stay there was always a waiter/waitress available all the the time, but in the end the resort was fully booked so it took a little bit longer to get their attention. We were still really satisfied with the service in the restaurant even after it got busy. We saw a couple of people complaining regarding the service in the restaurant, but I have to say that it was the guests that was a bit to uptight, and not the staff!
You can see that the resort is not a 5 star resort, but it was absolutely up to the standard of what they promised.
The location of the resort is definitely one of the best in Mauritius, it´s not overcrowded at all in we were staying during the high season.
There are lots of activities around to keep everybody satisfied, if you just don´t want to lie on the beach or by the pool. We tried the Spa that was relocated while the were renovating the real place. It was ok, but not fantastic.
The resort is really children friendly, and there are lots of stuff to do for the whole family.

If we have to come with some negative feedback, it would be that the internet was way to slow and almost impossible to use if you have to work a little bit while staying there. It was only available in the reception area, but we spoke to the manager that told us they will get wifi all over the resort, and in the rooms this year.

We can recommend to go Dolphin watching, or just rent a boat with a captain to sail around the Le Morne. We got in contact with a man called Carlos in front of the Hotel on the beach, and we can absolutely recommend him for the Dolphin watching trips. There are two places to watch Dolphins in Le Morne, you can sail to Tamarin Bay and watch Spinner Dolphins or sail out side of the reef if the weather is calm and watch Bottlenosed or Spinner Dolphins. We did both and have to say that the trip to Tamarin Bay we did not like so much because when we arrived, there were 30 boats in a really small area and to many people snorkeling at the same time trying to swim with the Dolphins. It was a bit to hectic for our temperament to swim between boats and so many people, and seemed a bit to stressful. The trip outside the reef was much better, we were swimming with Bottlenosed and were watching Spinner Dolphins, and there were only two other boats than ours. The trip outside the reef, you have to be used to the sea and a good swimmer, because there are some waves out there.
If you want to learn Kitesurfing or Windsurfing the location is one of the best in the world, shallow water and super warm.
The nearest supermarket is 10 km away, but you can get a taxi really cheap to take you there and wait while you shop. If you just want to buy panini, water, sodas, etc. during the day, there is a public beach 500 meters to the right of the resort where you can buy from local mobile shops.

All together this is not the last time i have visited Indian Resort in Le Morne, we absolutely loved it...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar if you do not want to hear music from the entertainment during the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent a couple of nights there in Dec.Firstly staffs are very nice but they were overloaded with work which makes the service appalling not to say very bad.On arrival there was no one to take our luggage to our rooms, or we would have had to wait for a couple of hours before getting someone so we carried our stuff to the rooms situated on the second floor and of course the elevator does not work.Then we looked for beach towel to use in the pool and there was none that was clean so we had to use the towel in the room.The ac leaked water in the room I was in.The tv in our room did not work and I called reception to inform them.yet no one ever came.The spa was out of service.
I think Indian resort badly needs a good renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Padmini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad K, ECommerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Padmini,

We regret to hear that certain flaws in our service have given you any cause to complain.

The delay for getting your luggage to the room is due to the fact that we have a high occupancy rate lately.

We have informed the maintenance about the TV and the leakage and you had in your room and they have fixed the issue.

With regards to the spa, it was closed because we need to repair an hydrotherapy pool pump and the parts is currently not available in Mauritius.

We wish to reassure you that your complaint is being considered with utmost seriousness and all possible remedial actions will be taken.

Regards,
Indian Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our second stay here with family and we enjoyed every bit of it. The resort is right on the beach and the best one in Maurititus for windsurfing. In fact our kids loved watching the various kitesurfers dotting the sea.. Rooms are very pleasant and the food is fantastic too..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkdskiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This ridiculous place has compelled me to write this review DURING my stay at the resort. I don't see why I booked two rooms here, completely worthless, just like a 108 other guests thought it to be.

Uncurtious staff, unworthy food and beverages manager (his rudeness deserves a paragraph of explanation, he seems to believe that he's the guest in the resort and not us, not having the courtesy to speak respectfully).

On our first day, we go for dinner and there's absolutely NOBODY to cater to us. The place is full of people, and after a tireless wait, we are directed to another part of the resort with tables, only to be greeted by ants. That seemed like a fun beginning (sarcastic ofcourse). We go to the buffet, once again noticing that there was no food available to us?! We were told that we would receive vegetarian food, although all I saw was 3 trays all of them now empty, which formerly contained vegetarian food. The rest was all non-vegetarian, so keep in mind that you don't have much of a choice if you're a vegan. Ironically I believe that the INDIAN RESORT doesn't cater very well to the indian crowd.

We weren't the only ones having the issue, but there were 2 other families too, who were given a hard time. The rice that we got later on was uncooked, the chef agreed that it was ( I don't understand why it was served in the first place- its a health hazard, what else can be uncooked?!! ). What we got next was alright, acceptable (food to fill our stomachs and nothing more)

Don't be fooled by the free wifi that they advertise because it is only available about 10 meters from the reception and any further you're without internet connectivity (what a shame).

The room I got, I liked it at first, until I found out that the AC wasn't working. Tried calling the reception but nobody would pick up, had to walk all the way over there to tell them about the issue. After 45 minutes and another multiple phone calls, someone came to fix it. Obviously they couldn't and thus I was given another room "only to sleep in for the night" - I qoute, as said by the receptionist.

First 6 hours and this is the condition, I wonder what awaits me.

The place, mauritius is beautiful though, don't let INDIAN RESORT spoil it for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fkgrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shad K, ECommerce Manager at Indian Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Fkgrh,

We are writing to express how sorry we are that flaws in our service have given you any cause to complain.

We have been experiencing rapid increase in our occupancy lately, and we expect that growth to continue. Consequently, we have hired a number of new people who may not master all required skills and attitude yet. This may have resulted in the flaws in our service which you mention. We are adding senior support staff to serve as mentor to rapidly level out the service.

Our buffet planning is on a ten days basis and the choice and variety is quite extensive. We are sorry if what we are offering is not to your taste.

We are glad to inform you that the maintenance has fixed the AC and its now working.

Regards,
Indian Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Le Morne hotels
0.7 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Creole
Hotel Riu Creole
#6 of 11 in Le Morne
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Le Morne
Hotel Riu Le Morne
#5 of 11 in Le Morne
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The St. Regis Mauritius Resort
2.2 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Resort

Address: Pointe Sud Ouest Le Morne 1 Le Morne Road, Le Morne, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Riviere Noire District > Le Morne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Le Morne
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Le Morne
Price Range: £185 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 349
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Indian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Hotel Le Morne
Indian Resort Mauritius/Le Morne
Indian Le Morne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing