We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

When we were in Mauritius, we actually stayed in the self catering place across the road so this review is only for the restaurant itself.

The staff were absolutely brilliant!!

We went there for breakfast and supper a couple of times and every time it was great. They have great Mauririan Cuisine at the hotel and when we first went there for supper they went through the whole buffet with us.

The restaurant manager Mr Sailesh was a brilliant host and recommended some great dishes to us as well as some really great cocktails. He even gave us some little tastes of the buffet on our one night there for supper.

They even tried to help us find my girlfriend's earring when it feel on the floor!!!

Would def recommend going if you enjoy Indian cuisine as their buffets are great!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Minette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    132
    59
    33
    24
See reviews for
70
181
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This must be one of the most priceworth hotels in Mauritius! Nice clean room with air cond and shower. A nice swimminpool just outside the room. Breakfast included. 150 metres to the beach. And the management is so friendly!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our stay in hotel was booked by our Travel Agent. When we reached hotel, we were received with a drink and the hotel folks were very welcoming.
The rooms were in poor state. The rooms has false ceiling which makes its height even less. The first room assigned to me was 206 which is very small room. There was no ventilation. The front porch was shared by other room. In short there was no privacy. I immediately went at the reception and changed the room to 207 which was bigger. The TVs in the rooms were CRT. I expected flat screen as I was told by my travel agent that hotel standard was as good as Indian 5 stars. We spotted a lizard in our room. The annoying part was the dim yellow lights. They really make you feel depressed. Management should really change them. The bathroom was very small yet manageable. There is only one sink in bathroom and if you spill water outside shower room, it comes directly inside your room. The Wifi connectivity is good ONLY in reception. Management should add few more routers near rooms. The beach is on other side of road and only 2-3 chairs are there for this hotel that too on the rocky side. The main good part of beach belongs to other hotels. There are no recreational facilities at the hotel apart from empty pool table.
On the other hand, the resort area is well maintained and clean. Swimming pool is good and cleaned regularly. Food was good. There were 2 holidays and during the dinner, hotel have arranged live music which was the best part. We enjoyed a lot during those 2 days. Hotel staff is polite. Mr. Avkash helped us a lot with Catamaran cruise which was the best part of Mauritius Trip. He is very jolly fellow and genuinely helps the tourists. All other folks on reception were also very helpful.

Room Tip: i stayed in 207, its big but there is no good furniture in balcony. Get the rooms near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Ok this is a second hand review from a Good friend i guided to Le Grand bleu based on previous reviews .

Experiences he faced -
1, Untidy Rooms (Roaches infested rooms)
2, No Proper Reception - Room contact .
3, Cuisine doesn't suit a Vegan .
4, Failed to provide Package inclusions .

In short A Failed Honeymoon experience. I would suggest a complete rework on the hotel with proper sanitizing !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MukhilMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trou aux Biches hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The lower rate made me apprehensive at first but after reading previous customer reviews, I opted for the Thomas cook. The team of Thomas cook decorated our suite in Le Grand Bleu Hotel just how I asked them to . they were very friendly and cooperative and made us feel at ease. The speed boat rides were thrilling and i loved the part that my wife held on to me all the time during those rides! The pristine beaches and scenic views were so calming that it helped us de-stress after the hectic wedding week. The best visit was to the Ile aux Cerfs. They took us to some local eateries to try out the delicacies of that region. The hotel was clean and hygienic.The staff attended to us whenever we needed something and readily captured our moments in our camera. Thank you Thomas Cook for the unexpected surprises and for making our honeymoon perfect!

Room Tip: if you want a lovely time with your wife opt for the suite. the hotel staff arrange for special surp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kavita_rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashik
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at le grand bleu hotel for 6 nights 7 days from 15th to 21st January 2014 and the hotel stay made the Mauritius trip even more memorable. The staff are very polite and always there to serve you with a smile at all times. All the staff at the restaurant are very courteous specially Thapa and Keshav who always greet everyone with a smile. Avkash at the reception is a very cheerful person to speak to and he even helped us with bookings for catamaran cruise and under sea walk :) the food variety for dinner and every day at the restaurant used to be lavish and a food lover's delight..free wifi service was a definite plus..the staff even used to prepare indian breakfast daily for indian guests..all in all it was a memorable stay for me and my wife and i would highly recommend le grand bleu to anyone visiting Mauritius.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purshottam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were at the Hotel for the birthday of my wife from 25 to 27 january and had a very nice stay.

The staffs are very helpful and friendly. they always try to make our stay pleasant, Especially , MR NAZIM , THE MANAGER, THE RECEPTIONIST MRS YONA, THE RESTUARANT MANAGER : MR SAILESH AND THE WAITERS: MR THAPPA AND MISS ASHNA, WHO WERE ALWAYS CHEERFUL AND EAGER TO HELP.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reaz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.2 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
822 reviews
2.8 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#6 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,248 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
Cocotiers Seaside Boutik Hotel
#1 of 1 in Baie du Tombeau
308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Bleu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bleu Hotel

Property: Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Address: Coastal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#4 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Grand Bleu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Grand Bleu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Bleu Hotel Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing