We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good vaule”
Review of L'Assiette du Nord

L'Assiette du Nord
Cuisines: Seafood, Cajun & Creole, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: L'Assiette du Nord is the oldest, re-known restaurant in Trou Aux Biches.We offer a variety of excellent Mauritian and Chinese dishes. Our live sega and one-man shows are the most favorite among our customers. When dinning at L'Assiette du Nord you are sure to enjoy the famous Mauritian hospitality as well as delicious food!So come and rejoice of our delicious food, soothing atmosphere and warm staff.
Uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good vaule”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Good choice of food. Desserts were tiny and expensive but otherwise good value overall.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    96
    30
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Best of a limited bunch in TAB”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

TAB is not exactly heaving with culinary experiences, unless you are dining in one of the resort hotels.

Stand alone restaurants are few and far between, the biggest grouping being after the Police Station, near the Traffic lights (there is only one set in TAB, so useful as a reference point!)

L'Assiete is notable not just for the well prepared food, but the fact that it is not right on the road front, which is the location of the majority of other places in TAB, with associated issues of noise and dust.

Had a very good pepper steak, at reasonable price, and made a change form travelling into Grand Baie, which itself is not a throbbing metropolis of dining excellence.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bunny-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely mealing”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We went here on Friday night for dinner - myself, my husband who is Maurician and our son who is 12. We are staying just up the road at Anandi Apartments. Very pleasant meal with friendly staff. David at our apartment recommended it, He asked them to let him see the kitchens which they did and he said it was very clean.

Food was very good and mostly local cuisine. I had chicken brochette with chips and salad, my son has steak and husband had curry. It cost equivilant of £27 for three of us includiing starter, main and 2 rum and cokes. We were given a complimentary vanilla rum - nice touch.

Would definately recommend it. It is just up on the road to Triolet just up from Trou aux Biches police station.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, very good value for money”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We came here for dinner on our first night in Mauritius and came back almost every night.
The food is great, fresh and well cooked, the place is nice and easy, the service is excellent, quick and friendly and the waiters make you feel at home. We would like to thank especially Ron for being so nice and professional with us -thanks Ron, you deserve it! good luck for your life!-
We were treated as we were part of the family, not just strangers or tourists.
As we were regular customers we were offered every time a cocktail at the beginning of the meal and vanilla rum after dinner. Lovely!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JinjaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb L'Assiette”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We had a nice few nights in this restaurant while staying in TaB. We'd heartily recommend it to anyone.

Food was superb...fresh samosas are to die for. The chicken curry is fantastic. Portions are small by western stanards, but in my honest opinion they are perfect.

Staff were so kind and friendly. A gift for my 6yo son a little motorbike. They took our 11month old for a stroll around the restuarant while we had our meal. They were just so genuinely lovely. (In fact nearly all the Mauritians we met we super, definitely a national trait).

Drinks were very reasonable, Phoenix Beer is the local brew and its great. The house red was excellent.

Prices for 2 adults and 1 child came to around £15 (3 courses plus drinks, yeah really), then throw in the child care and excellent service.

We'll remember the lovely nights here for years to come.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank oruanaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Assiette du Nord also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to L'Assiette du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing