We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical idyll”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Tropical idyll”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Arriving at about 0500 in the morning from the overnight flight, you are bound to be a bit groggy, but even the immigration officers at SSR airport in Mauritius greet you with a smile. After about an hours drive we arrived at the Cardinal. Again we were warmly greeted, offered juice, coffee and pastries, and a shower. We then snoozed on the beautiful private beach until our room was ready at about lunch time. There are only 13 rooms/suites here, and over our two weeks, the hotel was never more than half full. Our junior suite was generously proportioned, with an enormous romantic bath, and walk in shower. A balcony with delightful views of the beach and Indian Ocean.
Throughout our stay, all of the staff were absolutely delightful and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Slightly oddly, the owner sat in seclusion every morning at his own breakfast table snapping occasional orders, and unlike his staff never smiled or acknowledged the presence of any of his guests, perhaps he should follow their example? We were on bed and breakfast, and the breakfast was OK but not outstanding. Again slightly oddly, fresh orange juice, as opposed to processed was available at extra cost, but at this level you might have expected it to be the norm, and interestingly Mr Big the owner always had all the extra items. The hotel is not cheap (circa £200/night) which for Mauritius is expensive, so really you would expect a five star breakfast to be the norm. Most guests seemed to be on half board so took dinner every night. I would not recommend this. The restaurant is OK, but a bit limited. They can cook things to order, I had a very nice plane lobster with butter well cooked, but again, the ala carte menu and wine list is expensive by comparison with elsewhere in Mauritius. We enjoyed some really superb meals in restaurants around the island, which often came in at 1500MR (£30) for two with wine and cocktails. There is a very nice beach bar which does snack lunches, and here I had a nice Creole prawns, but some awful satay skewers. There is a piano bar, which is a bit sad, because there is a lovely pianist, but with so few guests, he was often playing just for us. Overall, this is a superb location and great hotel, which I would unreservedly recommend, but the restaurant needs some re-thinking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martinidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Directeur général at Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following :-

You stayed at our property on bed and breakfast basis during the low season; however, the resort was fully booked the week prior to your arrival date!

Your breakfast during your stay consisted of:-
1.On the buffet : Selection of 7 local and imported fruit varieties, 3 varieties of cereals, 2 varieties of fresh juice, 3 varieties of cold cuts namely salami, mortadella and braised ham, 2 varieties of smoked fish namely salmon and marlin, 2 varieties of cheese, 2 varieties of milk, 5varities of puff pastry, 2 varieties of cake, 3 varieties of homemade jam. 1 plain yoghurt with fruits salad displayed separately, plain and brown sliced bread, baguettes, 10 varieties of dried and candied fruits, Bircher muesli
2.A la carte (included in your package): 5 different preparation of eggs, roasted beef platter, bacon, sausage, pancake with choice of garnish, freshly squeezed juice.

Fresh fruit juice at breakfast time forms part of your package. Moreover, this information is mentioned on the “Breakfast Menu Carte” displayed on your table.

At dinner time, within the half-board package, you can opt for:
•Our “Suggestion of the day” menu including: 2 choices of starters, 2 choices of main course and one dessert
•A la carte including: a selection of 7 starters, 7 main courses, 7 desserts and cheese (some of the dishes available with supplement)
•Mauritian dishes with local flavours
•Themed menus at the Beach Restaurant at extra cost

Guests who have booked on bed and breakfast basis are equally entitled to the same choice of food from the Restaurants … However, our menu of the day, our Carte and our themed menus are charged at extra cost.

All our prices meet the standards of a 5***** boutique hotel and are in keeping with resorts of the same category.

Our satay on the lunch card comprises of Satay Skewers marinated with saffron and garlic, fried rice with eggs, steamed bokchoy leaves, cucumber salad and satay sauce. These skewers can be served plain and with other available garnish as per our taste – as you mentioned to the Restaurant Manager, you like to eat plain food with chips as garnish.

~The Management~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    30
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
33
228
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rivarennes
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a super small hotel for anyone who is looking for peace and quiet in a superb location. All 13rooms have a sea view. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the penthouse suite for 2 days, it is amazing, fantastic balcony with private plunge pool. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and with more staff than clients service is great. Rooms are cleaned twice per day and there are some very nice little touches such as fruit each day and little apero snacks. The larger sister hotel across the road has a very nice spa and tennis courts etc which those staying at Le Cardinal can use.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

When booking this hotel, didn't realize how small it was. But what a pleasant surprise! The entry way is very unnoticeable and low-key, but once inside it is so quaint and classy. With only 13 rooms in total, it makes a very quiet and romantic getaway place. Not for someone who likes parties and crowds.

Room is very spacious and comfortable with private balcony and view of the sea and garden. Direct access to the beach. No need to worry about not being able to find an empty beach chair, beach towels all placed under the beach hut. (be aware of beach vendors and tour guys. They are way too expensive. Speaking from experience)

Staff are very friendly. They go out their ways to please the guests. The restaurant staff prepared a meal specially for our big family and always tried to cheer up our little girl who was usually grumpy at dinner due to jet lag.

Half board is really good. There is fruit everyday. We always complained there was too much food, and on many days we skipped lunch all together.

For people who has to shop, on exiting the hotel to the right, 15 minutes on foot there are some shops and cafés.

Only complain is there is no elevator, even though it is only three floors, but a bit difficult for someone with knee problems.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkchouchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

This is our last day of a 10 day holiday at Le Cardinal. We have had a beautiful and memorable holiday. The setting is amazing! Small Luxury 5* hotel, all rooms facing the sea on the beach. Always able to access a plush sun bed either on the grass by the infinity pool or a few yards away on the beach. All beach towels within arms reach. Lovely up market beach bar with great selection of food, drinks and cocktails. All rooms are suites and are fabulous! Very comfortable extra large beds and pillows! Discreet toilet. Huge walk in rain shower with hand shower facility. Double sinks with lovely large lit mirrors. Large circular bath with incense stick and candles (lovely touch) Settee, shelf space, flat screen TV, DVD player, mini bar, tea & coffee facility in the room with a lovely choice of cups and glasses if you bring some duty free over for an aperitif before dinner. Mini bar. Electronic easy to use safe. Good quiet air con! Nice size balcony with quality furniture with of course a sea, pool and palm tree view. The restaurant is amazing!! Table settings tasteful and uncluttered. Interesting and varied menu. All tastes catered for. Superbly presented and cooked to preference. Amuse bouche and petit fours every evening for that extra special touch! The piece de resistance is the wonderful staff and management! Nothing is too much trouble!!! Friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, curious, nothing is too much trouble! It has been one of the most relaxing and stress free holidays to date and we have stayed in many nice places. Most of the men are footy mad mainly Liverpool and Man U so if your coming to Mauritius bring some memorabilia, we are on our next trip. We are just getting ready for out last night, a romantic dinner organised by the hotel. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel, I had high expectations for Mauritius and was not disappointed! P.S. Stegan makes the best Mojitos and Piña Colados ever!! Ciao for now. Xx

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Waderoberts8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel in Trou aux Biches and you get everything you expect from a 5 star Hotel. The service is very good and the staff is experienced an very nice. Two big plus to mention are: the absolutely good quality of food - breakfast and dinner (half board). The dinner gets prepared once you order it from the menu (starter, main dish, dessert) - even after a weeks stay there is enough to select from as they add a daily special on the menu. The second thing are the rooms - the Junior Suites are very big and decorated in a stylish way, the terraces are big enough to relax and enjoy the sea view every room has to offer. We travelled a lot but this is one of the nicest room we ever had. Also to mention is the good offer of watersport activities complimentary for the guests such as the glass bottom boat excursion twice a day or water skiing.
One thing that goes more on the negative side is, that the hotel has not the best stretch of beach compared to the rest of the gorgeous Trou aux Biches beach. There was plenty of seagrass at the beach of the hotel that could not be removed despite the cleaning that is done every day. But if you go some 100 mtrs to the left of the hotel, you find nice spots to go into the water.
The Cardinal Exclusive Resort is definitely a good address to spend holidays in Mauritius - if you look for a small hotel with very good gastronomy and service.

Room Tip: Junior Suites - all of them facing the sea. better on 2nd floor than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suiza_salsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nwest
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here at the end of November & beginning of December for 12 nights on a half board basis. The location right on the beach is lovely, though the sand in front of the hotel is full of dead coral and is hard on your feet. We found ALL the hotel staff, without exception, to be friendly, courteous and professional. Any request we had was dealt with promptly and efficiently. We had a light bulb fail in our bathroom and a problem flushing the toilet on another occasion, both were fixed within 15 minutes of being reported. The food in general was very good, with plenty of choice, however some of the choices had quite heavy supplement to pay. Prices for drinks was equivalent to what you would expect to pay at top end establishments in the UK.
The rooms were cleaned and tidied daily and in a good state of repair. All rooms faced the sea, however as the hotel is on the North West coast of the island it does mean that most of the rooms do not benefit much from the sunlight.
On the negative side, I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, and this is the first one which did not have complimentary bottled water. The hotel is also advertised on web sites as being a quiet location and a "couples" hotel. When we were at the hotel there were two families with children there. The hotel only has 13 rooms, and although the children we saw were quiet and well behaved and their presence did not bother us, we could se other guests were upset. The hotel is too small and does not have facilities for children, and should stick to what it does best which is as a couples hotel with a reputation for excellent service. Both the lack of bottled water and the children issues have been raised on other tripadvisor reports. Addressing these matters would only enhance the hotel's reputation.
Note, the beaches in Mauritius are public. As a consequence that are a lot of traders selling everything from snacks to day trips patrolling the beaches. On the plus side, most of these do not keep pestering you if you say no, and you will find that some of the day trips they offer are equivalent in price to going to the tour operators themselves.

Room Tip: The deluxe penthouse is the best suite to get for sunlight. If you can get this room then you will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Le Cardinal for the second part of our honeymoon in Mauritius. Having come from a much larger hotel it was wonderful to have some privacy and quiet but still all the service and luxury you'd expect from a 5 star hotel.
We were fortunate enough to get our room upgraded and our suite was huge with lovely ocean views.
The staff were helpful and in particular we enjoyed the cocktails in the piano bar which was a nice touch. We also received appetisers in our room before dinner in the evening.
The food on the whole was good and there was certainly plenty of it! I preferred the a la carte style dinners rather than the buffet style that tends to be on offer in larger hotels. This was more personal and felt like going out for dinner every evening. I would highly recommend Le Cardinal for couples looking for a quiet and luxury stay and delicious food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,440 reviews
33.5 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Baystone Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,248 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort

Property: Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort
Address: Royal Road, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Cardinal Exclusive Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Le Cardinal Exclusive Resort Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing