We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great authentic Italian food ”

1974, da Antonio e Giulia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: SPECIALITIES: fresh seafood and fish from Mauritius ocean, traditional italian dishes and original "made in Italy" products prepared by an italian long experienced chef.
1 review
“Great authentic Italian food ”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Been a few times to 1974 and each it surprises me in a positive way. The food is direct from the Amalfi coast and Capri. The food and value 10 out of 10 no menu Antonio and Giulia explain the daily specials which depend what's available in the market that day. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Davih_mru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    146
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“one of the best Italian restaurant in Mauritius”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Tonio and Gulia had a very good idea when they decided to come and open their restaurant in Mauritius.These people are totally dedicated to their business and their customers.Warm welcome to every customers and serving only best Italian food using only fresh ingredients , fresh pasta,
and only using fresh fish selected from the catch of the day.
The Italian wine selection is very good.
I would recommend this restaurant to every Italian food lovers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DukeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Italian food in Mauritius”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We love the idea of having a surprise every time that we are going, since the menu changes to offer you the freshest Products, unexpected but really tasteful dishes. You don't need to think about what you are gonna have, Antonio will do it for you. And you can be sure, it wil be a wonderful surprise for your tongue: from starters till desserts. All are home made.
And we feel always really welcomed there. Antonio and Julia great personally all the customers.
We just love going there. Its our best restaurant in the island. We go there many times a month and Antonio finds always something different to suggest us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALbertogalbanseoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing,Uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the review”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice restaurant great food but I must say that they don't have a menu and it is small they should have a bigger property.they are always full

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So pleased we found this!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Brilliant food and service! We have eaten at most of the good restaurants in the north and have to say that 1974 is by far the best . It's a great location, we sat on the verandah, Guilia was charming and the food delicious. The menu is small but you certainly have enough choice and they are very incredibly helpful with selections. We didn't find it pricey given that we have been to many other restaurants charging similar prices for very average food. All the pasta is home made and the sauces are seasonal and could not be fresher. Our friends had the beef fillet which was cooked beautifully and apparently tasted wonderful. I had a home made ribbon pasta with fresh porcini and pancetta sauce. Yum.
If you like " chain food Italian " then you won't like this.

We can't wait to go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1974, da Antonio e Giulia also viewed

Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
 
Grand Baie, Riviere du Rempart District
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 
Trou aux Biches, Pamplemousses District
 

Been to 1974, da Antonio e Giulia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing