We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable Hotel, fantastic pool deck”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel offers intimate, personal service. The staff is really nice. The bedrooms are spacious and have good showers. THe room has a nice size balcony overlooking the garden. The beach is small but the ocean is great to swim in. I tried water ski-ing which was on offer every day. The people at the boat house can organise any (ocean)trip. We went for a trip to the South of the Island to swim with the dolphins but we left too late in the morning, so when we got to where the dolphins were, there were too many boats around to swim. You should leave no later than 7 for the dolphin experience.
We got great service from Priscilla at the pool who looked after us with drinks and snacks. The night receptionist was not too clued up unfortunately.
The breakfast buffet is okay, they changed the lay out of the buffet every day. Eggs are made to order. Variety of fruits and yoghurt are available. The clearing and relaying of tables during breakfast could be better organised.
There is daily evening entertainment of either a band or a show. On New Years Eve they had a great buffet with a nice Brazillian show afterwards. The French Champagne was on special that evening:-)
Great view of the fireworks all along the coast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the restaurant as they play loud music in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyhcpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

this is a really solidy little 3 star hotel - we were lucky to have sea view rooms which was very special. the rooms are clean and have everything that one would need on a beach holiday. the staff was extremely attentive - there is a little bit of animation and the kids looked they loved it as well (we dont have any). the beach is small but very clean and there are enough loungers both at the pool and at the beach to lie on.
the buffet on New Years was outstanding and they had a really nice party going.
for anyone who is looking for a non pretentious 3 star hotel can highly recommend this
you need to know that there is a theme and dancing most nights and because of the way that the hotel is built the music can be heard in all the rooms - but at 23:00 the music always stopped so this was not a real problem

Room Tip: definitely try for sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Nice hotel with a nice swimming pool and a great view of the sea. You will not regret this hotel at all, it's not expensive and there's so much to do. A lot of its activities are free, like kayak, the glass bottom boat and a few more. Their breakfast is really good too! And not to forgot, the staff are super friendly... as you can expect any true Mauritius to be!! :D

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmazingKunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

I am a Independent Traveller and on a wheelchair so one can imagine the assistance i require. I decided to travel alone leaving myself fully in the hands of god who actually took good care of me through the kind, helpful hotel staff. its not just the people but the Hotel environment, the view, the stay, the room everything was superb. All in all i would say it was an amazing experience. Yes food according to indian standards miht not be well appreciated, but as i know of they are opening a new indian restaurant in the property.

Room Tip: nearing the beach corner. For me they put a wooden plank for my chair to go in the room easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pammuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in October 2012. Relaxed family feeling - no stiff, formal atmosphere like many other hotels have stayed at, on the island. Staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and nothing was too much trouble. Staff were also very approachable.
Room was comfortable with superb view. Mini-bar items were quite expensive but you can buy these items cheaply at the Super U in Grand Baie.
There was good snorkeling and safe swimming right in front of the hotel and great beach walks. Kayak and waterskiing was easy to arrange. Good variety and quality of food with something to suit all palates.
Bus stop was 20m from the entrance, with buses every 15 minutes - the ride into Grand Baie was very easy and inexpensive.
Overall, was excellent value for money and the easy going atmosphere allowed us to really relax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

On a whim we decided that we wanted to experience Mauritius. After searching for a place to stay and trying to find the best rates and airfare I gave up and asked an agent to assist. In two days all the arrangements were finalised.
The hotel we decided on was Coral Azur in Mont Choicy, we were soon corrected on the pronounciation after we landed. We travelled from Cape Town, via OR Tambo.
The flight with Mauritius Air was excellent !!! and we arrived relaxed and rested in Mauritius. We also had a friendly driver that did the transfer from the airport to the hotel, staff at the Hotel were friendly at our arrival, smiles everywhere.
Our room had all of the necessary amenities, although we would have liked a bath after a long day. There was a serviced minibar in the room and the aircon worked well.
We also enjoyed the catamaran trips (lunch and all drinks included) and snorkled in paradise ! the reefs are amazing, a must for everyone. Dinners in the evening were themed (with dancers), the food was good and there is more than enough to eat.. wine is a bit expensive
Although this is not the most modern hotel, the rates, service and staff made our visit worthwhile ..
It is a bit windy this time of year

Room Tip: It may be worthwhile to pay a little extra to have a sea view room, the sunsets are awesome. Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

1) FOOD was terrible - breakfast : uncooked baked beans, birds hopping on bread knife and board in front of impassive staff, Good coffee though. Dinner : they do not cater well for vegetarians - tasteless food. Overall lack of hygiene.
2) ROOM - no kettle. When you phone reception for more duvets - are bluntly told to dial another number !
3) BOAT HOUSE - had to wait half a day for kayak. Could not go for glass bottom as reservations are not made the day before but on same day at 9 am. Boat was fully booked at 0910 ! Plus no communication between boat house and reception - had to go to and fro several times !!!
4) NO GYM :-(
5) PAYMENT OF BILL - you are bluntly told to come back in fifteen minutes because the employee in charge of card payments is somewhere else !
CONCLUSION : NEVER GOING BACK !

Room Tip: Rooms next to kids club noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sheldon68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.3 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,303 reviews
2.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
Pereybere Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Pereybere
586 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
631 reviews
2 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort

Address: Route Royale, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range: £73 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coralia Club Mont Choisy Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Coralia Hotel Mont Choisy
Coralia Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing