We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a tired building with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The casuarina is need of a makeover but its staff in the restaurant and elsewhere make up for the tired decor - Ruth was our customer liason and she was wonderful, informative and very helpful. If you want a trip around the island to see the waterfall, aquarium, towns, volcano etc. see Ali the taxi driver in the hotel car park - he is real gentleman! The restaurant food is variable and some dishes are superb making us go back for more - other meals have been disapointing but we have aslways found enough variation in the restaurant that we have all had something we like. The beach just across the road is quite good and clean. The souvenier shop at the hotel is run by a really pleasant young lady and the prices are average. We would strongly advise against a visit to Port Louis unless you really like the Morrocan / Casablanca market atmosphere - pop up to Grande Baie instead. A good hotel on a wonderful island which is full of diverse and happy locals who are, on the whole, very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following:-

One of the specific features of our property is to be lime painted. In winter and during the rainy season, it is absolutely necessary to whitewash on dry surfaces … we therefore really need a lot of sun to carry out those works.
We also wish to inform you that we carry out a refurbishment program annually so as to meet guests’ expectations. The program for this year pertains to our hotel rooms!

Our French Chef caters for an international cuisine to meet the tastes of guests from different nationalities. We are happy with the fact that there is quite a wide variety to give you satisfaction.
However, you can also eat at our “A-la-carte” restaurants with supplement.

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel looks good,location is good,but bad services, worst room not at all clean, sticky flooring, Bad food, worst .... no flow up and main thing about reception people charging extra money by say their security purpose. I can only say i am cheated by yatra.com . Its an request to you all review readers please clarify every thing before booking.Please don't go on looks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Narendra_Patel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following :-

Ø First and foremost, your package is subject to a mutual agreement between the Tour Operator and the hotel, defined within a specific budget to provide the relevant services … as such, not all services are included in your half-board package … bottled water is chargeable, filtered water in carafes is free of charge … this was clearly explained to you during your stay.

Ø Our Reception Supervisor met with you several times during your stay … you never expressed your dissatisfaction about the hotel services (accommodation and food) … We cannot understand your remarks ….

Ø The Reception team does its work as expected … upon check-in, you have been requested to provide a guarantee (either cash or credit card) for services which do not form part of your half-board package … This is a very common procedure applicable by all hotels around the world … nothing unusual …

Ø We recommend that you are made fully aware of the contents of your package at the time of booking so as to avoid any misunderstanding.

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks at this hotel.The staff were so friendly and obliging.The atmosphere was very relaxed.The location suited our needs perfectly and the road to cross to the beach was no problem at all.We'll certainly use the hotel again,thank you all at Casuarina.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gerardbouic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and myself have just returned from this hotel we spent 2 weeks there booked with mercury direct.
On arrival we were greeted by a member of staff given a welcome drink and then instructed what we could have and not have on the all inclusive package we booked.
We were allocated a large room at the end of the hotel complex which was very spacious and kept nice and clean.
The complex has lovely gardens which are well kept.
We enjoyed the drinks that were available on the all inclusive ;package but were not impressed with the food offered.
I lived on their home made bread which was lovely and very little else.
My husband ate the vegetable curries every evening as he does not eat fish which was on the menu most lunch times and evenings.
We were shocked that we had to pay 90 rupees for a bowl of chips if we required this basic food at mealtime, also the charge made by the hotel for changing beach towels.
The watersports on the beach were very nice and used often by both of us.
We booked 3 trips with Vijay on the beach who is very good at looking after you also the trips are almost half the price of the tour operator.
All in all we enjoyed our holiday even though we were disappointed by the dining experience at the hotel.

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRIPLEY65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following:-

> During your stay, the buffets consisted of the following:-
Breakfast : cheese platter, delicatessen (ham or salami), croissants, brioches, chocolate bun, Vienna loaf, sandwich loaf (white and wholewheat), 1 variety of cake, 2 varieties of cereals, selection of fresh and pickled fruits, plain or fruit yoghurt, 2 varieties of fruit juices, 2 varieties of jam, omelet, eggs, chicken sausage, 2 varieties of garnish and once every 2 days: pancakes with maple syrup and riz au lait.
Lunch : 3 varieties of mixed salad, raw vegetables with condiments, salad dressings, side dishes for the hot meals, 2 hot dishes (meat or fish or chicken either grilled or cooked in sauce), 6 varieties of desserts, fresh fruits and yoghurts.
Dinner : 5 salads, mixed raw vegetables, 1 potage, 1 variety of fish (either grilled or cooked in sauce), 1 variety of meat (either grilled or cooked in sauce), 3 varieties of vegetables + our Indian Corner (for Asian guests) 4 varieties of desserts, fruit salad, 2 varieties of yoghurt, fresh fruits, 2 varieties of ice-cream.

The meals do not consist solely of fish and vegetables curry!!

>It is indeed true that guests can eat “à-la-carte” with supplement in case they wish to have more personalized meals corresponding to their tastes.
Being on All Inclusive basis does not imply that every service is free of charge!!

> May we remind you that your All Inclusive package is subject to a contractual agreement between your Tour Operator and the hotel, defined within a specific budget to provide the relevant services. As you so correctly pointed out (and thanks, once again!!), our product is good value for money.

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel is spread out over quite a large garden, full of flowers and tropical trees, which is kept beautifully clean and tidy. There are 2 pools and a wonderful beach of white sand (complete with sunshades and loungers) that is a short 2-minute walk across a road. This not a problem; it simply means you probably can't walk straight from your room to the beach wearing only swimmers. The rooms are mostly in small groups or bungalows; they are nicely decorated with a balcony or a patio for ground floor rooms, well-equipped with air-conditioning (do ask to be shown how it works), a flat-screen tv, a minibar (make sure it is unlocked when you arrive and use it to keep water cool) and a kettle, teacups etc. There is nightly entertainment so some rooms are quieter than others.. The buffet food and drink choice is excellent, with fresh fruit and salad at every lunch and evening meal, with a good dessert selection. Meat and fish are freshly cooked (as are the breakfast omelettes) and there is curry every evening with occasional pasta dishes. This is a lovely hotel on a lovely island and I plan to return!

Room Tip: Guests staying near the two ornamental ponds may be affected by noisy nocturnal frogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PhyllRutland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Unfortunately, the supercilious idiot who commented that he\she was ashamed of being British due to complaints about the food obviously has no idea about catering for all. The Asian palette took preference with the European being generally disregarded. Some people were given chicken & chips on more than one occasion without charge because the food being offered was not suitable to them and when this information was imparted to the Catering Manager all he could do was shrug. - Draw your own conclusions

Health & Safety. There were few handrails going up and down uneven concrete steps and no lifts. The steps going into the walk in pool were steep and slippery - no handrail. Not suitable for anyone even with the slightest mobility problem.
Cleanliness. The bed linen was clean however the towels could have been a little less moth eaten and grey
Some people say it was value for money, in our opinion this is rubbish.

Room Tip: Choose second floor sea facing if you can climb stairs without too much problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, Directeur général at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We thank you for your review and would like to comment on the following :-

v We have already pointed out on this same forum the diversity and choice of our different buffets; our French Chef caters for an international cuisine to meet all our guests’ expectations.

v Our guests come mainly from: France, UK, Germany, Italy, India, Reunion Island, China, Scandinavian countries, Switzerland, CIS countries, Australia, Eastern Europe. We try out best to give them all satisfaction.

v It is not our concern to judge your comments on the other guests who have appreciated their stay at our property …. It could be that travelling abroad fits some persons better than others!

v We strictly adhere to the safety rules which are in consistence with the standard norms. Our Safety and Health Officer is very scrupulous about that issue.

v Once again, you have chosen to book on All Inclusive basis … Your all inclusive package is subject to a contractual agreement between the Tour Operator and the hotel, defined within a specific budget to provide the relevant services. You can ask for personalized dishes according to your taste which are available with supplement (see the “A-la-Carte” menu).

~ The Management ~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I have just returned from the most wonderful holiday of my life, in an amazing country, perfect resort, a great hotel, fantastic friendly and helpful staff. The food was plentiful, varied and delicous....plenty to choose from.

My room was cleaned and linen changed regularly, the staff could not do enough to please you., Although I did not want a fuss in public on my birthday, the staff were very thoughtful and decorated my room and baked me a cake on my special day, what a sweet thought.

I was a single traveller, but I had a full size room, with a king size bed, in a good location. As I was on my own, the staff were very thoughtful, checking that I was happy and if I needed anything......I almost felt like one of the 'family'....

I did not book any trips with the Mercury Rep, as she told me she would charge me double as I was travelling on my own!!! I was shocked, as I have never come across this before with other countries and other resorts, but this was not the fault of Casuarina.

I booked trips with Vijay on the beach, he was polite, business like, organised, happy to help with your requests. His trips were a lot cheaper, smaller groups, and extremely enjoyable, I would certainly recommend him. Also George, Lucky and Elvis, selling jewellery, sarongs and souvenirs were lovely, you could barter with them, the items were well priced, and they were not 'pushy'!

Make sure you make use of the free facilities on the beach, provided by the Casuarina, glass bottom boat, pedalos, sun beds etc, Roshan at the boat house is very helpful.

Yet another success Mercury, this is the second time I have travelled with your company!!

I will definitely be returning to not only Mauritus but the Casuarina at Trou aux Biches, as soon as I can

Room Tip: Although I had a room opposite the ponds and those frogs!!!! I used ear plugs first few nights and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
0.3 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
947 reviews
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,990 reviews
2.3 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
22.3 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casuarina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casuarina Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, 18 km from Port Louis, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius 742CU001
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#4 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#6 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range: £90 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casuarina Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of a lush tropical garden, Casuarina Resort & Spa is a Mauritian resort located across the beautiful beach of Trou Aux Biches in the North West of Mauritius, 30 mins from the Capital, Port Louis and 10 mins from the lively village of Grand Bay. Known in the past as the fisherman’s village, Trou Aux Biches is very famous for its long stretched white sandy beach, its geographical location and for its outstanding seabed, key area for diving sports and to discover the splendid flora and fauna of the Indian Ocean. The hotel has a unique Tropical architecture, with white walls made of limestone and thatched roofs. Originally built in 1973 with only 15 bungalows, there were 94 rooms expanded onto 7 hectares of timeless landscape of mature trees and swaying coconut trees. Supporting facilities include 3 inviting restaurants, 2 swimming pools, a gym and a Balinean styled Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Sunspot Tours, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casuarina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casuarina Hotel Mauritius
Casuarina Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Mauritius
Casuarina Trou Aux Biches
Casuarina Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing