We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the journey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We spent new year 2013/14 here with our children. It was our first trip to Mauritius and we we looking forward to some winter warmth. The resort is on the opposite side of the island to the airport which is a further 1hour 20mins after a long flight which we could have done without.

When we arrived we were exhausted. We went straight to our suite, which was lovely. 2 bedrooms well spaced apart, 2 bathrooms and 3 showers (including an outdoor one). We were initially nervous when we realised the sheer scale of the place - so many hotels / resorts seem to fail at scale. That afternoon the person who cleaned our room introduced themselves to us and explained they would take care of our suite for the whole holiday and asked us if we had any special preferences - a really nice touch.

However - when we went to the buffet restaurant for the first time, we were stunned at the quality of the food and the friendliness of the service. Buffet normally means pre-prepared food under hot lamps. Here - virtually all dishes were cooked in front of you. No expense was spared with incredible sea-food and all sorts of salads, fruits, meats and fishes.

There are 6 restaurants in all. All of them have authentic chefs and change their menus every 3 days. One of our complaints about spending any length of time in a resort is the desire for a change of scene / cuisine. Here, there was never a need to leave the resort (although we did feel guilty for seeing so little of the island).

All suites and villas are well spaced and the feeling of seclusion and privacy is extremely well achieved through grouping of about 10 villas around their own pool. No room is more than about a minute's walk from the main beach - a 2 mile bay of beautiful coconut palmed white sand beach with a reef about 200m from the beach.

Each day we took our 6 and 4yr old snorkelling on the reef - initially beach side an then ocean side. It had taken a battering from a cyclone but was still beautiful with all the typical tropical fish, eel and snake varieties.

The resort also has 6 tennis courts a huge gym, table tennis tables and all sorts of other activities. Quite often the owner would approach you at lunch or dinner, just to check how your stay was and whether everything was working out as you had planned.

All staff were excellent. Any special requests that cropped up were always handled impeccably and nothing was too much trouble.

The only disappointment was the kids club. Whilst the staff in there were all friendly enough and it seemed well equipped, it operated more as a holding pen than proactively engaging children and getting them all to play together. They spent most of their time handling boisterous children and so we didn't use it after the first time. However, the babysitters are happy to meet you at the restaurants and then take your children back to your villas which worked perfectly.

All in all it was the best family holiday we have had to date and worth the gruelling flight with small children. But then for the price, it should have been.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for a room far away from the main pool (where the main restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Webbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,586
    432
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
716
1,122
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had a great family holiday in Trou aux Biches in August 2013. The rooms have all been refurbished and have a walled outdoor shower as well as an indoor one. Staff were all very friendly. There were lots of activities for the children to do.Food was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben-Neelmanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Thank you to all of the staff for making our wedding an amazing occasion which took place in the restaurant area of the La Caravelle overlooking the beach. Jerome inspired us with ideas for our big day together with the guidance of Fatima Chuttoo.

Our beach party in the evening completed the day with the resident band, a saxophonist, pianist, and two singers. Sorry we have forgotten the bands name but they were truly amazing. If Jerome could please send us details we would love to add them to the review.

I would also like to thank my makeup and hair stylist who was very patient and wanted to ensure that I was happy with my makeover for the day. You achieved this tenfolds, thank you.

If you are looking to get married in Mauritius you should strongly consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaG2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I have travelled a lot, but I have never been to a place like this in my life. Complete and utter paradise. Beach is beautiful, people are friendly, every last detail of the rooms are thought through thoroughly. I would recommend anybody to stay here. Food is pricey, however, you get what you pay for, and every meal was superb!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amybabe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

If you've ever wondered what it feels like for a corporation to treat you as their own personal ATM, then book a few nights at Trou Aux Biches “resort” and get ready to get fleeced!

While our entire stay was marked with the hotel attempting to extract cash at every possible moment, nothing topped our last few moments at the hotel that were spent talking with their GM who was desperately bargaining with us to try and get us to give him a few dollars extra after the hotel had erroneously left a 330 Euro charge on our bill (we had prepaid).

In our case the extra 330 Euros they tried to get out of us for our two night stay was just the last line in a never ending barrage of shameless money grabs by the hotel.

Want to play tennis? Sure, the courts are free, the rackets are free, but you need to BUY tennis balls at 11 Euro a sleeve.

Want some water? No, no, no, don’t drink it from the tap they say! Just fork out a nice 3 Euro a bottle whenever thirst might call.

If you would like to pay 30% more for your taxi then by all means have concierge book it for you rather than doing it yourself.

I felt like a peasant trying to look for help from a noble man, whenever I needed to ask a hotel staff member for help.

To be fair, their beach is beautiful and their staff who work by the water are nice. You will be harassed by a hawker every 90 seconds while enjoying the stunning view on the beach, but that might not put you out too much.

My wife and I booked a last minute trip to Mauritius and stayed for two nights at Trou aux Biches. We arrived from the airport where one of the hotel staff had us wait for about 25 minutes for the most laborious check in I have ever endured. After waiting for 10 minutes, signing something then waiting for another 10 minutes the gentleman at reception walked over and finally finished off our check-in by deducting 250 Euros from our credit card for “incidentals”. A golf cart took us to our room and we settled in for our stay.

For dinner that first night none of their dining options looked that appealing (I’m sure they all serve good quality food, but not one place seemed to have any sort of authentic atmosphere). We planned to go to a local restaurant down the road from the hotel. The hotel's taxi driver, who was going to take us the 10km to Grand Baie (charging 15 Euros each way for the 10 min drive) deemed our choice of restaurant too plebeian and begged that we consider a much more posh location. He basically refused to take us somewhere that he didnt think was befitting of what he saw was a fancy hotel. The restaurant he selected was fine, but when we finally escaped the clutches of the hotel the next day and walked down the road to find a venue of our own we enjoyed much better cuisine at half the price.

There were was not a single instance of interaction with their staff when it didn't feel like they were angling to add a charge to our room or get us to buy something more. The hotel tries to bill itself as offering some sort of "package", and they do indeed offer some free watersports and beach activities. The activities were nice, but nothing that any other hotel in Mauritius doesn't offer.

And then the coup de gras. The hotels magnum opus. We'd just finished a game of tennis and were laughing about the ridiculous 11 Euro charge for the balls. My wife and I were joking that we were lucky to be leaving as finally there was nothing more the hotel could add to our bill. But we were sadly wrong.

When we went to check out the lady behind the desk, without speaking a word to us and while talking to another hotel guest on the phone slid a bill in front of us that included two room charges totaling 330 Euros. She explained that the hotel had tried to send us a message in our room via our TV to let us know about this charge on top of the 450 Euros we had already prepaid (we don't watch TV and never turned the thing on) but that there was nothing she could do.

We had made a mistake when booking and while we listed both of our names, it still said it was just for one person. And despite the fact that no one mentioned this at check-in, no one mentioned it either day when I called the front desk, and worst of all...despite the fact that in reality we really should have paid 50 Euro extra when booking to have it listed as 2 people, the hotel wanted 330 Euros.

The manager finally came over about 30 minutes later (it turned out he had been standing there the whole time). He explained that he realized the hotel had made a mistake, that someone should have mentioned the charge to us, but he kept on standing by the fact that they sent a message to our TV. He kept on saying that he was willing to work something out about this charge, but that he "needed to get something too".

I was in a state of shock at this point. I just never imagined in my life that a hotel that tries so hard to be so fancy could stoop down so low to try and squeeze anything they could out of my wife and I. In the end I offered up the 50 Euros more so just to get the man and his entire greedy hotel to go away. I hate myself for doing that but we had another hotel to get to and it was the price I had to pay for making the mistake of trusting this hotel.

In a sense, rather than focus on making your stay luxurious and pampered, the hotel seemed to have an ethos that they wanted to make guests feel rich by charging them ridiculous sum of money at every possible moment.

We left and went on to another part of Mauritius for a fabulous stay and all in all would recommend the island for a good beach holiday.

Just never, ever consider staying at this awful place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
25 Thank liaobuqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Best holiday we have ever had (and we travel a lot!): The Trou aux Biches exceeded all our expectations but the most impressive part of our stay was the staff. We have been in many luxury hotels around the world but the service we experienced here was the best ever received: wherever you go in the hotel, people are very keen to make you feel at home, happy and relaxed. We were amazed by the quality of facilities (the hotel was refurbished 3 years ago), the number of activities (it is not only a fabulous hotel and beach), the delicious food. We enjoyed the live music every night with very talented singers and musicians.

The standard rooms are very big, confortable and luxurious with WIFI everywhere, inside and outside shower. The suites are particularly great with private swimming pools on the beach. The hotel is very huge but remains exclusive.

Food was some of the best we have had on holidays in the 6 restaurants: one buffet restaurant (highest quality which is rare for a buffet), one sea food, one thai (they prepared a special menu for our diet), one Indian (a famous musician in the restaurant, very nice place and incredible food), one Italian (a proper one!) and one French restaurant (as we like!). The breakfast is a great moment too.

Relaxing holidays but lots of activities too: water ski station, fishing, catamaran, tennis, table tennis, aqua gym lessons, fitness center, exhibitions... time was flying over there!
Clarins spa: we booked a massage and ended there everyday, the staff is very good and qualified, and coupled with breathtaking setting, that gave us a unique experience that truly blew us away!!

We were treated like VIPs everywhere. We wish we could go there again every year. Thanks again to the staff and management, you made these 10 days unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 10 beautiful days - beach pool suites are great and have fantastic view to beach and sunset! Suites are large, modern and with nespresso coffee machine. Bathroom is spaceous with outside and inside shower. Double lavabo and large bathtub. Outside pool is large enough to cool off or jump in if you are to lazy to walk the down to the beach.
Food is good - Thai restaurant highly recommended. Indian was ok but not the best Indian I ever had. Italian has good offers and worth to try. - plenty of sports opportunities - tennis courts and gym at top shape! nice sandy beach! Pool might not the largest we have seen but fine to cool off. Super friendly staff everywhere.
Not much around to do, but hotel offers plenty of excursion in case you want to explore the island.
We spent 10 days at the hotel and enjoyed it very much. Weather was great at times very hot.
Hotel was not full and therefore no stress to get space at beach or in the restaurants

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
32.5 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
31.7 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing