We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes! if you are looking for a nice beach for children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is very convenient and comfortable for families with children. Food is ok, Service is not bad, The rooms are large and clean with good housekeeping. Try the Italian restaurant which is the best among others. Thai is not really authentic, Open buffet is very good for the families. This is not a hotel for Romance but there is a fantastic sunset that you can enjoy on the beach. There is a sandy clean beach with sea whihc is not agressive far from big waves offering safer environment for kids. The only problem is the beach sellers will disturb you many times trying to sell you things. You cannot avoid it since the security guards of the Hotel seem not discouraging the trade at all. Finally, yes if you are looking some quite place and nice beach to go with kids this is the right one.

Room Tip: Chose upper floor for better stay, looking the West, avoid the ones near tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adiguzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Check In
First off, the reception area is stunning. There is a water feature with trees, palms and you a direct view of the sea. The process was very relaxing which I always find very nice after a long exhausting flight. You will be seated and presented with a welcoming drink (some sort of lemongrass ice tea, a bit too sweet for me) and a cold towel. After that you will be taken to your suite/villa with a golf cart. We were lucky to be upgraded from a junior suite to a tropical junior suite.

Grounds
Simply stunning. You almost get the feeling of being in a rainforest or a zoo. So many different birds, little lizards and we even saw a fruitbat hanging in the huge tree in front of our room (632). The resort is very big and spread out but there are always golf carts if you do not feel like walking.
The grounds probably impressed us the most. It is just hard not to relax in such a nice environment.

Suite
We stayed in the Tropical Junior Suite number 632. This type of Suite gives you 70m2 of space, more than enough for the 2 of us. The suite comes with a king bed, tv (a bit slow and smallish), a huge bathroom with inside and outside rainshowers both of which offer excellent pressure and of course you also get a bathtub and dual sinks. Nothing to fault here. Our housekeeper kept the room spotlessly clean. At turn down you will also get a free bottle of water.

Pools
There are a total of 7 pools, 6 smaller pools and the big infinity pool near the reception area. All the pools are very well kept and offer plenty of sun loungers. Also the temperature was very pleasant.
Beach
From looking at pictures and Google maps etc. I thought that the beach might not be that good. Boy was I wrong. White sand, turquoise water and a view to die for. Also there were not that many beach hawkers. Boats also very mentioned as a problem in other reviews, sure there are boats but it really wasn’t that bad. I did not disturb me from relaxing.

Restaurants
There are 6 restaurants offering international, Indian, Thai, Italian, and seafood cuisine. We only visited the Buffet, Mahiya and Blue Ginger. The other menus did not really appeal to us. For the a la carts you will have to make reservations. We did that 1-2 days in advance and never had any problems. You can show up as you please as there is not a specific time tied to your reservation.

L’Oasis (Buffet)
L’Oasis is the main restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was superb, almost everything you could want or think of. And to my surprise, the bread was as good as in Switzerland which is rarely the case in beach resorts. Breakfast gets a 5/5 from my side.

Lunch however was a completely different story. The service was inexistent and the food was also not something to write home about. We ate there just twice in our two weeks.

I would rate the food quality at dinner as pretty good, however there were not enough choices for a 5* buffet. Service was better but also lacking attention when the restaurant was busy, which was the case in most of the second week of our stay. Also the menu repeats itself after a week.

Le Caravelle (International / Lunch)
Le Caravelle was our go to restaurant for lunch, service here was better than at L’Oasis but also lacking. The food however was pretty good and the setting is beautiful.

Mahiya (Indian)
Mahiya is the Indian restaurant. They have a set menu which changes every 3 days. You will get 3 different starters and 3-4 entrees one of which costs a little supplement (300 Rupees) as well as a little desert. The food and service is superb. As a matter of fact we liked this restaurant the most. Bottles of wine start at 1300 rupees and go all the way up to 3000 and 4500-6000 for champagne. That said, the wine is pretty good and when you are on full board, you will get a discount of 1200 rupees on every bottle.

Blue Ginger (Thai)
This is the Thai themed restaurant, the service is similar if not better than at Mahiya and the food is also very very good. Here you will also have a set menu with one course more (soup) than at Mahiya.

Service overall
Service was pretty good the first week we were there when the hotel was only about half full. It declined in the second week when the hotel seemed to be at almost full capacity. Sometimes you had to wait 10-15 minutes after being seated at lunch for someone to bring you the menu and something to drink. That is just not acceptable for a resort that claims to be 5*+, hell it is not even acceptable for a 4* resort.

Reception however was always very helpful and when we had a problem with our TV, 5 minutes later the technician was at our room and solved the problem (thank good otherwise I would have missed the champions league)

The car provided by the hotel is a BMW X5, which we never used so can’t comment on that but it was a newer model.

Bars
There are two bars, the Main bar right next to L’Oasis at the main pool and the bar at La Caravelle (International cuisine) which is located right next to the beach. The cocktails were somewhat strange, depending on the bar chef, some days they were very good and sometimes they were let’s say, improvable. However the staff was efficient so no complaints there.

Entertainment
Every night there is a DJ, a band or a dance/fire show. All of which were pretty good. We especially enjoyed the two brothers and their band. The younger one really should enter a music show like the voice. Amazing singer.

Fitness/Tennis
There is a big fitness room divided into 3 parts with up to date equipment, two table tennis tables and a badminton court.

Also there are 6 tennis courts all in good condition. Reserve in the morning and you will always get a court. It’s a Head Tennis Academy so you will get Head rackets. The tennis balls you will have to buy but they only cost you 500 Rupees.

We did not do any water sports activities, so can’t comment on that.

Spa
They spa area is located next to the sport facilities in the back of the resort. You get an instant feeling of serenity when you enter. Our treatments were pretty good and the spa pool is also a nice place to relax. You can only use these facilities at the day of your treatment.

Check out
We asked about the possibility for a late check out and they offered us the room for as long as we needed it and we also were able to eat lunch at no additional charge. The bill was 100% correct and we were checked out in about 2 minutes.

Points of improvement
Here are a few points I would like to address.

Breakfast should be till 11 not 10 in the morning
.
Service at lunch has to get better. I observed many people having to wait 10-15 minutes to even be recognized by a member of the staff.

Also drink services should be expanded to the little pools not only the main pool and the beach are.

Conclusion
A very nice resort with the most beautiful grounds and setting. If they can iron out the few points mentioned, especially the lunch service problem, we will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Heise69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I'm the personal assistant of a very famous person in the world, so I traveled with her in the most beautiful hotel in the world ex: savoy of London, ritz of Paris, excelsior of Rome ecc. I stayed in the beach front senior suite with pool, it was very nice and clean. The beach was a little bit crowed but said that I stayed very well, and i think that if i can afford, I will come again with my girlfriend in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Just come back from a lovely 9 days stay at this resort which has recently undergone a massive renovation so everything is very pleasant.

Accommodations were excellent, we had a 2 bedroom villa. Beds were very clean, comfortable, plenty of space with modern bathrooms. One of my favourite features is the outdoor showers. Don't worry if that's not your thing as there are indoor ones as well. We also had outdoor table, chairs and lounger which were perfect for al fresco breakfasts which overlooked beautifully kept gardens.

Beach is also great. Softest white sand. Clean clear and gently sea. Quite a lot of free beach activities for people wanting more activity, kayaks, snorkelling, paddle boarding etc.

Good selection of restaurants, fish, Italian, European, Thai, Indian as well as the general nightly buffet all of which can be used with half board/ full board meal plans. Some items are with additional supplements though but still plenty of choice. Food quality was generally very good. One thing that I would like to praise the resort staff on is the friendly attentive service. They've got this just about right, not too stuffy, not to lax but very personable, helpful and friendly.

One small annoyance though was the beach traders, so many of them. They were though not pushy, yes, they wanted to try to make a sale but were polite and leave if you said you weren't interested, just had to do this about 20 times a day. Grrrr!

Gym facilities were good, with tennis and coach if requires, table tennis and pool table near the gym.

Down points apart from beach traders is the drinks were expensive, works out about £10 for one cocktail. Now that's London high end price. Also the spa services were expensive but if it's a massage you want there is an excellent place just outside the resort opposite to the police station. Very clean and professional centre. My tip - go there ;). Also, don't be late for breakfast, they wrap up snarky at 10 am much to my sons annoyance.

All said and done. This resort is excellent, if we plan another Mauritius trip we would certainly return. I have no worries about recommending this place.

Room Tip: All are good, I liked my ground floor one as it's easy to get to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stepb4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I are currently staying here and it's no exaggeration to say that it meets all of our expectations and surpasses some. I have no idea how anyone can give a bad review if this fabulous hotel and resort. The rooms are very well appointed and traditional - fantastic shower which is important to me!
The restaurants are all good and staff genuinely want to help you have a great holiday. Beautiful spa too!
Yesterday we took a boat trip from the beach to see dolphins - which we did but also managed to swim with them in open water - a wonderful experience!!!
If you fancy Mauritius choose this hotel - you'll love it.......... Unless you're nuts or someone who always looks for faults! Just relax ans have a fabulous time......

Room Tip: For a couple 227 (or 225/6/8) are great and close to main beach, restaurants and reception but quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gadney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for our honey/babymoon for 9 nights in a tropical junior suite plus. The room was nicely located close to the beach and the main restaurant area. it was spacious, clean and modern with a huge bathroom incl oudoor shower. The twice daily houskeeping service is excellent. Aircondition very sufficient, only the TV/programm is lacking -but hey who really needs that. Free internet was working perfectly in the room even at the pool area. We always took breakfast and dinner in the main buffet, which was alright. There is a lot of lamb options and fish/seafood for dinner. Since we stayed on a honeymoon package also lunch was included that we took in the fish restaurant (same small menue every day with daily changing dish). I guess the only thing we can complain about is the cost of the drinks (250 MRU for 1 glass of apple juice is really ridiculous). The mini club offers an excellent service and you can have your little ones (starting at 3 years) have a good time playing and swimming. The pool is absolutely gorgous as is the beach! You can even use the services that the boat house offers for free (snorkeling, water skiing, padelo etc). We really had a very relaxing stay and would love to come back again,

Room Tip: we stayed in room 225, very close to the beach (just a 5 min walk away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Words can not express how much my husband and i enjoyed our experience here. From first arriving to our wedding day to the rest of our holiday was beyond excellent. Fatima is fantastic. Virginie was just brilliant she was our wedding coordinator and did not leave our side. She organised everything to the last detail, I can not thank her enough she is just wonderful! Debora did my hair and makeup in the fantastic Clarins spa. I was nervous as this is my job at home so I'm fussy but she did a brilliant job and did exactly what I wanted. The waiting and room staff are just so professional and so lovely. All in all it is a holiday we will never forget!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,867 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,507 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,520 reviews
24.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
31.7 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range: £233 - £1,215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing