We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truly paradise!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We chose the Trou au Biches Resort for our honeymoon and stayed 9 nights in April 2014.
We absolutely fell in love with this hotel & its location.
The beach, layout, food & rooms were all beyond our expectations.
There was always plenty to do amongst all the included activities offered by the hotel.
We will definitely go back and can only highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynthiaberent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,753
    474
    133
    44
    23
See reviews for
828
1,215
34
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We travelled to Mauritius - Trou aux Biches Resort in October 2013, for 15nights. We arrived to a not so good start, with our room not being ready for us and was still dirty from the visitors before us. That was a bit of a damper of our trip. The resort was extremely busy during our stay and was fully booked, hence the service throughout was not up to 5 star standard. However after saying this - we did complain to management and they went out of their way to make our stay amazing. The service was top notch and management made regular checks on us to see that we were 100% happy. That was absolutely wonderful service from her. We were also upgraded from a family suite to a beachfront suite and that was just perfect. The beachfront rooms are truly stunning, and the view of paradise outside was picturesque. We were a stones throw away from the waters edge. We had our own private splash pool which was great for the kids to cool off after being on the beach. The food manager also organised toddler appropriate meals for my little one, which was fantastic, and she loved all the food bought to her. The restaurant's are all wonderful and the food is out of this world, especially the Indian restaurant, what an experience!! The buffet restaurant also offered a huge variety every evening, and delicious breakfasts. The beach at the resort is the most beautiful on the island by far. It is clear, turquoise and fringed with lush palm trees. It really was postcard beautiful. There are a lot of activities right on the beach and the snorkelling through the hotel boat house was great. We saw so many fish. There are also people offering tube rides for the family which was fun for all of us. They even took photos of us as we raced across the water screaming!! The pool area is huge and never seemed crowded or noisy, there is a great knee deep pool area for the kiddies to frolic in and a wonderful big family sized chair in the water for us to relax on right by the little ones swimming. Was our favourite spot, so so relaxing! The resort on the whole is a beautiful, well maintained place on a superb stretch of beach. We loved our visit there very much, and will perhaps return one day again.

Room Tip: Its well worth paying the extra for the beachfront rooms, and that just makes your stay that much mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights for the second part of our honeymoon in August 2013. I can't rate this place highly enough everything was superb - the property, the room, the food, the service. We had an amazing time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaphamSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We went on our honeymoon to this wonderful destination April 8-19th 2014.
The hotel is beautifully designed on a great beach, west facing for some awesome sunsets.
We stayed in the tropical junior suite set back from the beach (actually a good thing as more private) but only a pleasant 2 minute walk to the beach through some immaculate gardens.
We arrived after a long journey and got a very pleasant check in as well as a complimentary bottle of champagne and spa massage voucher as it was our honeymoon. Sadly the promised gift voucher for the boutique never surfaced although it didn't bother us in the end. The suite is lovely and includes an outdoor shower (concealed from viewers of course!). Other reviewers are right in that there are a lot of families that stay there but not a problem for us. The complex is large enough for privacy and romance, especially if you do the right thing and venture out of the hotel for dinner.
Re the beach itself - It can be busy with boats and the occasional hawker flogging stuff but it doesn't spoil the experience. Plenty of loungers and good snorkeling just a few metres out (Moray eels and fish!)
We opted for the B&B option rather than half board or fully inclusive which was clearly the best way to go (see below). All the staff are very attentive and friendly and go out of their way to assist and the room is cleaned twice a day
Try the spa also if you can as it provides a lovely massage along with steam room and sauna
Breakfast buffet is plentiful with every option catered for.
Okay all good so far but some negatives -
Very expensive extra options. We wanted to SCUBA dive and did but used the local Dive Dreams centre in Trou Aux BIches rather than the onsite dive centre as it was so much cheaper; barely anyone was diving with them (probably as a consequence of this!). The same goes for the boutique, the taxi services and the meals.
We decided to dine one night at the hotel rather than in Trou Aux Biches so we opted for Blue Ginger. Had to book 2 days in advance as it was booked up but I have no idea why. The restaurant is wonderfully designed and laid out but the food is not up to scratch. Starter was 2 spoons of poorly flavoured Thai "salad" and a crab cake which was more like a chicken nugget. This was followed by a prawn & wonton soup ( with regulation 1 wonton, 1 prawn only!), an overcooked fish and 2 overcooked curries with about 2 sppons of rice Dessert capped things off with fruit salad which looked like breakfast leftovers. All this and 3 beers for Rs 5000 (£100)!! Trying so hard to be a London high end restaurant they actually forgot to flavour the food or provide enough of it. I left still hungry! The local restaurants are so much better and half the price. Even the local beach shacks offered tastier morsels (samosas, marlin baguettes etc) Suffice to say we did not eat on site again for dinner. A real shame as the hotel as so much else which is really well done.

In summary we gave it 5 stars for the hotel, staff, location etc
However make sure you go B&B and eat lunch and dinner out in Trou Aux Biches. tastier, cheaper and actually supporting the local businesses and community

Room Tip: Junior Tropical Suite room 427; far enough away from the beachfront and noisy restaurants but closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mitesh_davda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is very convenient and comfortable for families with children. Food is ok, Service is not bad, The rooms are large and clean with good housekeeping. Try the Italian restaurant which is the best among others. Thai is not really authentic, Open buffet is very good for the families. This is not a hotel for Romance but there is a fantastic sunset that you can enjoy on the beach. There is a sandy clean beach with sea whihc is not agressive far from big waves offering safer environment for kids. The only problem is the beach sellers will disturb you many times trying to sell you things. You cannot avoid it since the security guards of the Hotel seem not discouraging the trade at all. Finally, yes if you are looking some quite place and nice beach to go with kids this is the right one.

Room Tip: Chose upper floor for better stay, looking the West, avoid the ones near tennis courts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adiguzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Check In
First off, the reception area is stunning. There is a water feature with trees, palms and you a direct view of the sea. The process was very relaxing which I always find very nice after a long exhausting flight. You will be seated and presented with a welcoming drink (some sort of lemongrass ice tea, a bit too sweet for me) and a cold towel. After that you will be taken to your suite/villa with a golf cart. We were lucky to be upgraded from a junior suite to a tropical junior suite.

Grounds
Simply stunning. You almost get the feeling of being in a rainforest or a zoo. So many different birds, little lizards and we even saw a fruitbat hanging in the huge tree in front of our room (632). The resort is very big and spread out but there are always golf carts if you do not feel like walking.
The grounds probably impressed us the most. It is just hard not to relax in such a nice environment.

Suite
We stayed in the Tropical Junior Suite number 632. This type of Suite gives you 70m2 of space, more than enough for the 2 of us. The suite comes with a king bed, tv (a bit slow and smallish), a huge bathroom with inside and outside rainshowers both of which offer excellent pressure and of course you also get a bathtub and dual sinks. Nothing to fault here. Our housekeeper kept the room spotlessly clean. At turn down you will also get a free bottle of water.

Pools
There are a total of 7 pools, 6 smaller pools and the big infinity pool near the reception area. All the pools are very well kept and offer plenty of sun loungers. Also the temperature was very pleasant.
Beach
From looking at pictures and Google maps etc. I thought that the beach might not be that good. Boy was I wrong. White sand, turquoise water and a view to die for. Also there were not that many beach hawkers. Boats also very mentioned as a problem in other reviews, sure there are boats but it really wasn’t that bad. I did not disturb me from relaxing.

Restaurants
There are 6 restaurants offering international, Indian, Thai, Italian, and seafood cuisine. We only visited the Buffet, Mahiya and Blue Ginger. The other menus did not really appeal to us. For the a la carts you will have to make reservations. We did that 1-2 days in advance and never had any problems. You can show up as you please as there is not a specific time tied to your reservation.

L’Oasis (Buffet)
L’Oasis is the main restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was superb, almost everything you could want or think of. And to my surprise, the bread was as good as in Switzerland which is rarely the case in beach resorts. Breakfast gets a 5/5 from my side.

Lunch however was a completely different story. The service was inexistent and the food was also not something to write home about. We ate there just twice in our two weeks.

I would rate the food quality at dinner as pretty good, however there were not enough choices for a 5* buffet. Service was better but also lacking attention when the restaurant was busy, which was the case in most of the second week of our stay. Also the menu repeats itself after a week.

Le Caravelle (International / Lunch)
Le Caravelle was our go to restaurant for lunch, service here was better than at L’Oasis but also lacking. The food however was pretty good and the setting is beautiful.

Mahiya (Indian)
Mahiya is the Indian restaurant. They have a set menu which changes every 3 days. You will get 3 different starters and 3-4 entrees one of which costs a little supplement (300 Rupees) as well as a little desert. The food and service is superb. As a matter of fact we liked this restaurant the most. Bottles of wine start at 1300 rupees and go all the way up to 3000 and 4500-6000 for champagne. That said, the wine is pretty good and when you are on full board, you will get a discount of 1200 rupees on every bottle.

Blue Ginger (Thai)
This is the Thai themed restaurant, the service is similar if not better than at Mahiya and the food is also very very good. Here you will also have a set menu with one course more (soup) than at Mahiya.

Service overall
Service was pretty good the first week we were there when the hotel was only about half full. It declined in the second week when the hotel seemed to be at almost full capacity. Sometimes you had to wait 10-15 minutes after being seated at lunch for someone to bring you the menu and something to drink. That is just not acceptable for a resort that claims to be 5*+, hell it is not even acceptable for a 4* resort.

Reception however was always very helpful and when we had a problem with our TV, 5 minutes later the technician was at our room and solved the problem (thank good otherwise I would have missed the champions league)

The car provided by the hotel is a BMW X5, which we never used so can’t comment on that but it was a newer model.

Bars
There are two bars, the Main bar right next to L’Oasis at the main pool and the bar at La Caravelle (International cuisine) which is located right next to the beach. The cocktails were somewhat strange, depending on the bar chef, some days they were very good and sometimes they were let’s say, improvable. However the staff was efficient so no complaints there.

Entertainment
Every night there is a DJ, a band or a dance/fire show. All of which were pretty good. We especially enjoyed the two brothers and their band. The younger one really should enter a music show like the voice. Amazing singer.

Fitness/Tennis
There is a big fitness room divided into 3 parts with up to date equipment, two table tennis tables and a badminton court.

Also there are 6 tennis courts all in good condition. Reserve in the morning and you will always get a court. It’s a Head Tennis Academy so you will get Head rackets. The tennis balls you will have to buy but they only cost you 500 Rupees.

We did not do any water sports activities, so can’t comment on that.

Spa
They spa area is located next to the sport facilities in the back of the resort. You get an instant feeling of serenity when you enter. Our treatments were pretty good and the spa pool is also a nice place to relax. You can only use these facilities at the day of your treatment.

Check out
We asked about the possibility for a late check out and they offered us the room for as long as we needed it and we also were able to eat lunch at no additional charge. The bill was 100% correct and we were checked out in about 2 minutes.

Points of improvement
Here are a few points I would like to address.

Breakfast should be till 11 not 10 in the morning
.
Service at lunch has to get better. I observed many people having to wait 10-15 minutes to even be recognized by a member of the staff.

Also drink services should be expanded to the little pools not only the main pool and the beach are.

Conclusion
A very nice resort with the most beautiful grounds and setting. If they can iron out the few points mentioned, especially the lunch service problem, we will definitely recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Heise69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I'm the personal assistant of a very famous person in the world, so I traveled with her in the most beautiful hotel in the world ex: savoy of London, ritz of Paris, excelsior of Rome ecc. I stayed in the beach front senior suite with pool, it was very nice and clean. The beach was a little bit crowed but said that I stayed very well, and i think that if i can afford, I will come again with my girlfriend in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,713 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,454 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Prince Maurice
Constance Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,560 reviews
24.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Mauritius at Anahita
22.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing