We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, shame about the service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was the final leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful with a large infinity pool overlooking the sea, smaller pools around the hotel complex a number of different restaurants and beautiful white sandy beaches. The downside for this hotel I think is it is too big, the smaller pools were not cleaned (having bird droppings and animals in the pool), there was no staff providing free water (I have never been to a 5* hotel in a hot country where water is not offered throughout the day), there were hawkers on the beach all day meaning you got no peace and then speed boats every other minute. We had a couples massage at the spa which was excellent. The staff where incredibly friendly and the massage was very good, the spa area is beautifully maintained. The reception staff where helpful and always had a smile. The restaurant staff however where horrendous, I have never had such rude service! None of them smiled, said please, thank you, (even after I made a conscious effort to say thank you as often as I could) generally when taking our order the would come and stand next to us, and just say ‘yes’ without looking up! The prices were also astronomical, as there were no other restaurants near us outside of the resort we had little choose but to eat here. It was a shame as it put a damper on the end of our honeymoon. This hotel is more suited to families rather than couples.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,805)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 2,805 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

An outstanding hotel! especially for couples and honeymooners.
As a honeymooners you get a free lunch at one of the hotel restaurants at your choice and a free massage at the amazing Spa.
Everything was excellent: the food was delicious , the service was very good, hotel employees were very polite and friendly, the beach is quite and it is like a photo taken from a screen saver.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Just spent 10 days at this beautiful resort. We returned after spending our honeymoon there 24 years ago and were not disappointed. Cannot fault the service, accommodation and food provided. From the minute you arrive you are treated with the upmost respect. Every member of staff cannot do enough and nothing is a problem.
We stayed in two Beachfront suites with own plunge pool, pure luxury. Our suites were maintained to the highest standard everyday.
The food in the buffet was exceptional and different everyday, we did not find it repetitive as some reviews have stated. The staff working in the L'Oasis were polite and very helpful. We read the reviews about booking the other restaurants and were advise at our welcome to the resort as well, we did and experienced all the restaurants each with their own individual style and specialist chefs.
The water sports on offer were thoroughly enjoy and safety maintained at all times.
The beach and loungers were maintained constantly and the service provided by the Beach car was most welcomed. Yes there are beach hawkers but you get them in every country, they are not a problem and this maybe their only way of earning a living. A polite no thank you is all that is needed. There is always the Beach car personnel looking on and the hawkers have to have a licence so there numbers are limited.
Miss Fatima is always on hand and constantly walks the resort over seeing, taking the time to talk to everyone staff and holidaymakers. it was a pleasure meeting her again and sharing our previous visit and discussing the wonderful new resort.
This time we took our daughters 18yrs and 22yrs who felt respected by all staff and thoroughly enjoyed all the resort has to offer.
Obviously we didn't use the kids club but I would like to express my views on how the staff expertly looked after the children during mealtimes and other activities around the resort. As an Early Years practitioner and Early years lecturer I could see that they cared and looked after every child's individual needs.
A truly wonderful stay, thank you to all at Trou aux Biches, regards Family Davies.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an absolutely fantastic time at this restort. We went as a family for 1 week and stayed had the senior beach suite with pool as well as a tropical junior suite. The senior suite was amazing with beautiful views of the sea. The staff had made sure the junior suite had been well equipped with baby facilities like a cot e.t.c. The chef personally came to set the food menu for the baby for the week. We were on the full board plus package and really had a marvellous choice of food all through. The chefs at Mahiya Indian and Blue Ginger thai were superb, and since we were all vegeterian, they went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of. All the staff were very friendly and nothing seemed like too much effort. The beach is clean, plenty of water sport options, well equipped gym. Would most definitely highly recommend this escort to anyone, especially those with young families.

Room Tip: We stayed at the senior beach suite room 656 highly recommend it, it is quiet and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank londonshah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel after an 11 night stay. Well located on the north west part of this island so benefits from the best of the weather.
Situated on long sandy beach, where there are lots of free water sports and a glass bottomed boat trip.Sun beds comfortable and plenty of them, only annoyance are the hawkers who are constantly walking up and down, they are polite and will leave you alone if you firmly say no but gets a bit wearing saying it every 10 minutes so after day 1 we sat by pool. Sun sets from beach are lovely. There are also other water sports but non hotel boats such as doughnut rides that you pay for.
Pool is very close to beach and is of good size with nice shallow surround for small children. We really enjoyed the 11.15 daily aqua aerobics class, it was good fun and well run. Sun beds by pool not as comfortable as on beach , and we in the end swapped some over . Beach towels are provided in room , but they are not long enough so ask for two each.
Hotel is extensively laid out and never felt busy even though it was quite full. We had two tropical junior suites. They were spacious and we really loved the outside showers. Each group of rooms also had their own pool which was peaceful to sit by. The grounds are a delight to walk around. We were particularly impressed with how clean everything was and the level of housekeeping in the rooms. If you want to tip your room valet , give it to them yourself day before you leave !
Food was good and the various restaurants provided good variety. Would recommend you email and book the first few as the Indian is popular and not very big if you like Indian. We enjoyed them all bar one which was the Italian where we didn't think food and service as good as the others. Particular mention goes to Menon in La Caravelle- thank you for a lovely special meal.
The main buffets were good quality and we ate there some nights too. We were on full board plus and found that great, house wine certainly was good. Each night the manager walked around each restaurant to speak to guests which was a nice touch.
The bar was a bit fresh to sit in and they could do with providing blankets for the knees in the evening during the winter months- enjoyed the musicians and entertainment .
Spa facilities were excellent and have a very relaxing atmosphere , can recommend Ali for reflexology and Thai massage . Tennis courts were good, there are 6 of them. You can only book on the day and are very popular between 5 and 7pm so you have to remember to ring and book. Gym facilities also good.

Great for families or couples as it is so spread out you can find your own quiet spot. Staff are all very friendly and courteous .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank buchanan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were looking forward to Trou aux Biches for my 50th birthday after a good recommendation from a well travelled friend. However, whether the expectations were too high or not, we did not enjoy the hotel very much. The hotel in itself is very pretty on a nice beach, and the staff are more than happy to help. But it is very focused on family and buffet style eating, and the other restaurants do not sit many guests so imperative to book. The Italian restaurant was the best by far from all the others.
Good things: All food is fantastic, although repetitive in the buffet
Staff very nice and nothing too much trouble
Rooms (we had tropical junior suite) are spacious and clean

Things we did not enjoy:
Too many children - they were everywhere
Too many hawkers on the beach
Too many water sports craft in the water, it was not safe to swim
Too many sun beds, gave the appearance of some Spanish beach and not a beautiful resort in Mauritius
Buffet buffet buffet
Insects (of course) but no mosquito or insect repellent provided in room so you could not sit on the balcony without being bit to death.
No international plug for australian plugs (first hotel in the world that has not had this)

Would i go again, no way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is definitely a 5star holiday! Lots on offer at the hotel from sports activities to spa and relaxation. The beach is lovely with plenty of sun beds and waited on hand and foot where every you go. Swimming pools are lovely and food top quality. Lots of free activities too!

If you are looking for somewhere to have a wedding this is the place to choose, location perfect, photographer excellent catching the sunset as well as the perfect beach pictures. Fiona our personal wedding planner was excellent she took all the stress out of the wedding we didn't have to worry about a thing. It was a beautiful ceremony. They sorted all the legal paper work taking us to sign the papers and the taxi driver even sorted out us getting an extra copy of our wedding certificate. The easiest way to get married beautiful location.

This hotel is also used for families and offers children's clubs but can't comment on these as we went as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
3.8 mi away
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Victoria Beachcomber Resort & Sp...
#2 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,990 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,585 reviews
33.2 mi away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,668 reviews
31.7 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
34.1 mi away
Heritage Le Telfair Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range: £181 - £867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing