We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing resort!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing resort!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

I had an amazing family at this resort in May 2014. The resort is large, and very beautifully decorated, in a very calming, relaxing style. Rooms are very comfortable, with large beds, and modern bathrooms. The beach is long, with soft white sand. The meals were incredible - a very large buffet breakfast, with a variety of sweet and savoury foods. Dinner was also very enjoyable, and we sampled the speciality restaurants, and also enjoyed the variety and huge quantities on offer at the buffet. The service is impecible, and the staff are always there, to say "yes" to your every need. My two year old enjoyed playing in the Kids Club, which has good facilities, and care givers, and she enjoyed the large pool area, with dedicated adult and children pool areas. What an amazing family holiday and resort!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesK208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,588
    432
    115
    40
    22
See reviews for
716
1,124
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Trou aux Biches is a great hotel for a business trip, romantic getaway or in my case, a family holiday.
Along to the great rooms, the tasty meals and the great facilities, the service is one of the greatest features of the resort. You can tell that the people are willing to help and are happy to assist you. There was one chef in the open buffet who seemed a bit unhappy but I understand people have lives and he may have had a bad day. I would not hold it against the Resort.
The transport from airport to the Resort is well organised and the driver was friendly even though we arrived at 11 pm that evening.
The dinners were good. The different themed restaurants allows there to be variety in your visit. The variety at the breakfast buffet was also of good standard; Nice choice of breads,meats,yoghurt and even cereal! The food was also tasty and well prepared. I like how the different chefs stand by the different sections in the buffet to answer any questions you have.
The room was spacious,comfortable and neat.The rooms offer free WiFi which is a nice touch. The one tap in the bathroom was broken but people arrived at the room to fix it when we called reception to report it. The mini-bar in the bedrooms were well equipped with snacks and drinks. There was a problem with our cards for room-access on the last evening of our stay; I suspect that they were deactivated the evening before we were meant to depart.
We hired a taxi through the resort to travel to Port Louis; it was well organised and the taxi arrived quickly. We were greeted by a friendly driver who advised us on places to go in Port Louis.
The bar and night-entertainment was nice; The musicians were very talented BUT what made them special was the fact that they had some kind of friendliness and sense of happiness about them, they obviously enjoyed singing and they are obviously doing it for the passion, not the money. I also enjoyed how they accepted song requests from the audience.
The resort has a variety of water-sports to choose from which allows for a fun-packed day but if you feel like relaxing, there's a beautiful beach, a large pool and seating under the trees. For ultimate relaxation, there is a spa which offers a variety of relaxing treatments. The gym and teens-entertainment centre are both of high standard and offer a variety of activities. The gym has all sorts of good quality exercise-equipment and there are different classes in the gym every day! There is a business centre for people in need of a computer
On the morning of our departure, we were greeted with genuine smiles and a nice little breakfast table to snack off of before our 45 minute trip to the airport which was also well organised.
Overall, the quality of our stay was of high standard and I recommend Trou Aux Biches Resort to any family,business person or couple. You will even enjoy it if you decide to take a little well-deserved holiday on your own.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of beach are a nice choice if you wish to have a true beach holiday but they come at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacques P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at this resort for just under two weeks and had a relaxing break. Here is the low down;

We hired a car from the airport which is about 75 minutes drive to the resort, which proved to be a good move as the taxis from the resort and and any trips are expensive when booked through the agents at the hotel. Mauritius is easy to drive around and places are easy to get to. Grand Baie is 5 minutes in a car which is nice and just outside of town you can find a new shopping mall for essentials.

On arrival you go through the security gates however via the beach the hotel is open to locals on the beach and hawkers as it is not fenced off as it is a public beach.

I found the check in and front desk staff to be the worse part of the hotel which is why I gave this only 4 stars and not 5. Jennifer who checked us in did not seem interested and was just about bothered enough to tell us about the restaurant booking and nothing else, for example water sports, gym etc which we had to find out ourselves. Further more their is no concierge, just a taxi booking stand so trying to get local information was very poor. Also we had a broken sink which took 4 attempts to report before someone came to fix it properly. All issues were with the front of house staff! You also have to book restaurants in advance, once again, times were booked incorrectly etc. This is defiantly an area for focus.

Now on to the good parts.. We were showed to our room which was a junior suite. Very spacious, nice big bed, TV with limited channels and wireless which was free but slow. In door and outdoor shower which was very nice, bath etc, toiletries but no body lotion. The downside was that the open wardrobe was in the bathroom so clothes got damp. The were private pools but these were typical in the shade for some of the day so everyone used the beach. You had clean towels whenever you asked and the housekeeping staff were very nice and helpful. I always left a tip of anywhere between 50 and 100 rupees to say thank you but you did not need to. When you get to know how many locals live you will understand why. Tea and coffee provided and drinks cabinet but we bought our own and used the same fridge which worked out much cheaper.

The beach was lovely but water cold in winter. Out of season there were plenty of beds but hearing how busy in season it gets, I am sure this will cause problems so be prepared as not too many beds on the beach. You do get hassled by hawkers but either just saying no or ignoring them they go away, do try to make excuses as we saw others try and it makes it worse. The beach had free water sports, easy to book but also some local companies which charge used the same stretch of beach but they didn't interfere.

The gym, fitness classes and cardio room were all well equipped but prepared aircon was not great. Water available with towels etc and snooker/pool for the teenagers with table tennis and 4 tennis courts etc. There was a spa but we did not use and seemed expensive.

Now on to the restaurants. Breakfast was either at the main restaurant which was too busy and poor quality food or use the fine dinning, which is a more quiet affair and better quality food although the same food types plus service was nicer.

Lunch is again at the fine dining over looking the sea or the deck which we preferred which overlooked the pool and sea. Service slightly better than breakfast and we found the menus changed regularly.

At dinner, it was a great service where ever you go except the buffet which seemed to be full of families with children. There was fine dining, Italian, Thai, Indian and the deck which was outdoor eating. Service was excellent and once again whilst we were full board we tipped which the waiters and waitresses seemed to really appreciate. Just remember to book to get your table! We did the full board plus package which included house wine which was very nice and didn't taste cheap at all. Afterwards there was evening entertainment in the bar but the bar was always quiet, sometimes we were the only ones there which meant service all to ourselves but be prepared, apparently on high season it's hard to get a seat. Also at weekends there was some corporate functions, one was ok but one weekend it was MTV and all day we had to listen to bass being pounded out of speakers day and night, this was not great!

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel, the overall manager who we met and walked the restaurants every night was very nice and helpful and understanding, just a shame some of her other managers seemed to hide away so you did not know who to talk to when there we some issues. And in addition we spoke to and got to know some of the staff, they seemed very happy working at the hotel and the hotel seemed to treat their staff very well which mad for a happy stay.

Its a very nice hotel, not quite 5 star service but the hotel and ground were great, I would recommend it, but go half or full board and expect different levels of service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keegan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wow, what can I say other than 5 * all the way :) This property is true paradise... The beaches, swimming pools, accommodation, restaurants, staff and all the other facilities are world class!
We were treated like rock stars from start to finish. There is so much to do and the staff are happy to assist to your every need. Thank you to Fatima for your hospitality, Raj at the Thai Restaurant, Leckraj at the Indian Restaurant, Hans at Le Deck, Ashwin and Sadeak at Oasis, Anwar at the Italian Restaurant for looking after us and making our stay and delicious meals so enjoyable and unforgettable :) The Sports guys are fantastic, very well trained and offer fun and exciting aqua aerobics and gym classes daily. The Boat guys are always happy to assist and very knowledgeable. We were lucky enough to stay in 2 types of accommodation, both were very comfortable, beds are awesome, wonderful bathrooms and rooms kept clean, neat and tidy. The beach view rooms are just amazing and we enjoyed our rim flow pool for sundowners :). We hope to be back and can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a wonderful relaxing holiday with lots of choices of sports and cuisine if required.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winemistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you are looking at this note you are probably considering whether you should go to this hotel or not. Well, go and do not hesitate.

My husband and I with our two sons in their twenties stayed here in June/ July. The weather, beach, excursions were all perfect, I recommend the quad bike safari. The island is beautiful.

The hotel too is perfect, the food delicious, buffet or all a carte from lobster to hamburger, anything you can imagine cooked beautifully. The staff were professional but also very friendly, very caring and couldn't do enough to make our holiday perfect. The rooms were spotless, roomy, luxurious and set in a lovely botanical garden setting each group of villas/ rooms had its own huge pool and then there was also an even bigger one by the restaurants. The beach was so lovely that we didn't use the pools, a lovely sandy beach and reef super for snorkelling. Water sports were free and included water skiing, wake boarding, sailing, pedalloes, canoes, snorkelling and there was even a glass bottomed boat. You could pay extra for parasailing, diving, fishing, swimming with dolphins etc. We traveled to some other beaches but there were not as lovely.

Don't hesitate, book it... We are going again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, buggy service if you don't fancy a stroll along the beach for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was the final leg of our honeymoon. The hotel is beautiful with a large infinity pool overlooking the sea, smaller pools around the hotel complex a number of different restaurants and beautiful white sandy beaches. The downside for this hotel I think is it is too big, the smaller pools were not cleaned (having bird droppings and animals in the pool), there was no staff providing free water (I have never been to a 5* hotel in a hot country where water is not offered throughout the day), there were hawkers on the beach all day meaning you got no peace and then speed boats every other minute. We had a couples massage at the spa which was excellent. The staff where incredibly friendly and the massage was very good, the spa area is beautifully maintained. The reception staff where helpful and always had a smile. The restaurant staff however where horrendous, I have never had such rude service! None of them smiled, said please, thank you, (even after I made a conscious effort to say thank you as often as I could) generally when taking our order the would come and stand next to us, and just say ‘yes’ without looking up! The prices were also astronomical, as there were no other restaurants near us outside of the resort we had little choose but to eat here. It was a shame as it put a damper on the end of our honeymoon. This hotel is more suited to families rather than couples.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

An outstanding hotel! especially for couples and honeymooners.
As a honeymooners you get a free lunch at one of the hotel restaurants at your choice and a free massage at the amazing Spa.
Everything was excellent: the food was delicious , the service was very good, hotel employees were very polite and friendly, the beach is quite and it is like a photo taken from a screen saver.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
33.2 mi away
LUX* Le Morne
LUX* Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
15.4 mi away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Palm Beachcomber Luxury
32.5 mi away
Dinarobin Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
31.7 mi away
Paradis Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Coastal Road, Triolet, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius (Formerly Beachcomber Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most romantic hotel in Mauritius A strip of white sandy beach, a turquoise lagoon with crystal-clear waters, a 35-hectare tropical garden...These are some of the timeless charms of Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa, a luxury hotel in Mauritius. Its situation on the north west coast of Mauritius ensures one of the best climates and provides the perfect setting for dramatic sunsets. With its romantic atmosphere, Trou aux Biches provides the idyllic setting you have been dreaming of for your perfect wedding and honeymoon in Mauritius. Accommodation is housed in lavish chalet-style suites built in crescents while private villas are tucked among the lush tropical gardens. With an emphasis on environmental preservation, Trou aux Biches is the first eco-friendly resort in Mauritius, while providing the latest in luxury focusing on privacy, space and diversity. All Villas, Beach Front Suites and Senior Beach Front Suites have private pools. Other suite categories open onto larger pools of 126 m2, centred at the heart of each crescent. The hotel also has a large pool designed as a key feature in the main areas. Reserved for children aged 3 to 12, the mini-club also has its private pool. Wherever you are, the sea is never too far, beckoning you to relax in warm, crystal-clear waters. Trou aux Biches Resort & Spa has six restaurants named L'Oasis, La Caravelle, Le Deck, Blue Ginger, Mahiya and Il Corallo. Enjoy a world of flavours sourced from the far end of Asia to the shores of the Mediterranean sea. Other facilities at the resort include a luxurious Spa by Clarins with 20 cabins, a teens club as well as a range of free land and water sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trou Aux Biches Resort And Spa
Trou Aux Biches Hotel Trou Aux Biches
Trou Aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa Mauritius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing