We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and another great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Trou aux Biches
Dorset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“2nd time and another great holiday”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Just spent another 3 weeks at Le Palmiste and from Management to staff we were looked after so well.Improvements have been made like the bar area by Reception which was open daily from 10.00ish till 5.00 and was well manned mainly by Kevin.
Food at all mealtimes was good from Veroniques omelettes / crepes at Breakfast to Hurrys chop suey at Lunchtime and Damiens hot plate cooking on an evening.In fact it was pleasing to see the chefs talking to the guests - Madvi especially is absolutely delightful.
Azad and Roobesh were extremely hardworking in the Bar in the evening and always willing to have a chat - in fact the staff are a credit to the Hotel with so many still there from our first visit.
DJ Vijay looked after daytime activities and was about in the evenings playing music around the pool area.Michelle in the Spa gave great massages in fact my wife said it was the best she had ever had.
Would we return again - without any doubt in fact we are looking at September/October this year.Will probably need a relaxing holiday by then so will be touch with Alain/Raphael nearer the time.Regards Andrew & Sue

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Andrew1Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    236
    114
    35
    18
See reviews for
104
334
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elsenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

What more can we say!
It was our honeymoon in Mauritius and we had the best time ever!
The hotel is just perfect location wise, so close to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay in the hotel mainly thanks to the VERY helpfull, polite, kind staff (Satya behing the bar-never left our glass empty!, Prakesh in the restaurant-teaching us folding napkins, DJ Vijay alias 'Hello, is it me you'r looking for" and many more)
Food wise, we are not pickers and eat pretty much everything but I am sure you will always find one thing you like.
Room was great, spacious, but hey, you dont come to Mauritius to stay in your room anyway ;)
Cheking out is 11am and our flight wasnt until the evening. This was not a problem at all, we could basicaly leave the luggage in the room till taxi arrived. So we had yet another nice day at the beach.
Just to say, June is the winter season in Mauritius so bear in mind its obviously less busy. We didnt mind this as we wanted to do lot of stuff (diving, trips) and there is less people everywhere :D
Overall, we had a GREAT time staying in this hotel and would love to come back one day!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kamei312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alain_goder, General Manager at Le Palmiste Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Dear Kamei312 ,
We really thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again at Le Palmiste .

Keep it up and regards to your beloved .
Alain Goder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

nice hotel very friendly staff .very good breakfast you could have english if you wanted lunch and dinner salads and spicey curries grlled meat and fish.most nights very low key . a game of bingo once a week .nice location across road from lovely beach which is ruined by a corrugated fence 3/4 way along it [new hotel] travel agent money exchange 5 minutes to the left of hotel. ask the taxi drivers outside the hotel if you want a trip around the island include the cost of various entrances grand bale worth a day out good beach 5 minutes bus ride away

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank liftman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We went for one week at the palmiste hotel in trou aux biches and we were quite disappointed. First, they forgot to send us â taxi at the airport (while I received email confirmation the day before), then we arrive at noon and the room was not ready. We booked a superior room and we didnt have the treament they show on their website (fruit paltter was the same apple and orange...rotten at the end of the stay), They also write on their website "watersports", "fitness", and nothing was available, even no fitness room. The cleaning ladies and Michele from the SPA are very very nice people. At the reception it iwas not possible to ask any services (car rental, call, ...). I am used to go to mauritius every two year and for the first time I was very disappointed. If you go there, dont pay more for the Superior Room it is no value!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank travelsfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Just returned from our third holiday at Le Palmiste in 18months this time with all our family. Best holiday yet so much improved so friendly so comfortable so fantastic.Will be returning again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manutdManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have just had a wonderful holiday in Mauritius at Le Palmiste. We received a wonderful welcome. We arrived at 10 pm we received a welcome drink & our meal was left in our room.
The food varied day to day & was very nice. The chef made sure all the guests in the hotel were happy with the food. The rooms were big & clean. The staff were very friendly. Beach and supermarket about a minutes walk. Lovely beach, lovely location
We did our tour through a local called Rajesh - much cheaper than the hotel & what a sweet guy. You will find him on Troux Aux Biche
You can catch the bus to Grand Baie - 15 mins away for 20 rupees & to Port Louis 23 rupees - taxis expensive
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zonke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I stayed at le palmiste hotel in trou aux biches. The staff are extremly friendly and helpfull.
However we stayed ai for 2 weeks and then a third week on room only. When we ate in the hotel the food was often served cold or luke warm. There was a bad smell in the wardrobe and the single matress had to be changed because it was more like a pillow than a matress. The beach is nice and there are lots of fish to see is you like to snorkel. There are a few nice restraunts down the road and a medium sized shop. The places that you should visit when your in Mauritius are Perybere, Pamplemousses gardens,Grand Baie and one of the islands just off the coast. You can get to the islands by catamaran they offer daytrips which are good. If you like smimming you should definetly take a trip to the coral reef which is great for snorkeling. The pool at the hotel often gets debris blown into it which isnt nice. Overall it is a nice hotel but it could do with a games room for wet weather conditions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayfun28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou aux Biches
1.1 mi away
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Resort
Mont Choisy Coral Azur Beach Res...
#3 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
817 reviews
3.5 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
2,330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casuarina Resort & Spa
Casuarina Resort & Spa
#4 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trou aux Biches Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
Le Grand Bleu Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trou aux Biches
342 reviews
2.9 mi away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palmiste Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palmiste Resort & Spa

Property: Le Palmiste Resort & Spa
Address: Rte Cotiere, Trou aux Biches, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Trou aux Biches
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Trou aux Biches
#5 Romantic Hotel in Trou aux Biches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Palmiste Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Palmiste is situated in the most charming facets of Mauritius, the North West, more precisely in the coastal village of Trou aux Biches. Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reveals itself in a very warm atmosphere surrounded by an exotic garden situated at not more than two minutes from the public beach of Trou aux Biches.Distances: 60 Km from the airportHotel Facilities: • 81 rooms • Restaurant • Wifi facilities• Bar & Pool Bar ( Le Ralph`s Bar )• 3 Swimming pools• Meeting room • 1 Kids Pool • Spa, Esthetique, Hammam, Jacuzzi & Sauna• Hairdressing • Tour desk & transport • Reading lounge • Night club Accommodations 81 rooms in 3 categories of rooms:41 Standard roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.28 Superior roomsGarden and pool view with one double or twin bed and possibility of adding one extra bed.12 Family rooms Garden and pool view with one double bed and one adjoining two twin beds for 2 kidsAll rooms are equipped with:Telephone with direct international accessIndividual digital safe LCD TV with local and satellite channelsBathrooms with showers Mini bar (upon request)Tea/Coffee,Hair Dryer,Electricity 220-240VElectric shaver pointRestaurants Le Cateau Vert - offering buffet breakfast, lunch a la carte and dinner theme buffets and menus. SPA Le Lotus center is the wellness lounge for relaxation and enjoying the peacefulness .The wellness lounge provide facilities of Sauna, Jacuzzi, and Steam bath and massage treatments .Using only the finest natural ingredients, our attentive and unassuming therapists will help rejuvenate your body and revitalize your mind to fully appreciate your surroundings vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Palmiste Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Palmiste
Le Palmiste Mahebourg
Le Palmiste Resort & Spa Mauritius/Trou Aux Biches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing