We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique and Oustanding experience”
Review of Le Cafe des Arts

Le Cafe des Arts
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$86 - US$110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Unique Restaurant galerie d' Art situe dans l'ancienne usine de canne a sucre Victoria 1840 a Trou d'Eau Douce - abrite la Fondation Maniglier derniere eleve de Matisse - gastronomie francaise faisant belle part aux prodruits frais de l'ile tels que langoustes entieres , filet de bar ou de bourgeois, poissons en croute de sel ,coeurs de palmistes frais braises ou en tartare accompagnes de Gambas geants poeles au Sauvignon Blanc ou d'un carpaccio de Dorade Coriphene, Chateaubriand Black Angus d'Australie, confit de Canard de Madagascar ect sauces servies a part - A la carte et sur reservation a partir de 19 hr 30. Possibilite de dejeuner sur reservation 24 hr a l'avance. Nous sommes specialises dans l'organisation de soirees privees et evenementielles haut de gamme eg : General Electric, Thomson Reuters , Canal Plus ect . .. Soirees Jazz a la demande. Boen a vous, Jocelyn Gonzalez
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We will never ever forget Le Cafe des Arts. What a unique restaurant we have experienced there ! Dining around superb paintings, listening outstanding songs, savoring a fine cuisine and fine wines and enjoying a high standing service.
Thank you Jocelyn for this unique experience and for having hosted us.

Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind review, it was a great pleasure to welcome you at Cafe des Arts and sharing this nice evening with you,
Greetings from Mauritius,
Kind regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We dined at Le Café des Arts for our anniversary and were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves! We were given a tour and some of the history, such an amazing, quirky place, in an old mill, filled with very contemporary art.

We sat in the ‘lounge’ area overlooking the pool for a pre-dinner drink, while choosing which meal we wanted from the giant, arty menu. We were then invited to our table, now overlooking the rest of the restaurant and lounge area for an amazing meal (of prawn, fillet steak and lamb)!

Quite expensive, but was a lovely treat on a very special occasion and would definitely recommend dining here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stuffs_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your so kind review,
It was a great pleasure to welcome you at Cafe des Arts,
See you very soon,
With kind regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My husband and I were very much looking forward to eating at this restaurant. The restaurant itself is situated in an old mill, very quirky with lots of art all around. We went on a Saturday evening and were the only people there. Although the staff were very nice it is very off putting being the only table in the restaurant. The food was very expensive and really not that special. Last time we ate there were at least one other couple, the owner told us to book at a weekend next time as it was busier, perhaps if it was less expensive they would do better!

4  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review, I am so sad that you feel disappointed at Le Cafe des Arts,
If one day you come back to Mauritius, I will be pleased to welcome you and make with my team everything to provide you a beautiful evening.
Best regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

During a trip to Mauritius we visited Le Café des Arts Mautitius and were very pleased.
As my review you can read my letter to the owner of the restaurant:


"Dear Jocelyn!
It was very unexpectedly pleasantly to visit your restaurant!
From possible 10 points I would give everything 10: Great meeting of guests, the interior with ancient furniture and fantastic accessories, amazing pictures. We were pleasantly surprised by combination of high level of service and east hospitality. We felt that we were not in the restaurant and sit in a pleasant atmosphere at home. The meal was delicious and deserves an appreciation. Also I would like to note artfully selected music.
Our visit of your restaurant is one more occasion to return to Mauritius.
…"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you so much taking time to post a great comment, it s all the time a great pleasure to welcome you at Cafe des arts for a memorable evening,
See you soon,
Kind regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have never felt compelled to write a review on trip advisor but having enjoyed such a memorable evening at Le Cafe des Arts, I wanted to see what others had written.

Wow, I couldn't recommend enough. Wonderful food, wonderful staff, wonderful art and wonderful host. How lovely to meet such a charming man with so much love and pride in his mothers work, and quite rightly so.

This is a unique experience that is a must for all those who enjoy great food, excellent wine and are tired of their hotel restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dominie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn G, Propriétaire at Le Cafe des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2015

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review, even for us it s always a pleasure to welcome people who try to discover such special places for a nice experience.
All the team thank you,
With kind regards,
Jocelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Cafe des Arts also viewed

Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 
Belle Mare, Flacq District
Trou d'eau Douce, Flacq District
 

Been to Le Cafe des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing