We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Excellent service. Best holiday ever. So glad we came here for our honeymoon!
I will recomend this hotel to all my friends and family and will definately come again!
Thank you for making it so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiaFduToit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    378
    121
    36
    25
See reviews for
161
1,139
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 9 nights.
We did not want a vast 5 star complex so chose this smaller 3 star Tropical Attitude.
We were not disappointed, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived, the staff were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble. I could not name anyone individually, there just seemed to be a positive, 'can do' attitude throughout.
Divali was celebrated during our stay and the hotel arranged an evening outing into a nearby area and we were invited into peoples houses and furnished with customary sweetmeats and drinks at every stop, a real insite into the local life.
Rooms were a good size,clean and comfortable, bathroom cosy, each room is sea facing so has an amazing view.
The hotel provide a daily boat trip to the nearby ile aux cerf, with beautiful quiet beaches, with the bonus of a picnic basket for you lunch.
There were bikes available to loan.
The food was good, sometimes buffet, sometimes table service.
I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel, in fact have done so already! And would love to return one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 58PandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed our 5 day stay here, very relaxing with nice friendly staff; the food while not spectacular was adequate during our stay. Rooms are not that particularly roomy but OK and clean.
Thank you for a lovely relaxing stay before heading off on our South Africa adventure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a lovely little hotel. The views from your room and breakfast area are truly spectacular. The bed is enormous and comfortable, the air conditioner is new and they have black-out curtains. It is very quiet at night and we slept like babies. The bathroom is miniscule, as in no way two people can fit in there, but adequate. The housekeeping is meticulous. The beach in front of the hotel is nothing to write home about but a two minute walk to your left finds you on a beautiful sandy stretch. The daily ferry to Ile de Cerf is great value - it's a stunning place. After reading the reviews regarding the hotel food, we decided against staying all inclusive and it was the right decision for us. We had dinner at the hotel once and it was middling and the drinks were quite watered down. We enjoyed the hotel breakfast however and for dinner we usually walked about fifteen minutes to the left exiting the hotel to the Green Island Beach Restaurant - beautiful view over the ocean, good food (European prices) and the ti-punch was the best drink we had anywhere in the Island hands down. There are quite a few small places to eat in Treu D'Eau Douce but they are a little far to walk - you can always borrow one of the hotel's bicycles for free. No real grocery stores to speak of in the area (large one in the next town of Flacq). As for exploring the Island, if you walk about 15 minutes to the right exiting the hotel you will find the Silver Horse Boutik on your left. You can cheaply rent a scooter/small car from owner Sanjay to trundle around in. Don't miss a visit to the New Grove's Rum/Sugar factory - includes a super museum on the history of Mauritius and sugar/rum tastings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Januschka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Tropical Attitude. This is a small three star hotel with four star service and a five star view. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until the day we left. The rooms are clean and comfortable, decorated in the 'shabby chic' style. The bathroom is adequate and the shower quite roomy, which makes a nice change. The only comment I would make here is that no toiletries are provided but the towels were changed regularly and would have been replaced every day had we so required. The view from the balcony was superb and all the rooms have this view with no extra surchage!
The food was good and service was always with a smile, nothing was too much trouble, if you didn't like the menu choice one of the chefs would make you something else, (a benefit of a small, personal hotel). Karen, the chef who cooked the breakfast was always cheerful and Christophe, Sunil and Hugo in particular, were very helpful and made our meal times very enjoyable. Some nights were buffet service, some Table De Hote and on occasion there would be a special meal which was supberb.
The manager arranged a trip from the hotel to visit one of the villigaes to see the decorations that had been put up to celebrate Devali (The Hindu Festival of Light). We were invited into the home of one of the hotel employees where he and his wife welcomed us with flowers, a drink and some special sweets that they had prepared earlier. This was an experience that would never have happened in a larger, more impersonal hotel.
The beach at the hotel is not really suitable for sunbathing on but there is a larger beach a few minutes walk away and daily trips to the Isle De Cerf are free. You can take a picnic lunch and escape to a desert island where you can sit under a tree and watch the waves and the clear blue waters.
We would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel, indeed some of the guests we met had been there several times. The atmosphere was relaxed and everybody spoke or smiled at each other.

Room Tip: There are 62 two storey rooms all with the same superb view so it doesn't really matter which yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annNpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at tropical attitude hotel and I fully enjoyed my stay. It's not a busy hotel as it's a small complex in comparison to the other big hotels on the island but it's nice, cosy, clean and the staff are ever so kind and helpful. Mohun and his team were the perfect hosts and went out of their to ensure our short stay was simply perfect and ensured my gluten free diet was met too. Also the view from the balcony was breath taking.

5 out of 5 for me!!


A.C

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Maurichipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

My partner and I stayed for ten nights in this wonderful place. The views from the room balcony were excellent. I have coeliacs disease and called the hotel in advance. I was catered from start to finish with utmost care and consideration. Fresh bread was made for my meal sittings and all diet requirements were exceptionally catered for. The evenings are quiet but felt relaxed and content with the stunning views and trips we experienced in this time. A great service throughout and needs catered with no hassle or delays. We would recommend this hotel for a truly relaxing and friendly time away.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
18.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Property: Tropical Attitude
Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing