We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view, great value”
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great view, great value”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at Tropical Attitude at the beginning of May 2014. The room was very clean with sliding doors going out onto grass and about 8 steps from the sea. Extra large bed and small but good shower area, no toiletries provided. There is no real swimming area by the hotel but across at the island there is and then there are the day trips with great swimming. Plenty of food but not much variety but does the job. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nightly local entertainment. I would say this hotel is more for the mature person, youngsters might find it a bit quiet but for us it was perfect. We went on all inclusive package which included meals, accom and a variety of drinks including cocktails. Would not hesitate to go back there.

Room Tip: Some downstairs rooms share a balcony although partially blocked from neighbour but some rooms do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    387
    125
    36
    26
See reviews for
163
1,170
51
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I am almost a year late in writing this review but the experience was so good that I still have my memories fresh. :) Everything was just so perfect when staying here. Right from the check-in to our check-out.
We were pleasantly welcomed with a refreshing cooler and escorted to our rooms after completing the formalities. Our bags made it to our rooms before we did. Pleasant surprise. The room wasn't expansive, but was nice and cosy and just as we expected it to be. We were travelling with our 22 month old daughter and the staff had made arrangements for a baby bed for her just like home. She enjoyed her sleep as much as we did on our soft comfortable bed.
The view from the room was breathtaking. It has the ocean right in front of the rooms. It's not really a beach but that was ok with us. The beach is just round the corner though. You can get there without really needing to cross roads and stuff.

The best part about the resort was the food. They catered to all our needs. We anticipated problems with food given that we were travelling with a 2 year old and my wife is a vegetarian. However, the chef ensured we had no problems whatsoever. The chef would inquire with my wife on a regular basis and prepare a separate vegetarian meal for her. We were touched by the gesture. Also, if you decide to spend the day out, you don't really need to bother about lunch as they pack a sufficient picnic basket for you to pick. Yes, you need to inform then beforehand though. The resort is just a boat ride away from the popular Ile Aux Cerfs island and the resort offers free boat rides to the island. We packed our lunches on days we went to the island.

The cocktails in the evening were great. The waiters ensured our glasses were never empty. :)

Two thumbs up to the entire staff of the resort for making us feel at home. If you looking to spend time in Mauritius in an all-inclusive resort with a homely feel, do get in touch with these people. They may not have a 5* property but they thoroughly make up for it with their service.

Hope you spend time at your resort again.. Cheers!

Room Tip: From what I know, all rooms are sea-facing so it didn't really matter to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear TaPri,

What an amazing review about your stay at Tropical Attitude, thank you! It is always a real pleasure to receive such a positive feedback from our host despite nearly 1 year already.. Service is one of our top priority from the reservation to the check-out, our team shows its Mauritian hospitality from the heart which is one of our core value.

I am very happy to read you also did enjoy your room. Facilities are also very important and it seems that you as well as your little 22 months old daughter enjoyed your bed and the bathroom, thank you for mentioning these points too.

Even if I was not in position as General Manager at that time, we can see that the level of service has been maintained and be assured that I will share your very positive words with all the team members and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

My very best personal regards,

Mervin & His Team

Mervin Appadu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to Tropical Attitude for 9 nights and throughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms overlooking the sea are lovely with a gorgeous view and lovely waking up to the sea and sounds of the birds. The food was very nice and a different choice each day, although there was not a big selection if you asked the staff for something else they would be happy to accommodate. All of the staff were very friendly and would go out of their way to be helpful and kind. The daily boat trip to ill aux ceaux was amazing and we took advantage of this 3 times...beautiful white sandy beaches and clear crystal seas. The beach directly outside the hotel isn't the nicest but round to the left is a nicer beach and we heard from other guests if you hire bikes for an afternoon there are nicer beaches 30 mins away. We hired a taxi through the hotel for a day and explored the south of yhe island which was a great day out..temples, waterfalls, wildlife, 23 sands and rum factory! ..all in all a fantastic holiday..thank you! Janine & Merten

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank janine1979_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Janine,

Warm greetings from Tropical Attitude and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback during your stay.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed thoroughly your stay with us.

It has long been our commitment to either meet or exceed our hosts’ expectations and I take this opportunity to thank you once again for your support and earnestly look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you again when your next return to Mauritius.

Very best regards from me and my Team,

Mervin Appadu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Me my wife & 11yr old son stayed here for 12 nights from 12th – 25th April. The hotel has a rating of 3 stars and in our opinion that is what it is. There are some exceptionally good points but there are also some points that need addressing, in our opinion.
Starting with the good points:
Rooms: The rooms are a little dated but are of an adequate standard. They sleep 3x people and all have spectacular views of the ocean. We stayed in room 201 which was a top floor and we were very happy with the view & the room was kept clean throughout our stay by housekeeping, with fresh towels every day and also ample beach towels supplied as standard. On our first day we had problem with our lock on the door not opening and this was immediately rectified, with new lock fitted ASAP.
Staff: All staff encountered were all very polite & friendly, and always strived to help were needed, especially the bar staff who kept our glasses topped up at all times. Mervin the manager is always on hand & asking about any issues that need attention. Jack was exceptionally helpful when we had our catamaran trip cancelled due to overbooking. The trip runs from this hotel on a Tuesday & Thursday. He contacted the company and arranged for us to be picked up on the Wednesday, by boat, and taken on the trip at no extra cost.
Excursions: This is by far the best point of this hotel. The hotel operates free transfers to the nearby Ile aux Cerf and a must is the above mentioned catamaran trip. At around £22 per person this is very good value for money, including trip to see monkeys and a waterfall and barbeque and drinks included. The hotel also offers a variety of other boat trips including free glass bottom boat.
Pool: The pool is small but good for people of all ages with a shallow end at around 1M graduating to a deep end at 2M in depth and was cleaned on a daily basis when we were there.
Now for the not so good points:
Food: The best meal of the day is the breakfast. Eggs cooked as you like toast and bacon (please ask the lady cooking the eggs for bacon as it is kept in the oven). The sausages are labelled as chicken sausages but are basically hot dog sausages as known in the UK and are made from mechanically recovered meats etc and are not to our liking. Lunch & dinner are very limited and were each and every night served as buffet. I did discuss this with Mervin as the website does state 4 nights buffet, 2 nights table service & 1 gala night but every night we were there it was buffet with very limited choice and only one night (Fridays) gala were, at a supplement you can enjoy lobster etc cooked on the barbeque but at around £45 per head supplement we found this to be very expensive and therefore declined. They will cook you other food if you ask and in our opinion you should make it clear if you wish other food to be cooked.
I would like at this point to make comment to our Swedish colleagues who in a previous review have made reference to us British “boring fish & chips“ requesters, who complained about everything (I think they are referring to me & my wife) who decided to reserve 4 sunbeds outside their room & 4 sunbeds around the pool area and at the same time then went on the boat trip to Ile aux Cerf ! that we do not actually eat fish & chips and did not complain about everything, and if they were to stay with facts we did not wish to” take advantage from the hotel” and made this clear in private conversations with Mervin, passing on our comments and appreciation for his help and his intentions for us to enjoy our stay. If you take time to look at my Tripadvisor profile you can see that me & my wife are well travelled and have reviewed many hotels and do try to give a balanced review at all times, and Stefan K only has 1 review and has decided to make sweeping statements about other guest and should really stay with facts and review the hotel and not other guests as Tripadvisor is about reviewing hotels etc.
Back to reviewing the hotel. Again after discussions with Mervin we did have other food cooked but we did have issues with the food (chicken) being undercooked, to which he did address this issue with the chefs. He did arrange for us to have a further meal (steak) cooked & we found this to be of a good standard.
In general: Overall we enjoyed our stay at Tropical Attitude and found the area in front of the rooms and ocean very relaxing. There is a pool table for youngsters and is free to use.
Thanks also to Dave & Karen for making this a fun holiday to remember.
We welcome any questions about the hotel etc

Room Tip: book a room on the upper floor for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ianShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Ian,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Tropical Attitude and it was a pleasure for me to have the opportunity to chat with you quite often.

All the Family Members recall your stay with us in room 201.

We have noted with concern your comments and we are glad to share with you that henceforth there exists a variety of choices of food for our Otentik all-inclusive guests which are – AI buffet, AI menu, Mauritian Menu and paying A La Carte.

We do hope that taking the way back to school for Niall was not too hard.

Hoping to welcoming you again among us,

Very best regards,

Mervin & His Team

Mervin Appadu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for ten nights in April and hotel was more than we expected. Lovely food,staff and location.
The room was large clean but bathroom could do with an update but all worked, fantastic view of the sea from our room.
Food was great meat fish salad rice, pancakes for breakfast, if you want egg and chips stay at home!
Great boat service from the boat house team.
Great location to experience Mauritius. if it was not for the 12 hour flight we would be back next year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beanbag996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Have had 10 days of Bliss
The staff were friendly , helpful and very kind . The good food served in the restaurant or on request privately . Room cleaned and dressed differently everyday . Very intimate and highly recommendable

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bee2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kladesholmen, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and nice hotel close to the sea. We was treated very well with good food, perfect service together with a friendly staff.
Specially the fish was delicious every day and we also was invited to a lobster party and one evening with Chines cousin.
Complementary boat tour to Island Ile aux Cerf together with a lunchbox, nice start for a perfect day.

The only boring was two English couple that complained of everything at the hotel. They systematically complaining so the could take advantage from the hotel management when the food was not fish and chips.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#9 of 12 in Belle Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#4 of 28 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#3 of 5 in Balaclava
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
18.6 mi away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Property: Tropical Attitude
Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing