We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas New Year”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Absolutely fabulous family run hotel - a real gem and discovery. We enjoyed the always warm-hearted and great service, the Hotel's beautiful beach, our very clean and well kept but simple rooms. The beautiful garden is a great compensation, if you do not get seaview. The food is best when locally inspired, could have more fruit choice, fish and local dishes are freshly made and delicious. The musical and danse animations are original and good. The hotel is situated next to a beautiful public beach where snorkling is even more exciting than in front of the Hotel. It is recommended to rent a car in order to explore the beautiful island and be independant as the immediate environment of the Hotel does not offer shops or restaurants. We will definitely return to this excellent Hotel and look forward to seeing owner family and staff again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom_SW_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

To begin with the location - a paradise with such crystal clear beaches that we could see better views of the marine life/corals under the sea just by snorkelling than most of the places for deep sea diving and of course perfect white sand all over the area. the resort was in itself a mini bird sactuary where i saw such a wide variety of different exotic birds.
The property and rooms have a nice quiet french kind of a village feel but the rooms are still modernistic with tv,fridge,kettles and airconditioning and spacious enough with a balcony in which exotic birds keep frolicking around.
To add to the incredible beach, the swimming pool is right in the middle of the dining area/ bar and the garden / beach area. All very well maintained and clean.
We got 7 star service- The front desk ( i remember Mr Sanjeev) was very kind and courteous to arrange for all our needs- be it packed breakfasts for the times we ha to leave early or providing shower rooms even we had checked out as we had a late flight, For us Vegetarians that too, the very picky kind with small children- the F& B manager and the lady( sorry didnt ask their names) catered to almost whatever we needed and still prepared extra dishes if required although we were probably the only vegetarians around although they also had to focus on their 100+ mostly european guests. in addition to the food they had great entertainment for dinners - like live music, live guitarist , and one time they did a fun / comedy mini cabaret- the singer enacted elvis, ray charles, bob marley,etc and had a great voice.
They had free water activities like snorkelling, pedalos, kayaks - the only thing i wished was for their longer opening hours probably upto 7 pm as we were out for most of the days and couldnt do the activities as the day tours brought us back by around 5pm.
But All in all - the place could giveany 5 star property in the country a run for their money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PSingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We've stayed at Silver Beach Hotel in Mauritius 6 times since 2002 (and even got married there in 2006!) and so would be glad to share our experience with you as follows:-


WHAT I CAN RECOMMEND:

• Prompt free airport transfers.

• Clean comfortable accommodation either as a ‘sea view’ or ‘garden’ room, both of which are beautiful.

• In-room safe, hairdryer and A/C (please note all rooms are shower only – no baths) and daily housekeeping.

• Free Wi-Fi available on your balcony, in the reception, games room, gardens and pool area.

• 24 hour security and reception so there’s always someone friendly around to help.

• Little hotel shop for any amenities you might have forgotten and for gifts/postcards.

• I would describe it as a small/medium hotel and thus everything is close at hand; pool, beach, bar, restaurant, your room, etc.

• Beautiful private beach and clean good sized pool, plus free loungers, towels and limited water-sports available (kayaks and pedalos, etc).

• Fantastic breakfast, lunch, bar, afternoon tea, snacks and evening meal and the all- inclusive option means you just relax and enjoy what you want. Breakfast and lunch are always an amazing buffet and they have buffet 3/7 evenings too. Other evenings are a la carte. Special diets eagerly catered for if you inform them in advance (my husband is Veggie and I’m Coeliac, plus my mother is Dairy Free and they did their best to look after us with safe options).

• There’s a ‘leave a book/take a book’ library and pool tables.

• The staff are professional and yet wonderfully friendly. They retain their staff and so as returning guests, the familiarity is heart-warming. It had been 8 years since our last visit due to having children and yet they all remembered us!

• Having had a wedding at Silver Beach I can confirm that it was perfect from start to finish and all organised by the hotel. Cheap too!


COULD BE BETTER: (none of which will detract from the overall enjoyment of your holiday).

• The décor is basic and a bit ‘tired’ and could do with a refit.

• The evening a la cart menu on 4 out of 7 evenings was restrictive for anyone who doesn’t eat fish (!), a bit slow in terms of service and they could do a lot more to cater for kids. We’d have preferred the buffet every night which is excellent.

• This was the first time we stayed over New Year and the owner had various private parties which monopolised the time of the senior staff who would usually have been looking after us.

• The loungers would be more comfortable if adjustable; personally I don’t like lying at a fixed 45 degree angle and would have preferred the ability to lie flat or sit up to read.

• Unfortunately the old cliché about certain nationalities saving sunbeds is a problem here; my husband had to get up at dawn to ensure we had an umbrella to shade our six year old and my father who has skin cancer. I’m not sure how the hotel could remedy this though…

• The evening entertainment is not to everyone’s taste; it’s a bit ‘cheesy’ and old fashioned. However I suppose this is preferable to 'chavvy' as at least it doesn’t attract yobs!


TIPS:

• If you’re arriving on an early morning flight; be aware your room may not be available until lunchtime if the hotel is full as checkout is 12 noon. If this is a problem for you; book another night so it’s ready for you.

• Everything is cheaper if booked directly; the hotel, tours, etc.

• Because Mauritius tends to attract couples; if your family is larger than 4 you’ll need two taxis to get anywhere which is twice the price. Either hire a car or arrange to book a minibus in advance to save money/disappointment.

• Garden rooms are larger and quieter.


OVERALL:

Overall the beauty of Mauritius, the food, the staff and the value for money make staying at the Silver Beach the only place for us in Mauritius. We thank you and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger and quieter and they're cheaper too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

First impression wasn't great as the reception area is poor but you've not come for the reception area so don't worry about it. If you're expecting extravagant luxury then you haven't done your research. If you're a bit Hyacinth Bucket then you won't like this place and if towels on loungers do your box in rather than laughing at bizarre practice then sell one of the kids and book something with a few more stars.
What this place lacks in class it makes up for in character and friendliness, the staff here are what makes this place special. It is down to Earth and unless you are a complete muppet you should love it. I am not a beach person so we hired a car for nine days of our stay and went all over the island, there are some stunning beaches and landscape but Silver Beach is where I would have chosen to be after exploring. The breeze makes it cooler and the reef in the lagoon is better than any we found elsewhere.
Cracking place with great staff who really make an effort to ensure you enjoy your stay.
p.s. Ignore your rep! You will get ripped off and the money will not go to the islanders, our rep quoted £60 a day car hire which we got for £30 from a local company, day trip to a local island was £150 through the rep, we went and spoke to a local with a boat and got a much better deal and the local got much more than if he'd been hired by a tour company.
Enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank jepp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just returned from silver beach before new years eve this year, must admit didn't expect to have such a fantastic week given silver beach was our second choice when searching for hotel accommodation in Mauritius however have been pleasantly surprised with the hotel, it's beautiful beach and coral reef housing some of the most beautiful fishes at your doorstep, paradise for snorkelling, really friendly staff giving a homely feeling to the hotel. I went with my two children and I must say they were occupied all day whilst I took almost a daily trip to the newly built Christelle Spa for a really relaxing massage. Walking distance from the hotel and very reasonably priced made it very convenient and an amazing stress reliever. Highly recommend a visit to the spa if your staying at silver beach.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jags-westlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My first impression of Silver Beach was how small the hotel was and I was a little worried but shouldnt have been as it was wonderfully chilled out and relaxed.
Reception is detached from the hotel but check in was quick and easy.
Rooms vary, sea facing at a supplement are small where as garden rooms are very large. One thing I must stress is that all of the rooms and hotel were kept imaculately clean.
Entertainment was below average but there were some good nights, especially Jude and his mini cabaret of Elvis Presley, Bob Marley and his Freddie Mercury act with the iron is hilarious. Other nights are three generations playing guitar and a traditional Mauritian dance.
For people reading these reviews then can I just stress this is not really a hotel for people with children. It is a lovely small hotel, chilled out, laid back, no child facilites. All of this was proven when a family of 9 arrived who had no control over their two youngest children. The peace and bliss we had before they arrived was absolutely ruined with parents stood one side of the hotel shouting across where everyone was sunbathing and sleeping to the otherside at their children. When in the dining room the children ran around and it was the waiters who picked them up and put them in their chairs. This is not a hotel for young children and perhaps families who have unruley children should consider other people who have paid to come away.
The crowning glory of this hotel is the staff especially the waiters and barmen who are professional, attentive but at the same time wonderfull company.
Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely and looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I booked this hotel after finding out that another hotel next door had terrible food.
We have 2 children and did not want to risk the food, and hence moved to silver beach.

What an amazing place. Initially, I walked in and thought 'ok, it looks quite simple and not much decor'

The rooms are basic but clean.

The food was outstanding. My compliments to head chef Hassan Appavoo who together with his team a credit to any organisation.
My son has a severe dairy and nut allergy, yet this was catered for and always with a smile.

The staff were amazing. Sandip, Malini, Moon, Akesh, Ziad, kaviraj, and of course the ever smiling Rishi who my son has never forgotten.

Mr Dan was a very approachable manager who took on board all our requests that we required

The beach was outstanding and the drinks service at poolside was great.

The only improvements I could suggest are
1.a lift to aid parents with strollers and disabled people.
2.If possible, more child friendly play areas which would increase the number of families visiting.
3. Wifi is currently only in the games room and should be made available throughout the hotel

If you are interested in Diving, get in touch with Dave Kosur (number at reception) for some amazing reef dives)
Negotiate your taxi rates away from reception, and change your money at the airport.

On behalf of my wife, 2 kids and myself, thank you to all at silver beach for making our stay a memorable one

Keep well and and we will return!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wazzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.4 mi away
Tropical Attitude
Tropical Attitude
#3 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#1 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
888 reviews
21.6 mi away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#6 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
545 reviews
28.9 mi away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 18 in Flic En Flac
2,629 reviews
21.8 mi away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Address: Coastal Road, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: £106 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Sunspot Tours, Southall Travel, Agoda, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silver Beach
Silver Beach Mauritius
Silver Beach Hotel Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing